We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An excellent stay the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was plentiful. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Will return in the future.
The beds were comfortable and you were made to feel nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent a couple of nights with the family. Booked only the room. Room was nice and clean, comfortable bed, abit cramped for 5 of us(2 adults, 2 kids and 1 toddler). They provided a travel cot. Natural room temperature was high above 26 degrees and was uncomfortable at night even though a fan was provided. Windows only open a little. The hot water tap wash in the bathroom basin was very hot. free wifi for 1st 30 mins. kettle, tea, sugar etc provided. free parking, iron and ironing board provided on request, TV, hairdryer, hangers included. A mini fridge in each room would be a bonus. Fair price would defo use again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mosal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

At check-in we requested a quiet room on a high floor and the pleasant receptionist duly obliged; unfortunately, we'd already unpacked and settled in before we discovered some cleaning issues - there was a nasty stain on the purple Premier Inn runner across the foot of the bed, the left circular nightstand was covered in patches of a red sticky substance and there was a faint smell of vomit from the carpet beside the right nightstand :( Since we were only in town to visit family nearby, we knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the room; we also didn't want to waste time and energy reporting the problems and changing rooms, so we just decided to stay in that room for the 2 nights. I did manage to quickly exchange the stained bed runner for a clean one from housekeeping.

The room was very hot at night - the window only opened a crack for safety reasons, there was no A/C and the table fan failed to provide much relief. There was also only 1 set of towels in the room, so we had to request another set from reception - not good, given that it was a double room. Breakfast in the adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant was decent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Overall - disappointing in terms of cleanliness, not up to the standards of other Premier Inns we have stayed in (Hemel and Heathrow Airport).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrumpyBear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quality of food excellent, as well as breakfast, we ate our evening meal there twice and had a sunday carvery. Cannot fault the food at all really enjoyable. Even my vegetarian daughter had nothing but praise, she especially liked the spinach and ricotta lasagne.Noise level not too bad. Stayed during very hot weather, fan in room and an option just to have a top sheet on bed was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night and received a good service from the friendly, helpful staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was a very hot day and there was no air conditioning in the room but a fan was provided. The bathroom was lovely and looked like it had recently been appointed but we could not find a shaver socket to plug in the toothbrush. Did not have time to report this problem. Otherwise, we would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Breakfast was good and staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed there 2 nights. Everything about our stay was great. The room had everything we needed. There was lots of space in our room. The bathroom was big and well designed. The facilities were great. Good free parking. The restaurant next door has free wifi. The hotel gives you 30mins free wifi per day.
Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast deal was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank velogiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A lovely clean, comfy and quiet room.
Plenty of parking - very easy for the M56.
Great value for money as ever, helpful reception and a good breakfast next door (tho' a few things needed topping up when we went in at 09.40, staff helped out immediately).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
2.2 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhurst Lodge
Fernhurst Lodge
#4 of 4 in Blackburn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#4 of 4 in Darwen
312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel

Address: Riversway Drive | Eccles Hall Road, Darwen BB3 0SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handy hub for all your travels in Lancashire, the Premier Inn Hotel Blackburn Central puts you in a cracking spot for Blackburn, Preston, Blackpool and everything in between. You'll be perfectly placed for all the sights of the cities - including the big events at Ewood Park and the Ice Arena. Plus you'll have easy access to the key edge-of-town business locations - including Vital Energy, Crown Paints and the Royal Blackburn Hospital. And whenever you're ready, we'll be waiting with a warm welcome, a hearty meal and extra comfy rooms. Directions: Situated directly off M65(J4). Take the 1st exit down Eccleshill Road, the hotel is on the left. Next to the Oakenhurst Farm Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Blackburn South Hotel Darwen
Premier Inn Darwen
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel Darwen, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing