We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farington Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Family wedding,the hotel was a great venue, the staff made it feel special. The room for the wedding was beautifully set, then change to the reception.
The food both day and evening was tasty and presented lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank ange137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the day and I look forward to welcoming you back to Farington Lodge Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and paid £125 for a room. Staff were less than welcoming,apart from a lovely Asian cleaner and the Sunday receptionist . It took 15 minutes for the bar man to find a bottle of whisky for the bar and 20 minutes for a pot of tea to arrive. In the morning there was no hot water for the shower! The shower cubicle would have benefited from a steam clean and perhaps the maintenance person would like to attach the bathroom fittings securely. However, the wedding appeared to be well managed by the hotel and the wedding dinner was well cooked. Unfortunately, the breakfast had over scrambled eggs and, again, unwelcoming staff. Having stayed in many four and five star hotels around the world,this hotel was a great disappointment (standing as it does in beautiful grounds and retaining many original features). It needs to address its staff training, maintenance regime, and stock replenishment. What a pity. Oh and I filled in an evaluation/ feedback form but the hotel never contacted me. Very expensive for the service and quality of experience provided.Ensure a warm welcome, better quality of cooked breakfast, welcoming staff and hot water and I'd be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felitze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor and for your comments, which I shall investigate further. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Okay it's not a bland 'every room looks the same' - Hilton or Holiday Inn hotel as it's a hotel with some character.

The staff were excellent and did exactly what you would expect... Service with a smile and very attentive, which made a big change from the 'I'm doing you a favour' service you receive in so many places these days.

I've stayed in about 20 hotels so far this year and looking back at my stay at the Farington I had the best night's sleep and the most interesting and spacious room so far.

Have already booked my next business stay here.... Longer this time.

Well done to the ladies on reception and the restaurant staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bobcholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Farington Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We attended for a Wedding and lovely it was but the hotel service left a lot to be desired. The bar man was chewing his nails the touching glasses etc yuk! There were few smiles from the staff and the girl at the bar looked as if her life was about to end, we were at a happy event for goodness sake! The room was basic although large and although on they ground floor in view of the road, had no nets or blinds at the windows just either pull the thick curtains and make the room dark or let everybody see you! The breakfast well, less said the better. No choice of eggs, scrambled or none, way overcooked bacon, sweaty toast which is stacked in a basket. Not a patch on The Best Western breakfast which we had the morning before and half the price! We left our iphone charger in the room and when I phoned the lad on reception told me it had not been found, let's hope they have better luck this morning....... Even the staff covering the bar at the wedding were poor and only wanted to give u what they had behind that particular bar. The batman virtually moaned when we asked for a glass of Pinot Noir, at £6.50 a glass he should have run! When I asked for a Vodka and slimline tonic he gave me the normal tonic, when I queried he just took it back no apology and poured another Vodka. If these people don't want to work in an Hotel, why take the job?

Room Tip: Take a large wedge of cash for drinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, and for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I shall investigate your comments further. Should you wish to discuss them, please do contact me directly and I will be pleased to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Not the normal hotel I stay at when in the area but decided to give it a try. The hotel can be found situated in some rather nice grounds butt he approach through some new housing is deceiving.

Greeted, using the term very loosely, by a young man who had obviously been having a really bad day, a smile on booking in goes a long way.

We were booked in the executive rooms and at £140 per night B&B this was definitely overpriced. I stayed in room 28 with a view overlooking the car park the en-suite was a wet room rather than a bathroom. The room had flat screen TV (no satellite stations) tea & coffee making facilities. The décor was slightly old fashioned as you would expect in the country house style hotel.

The bar area is small and to start with no barman as the young man from reception, did his best to try and serve us. The tables were dirty and empty glasses not cleared. Dinner in the evening was ok it was an interesting selection of meals and we all enjoyed them, the lamb shank was very good.

Breakfast was disappointing with a plate that you would not expect to see in a quality hotel, one egg, one sausage, one rasher of bacon and an uncooked tomato that should be on a salad plate not a breakfast plate.

Paid the £438 bill in the morning didn't get a thank you, goodbye, did you enjoy so obviously not really interested in customers was the overall impression of the stay and I was disappointed after changing from the normal best western hotel I stay at in the area.

Room Tip: Side rooms overlook grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for what was obviously not our normal high standard of service. I value customer feedback and will be reviewing your comments further. Please contact me directly should you wish to discuss them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arranged small family celebration for 5 adults and 2children for 80th birthday. When booking asked if Gluten free food for one person could be provided, advised this would be no problem and sandwiches scones and cake would be available as the chef had plenty of notice.This was also confirmed by email. On arriving and wait in bar we were shown to table and given pots of tea, after 20 min wait food arrives but not any gluten free. On speaking to waiter complete confusion as not aware of special request.Another 10-15min wait 2 very unappealing sandwiches arrive on a plate with 2 equally unpleasant cakes and no scones.Other cakes were uninspiring although scones and sandwiches pleasant. Overall very disappointing especially as the gluten free was for the 80 yr old celebrating her birthday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I have responded to your complaint directly. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate - my husband had stayed before but I had not. He told me the hotel was set in beautiful grounds and that I would not be disappointed. On approaching the hotel my husband thought we had taken a wrong turn as there was a housing estate off to the left which was not there the last time he visited. Seems that the owners had sold some land to make way for the housing development which was a shame. Still, what was left of the grounds were well kept and very lovely. Check-in was efficient and speedy and our room (no. 10 just up first flight of stairs) was really lovely. Extremely elegant, very spacious with desk and sitting area, good wardrobe and drawer space with a nice view over the garden. Full bathroom to a good standard but no room to put wash bags over the sink area!!. However there was a shelf over the toilet to accommodate them (must have been designed by a man)!!. Dinner was excellent with good service and the canapes and a glass of Prosecco before dinner were very welcome. Wine list was good within reach of everyone's pocket. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly. Breakfast was everything you could wish for with, again, good service. I would certainly revisit if in the area and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room No. 10 was lovely and quite with nice view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricia298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farington
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
2.4 mi away
Shaw Hill Golf & Spa Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wellington Park
Wellington Park
#2 of 2 in Leyland
88 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farington Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farington Lodge Hotel

Address: Farington Lodge Stanifield Lane, Farington PR25 4QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Farington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farington
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farington Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farington Lodge Hotel is a charming Georgian house with 27 en-suite bedrooms,nine bedrooms in the original house including two four poster suites, and eighteen opulent executive bedrooms. Hosting one wedding a day, up to 150 guests in the exclusive Jubilee Suite, we offer the complete package, licensed for civil ceremonies, including the new garden wedding pavilion, sited in three acres of magnificent landscaped gardens, this unique venue is conveniently located for guests traveling by road, rail or air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Farington Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farington Hotel Farington
Farington Lodge Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing