We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think the owners hearts are in it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Boston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fleetwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Despite being recently renovated, my room was not as clean as it should be, the shower wasn't particularly good, the bedclothes had holes in them and there was no wardrobe or even a chair to sit in. The room was also very cold with only a thin (white) blind for the window which let so much light in it meant an early rise as soon as the sun came up.

The restaurant closes early on a Sunday, doesn't open on a Monday and there doesn't appear to be any staff on the premises at night which, for a hotel of this size, is completely unacceptable.

From what others have said, I had one of the good rooms....

Sorry New Boston, but you really need to try harder. With attention paid to the basics - cleaning etc - a better use of space in the rooms, a night manager and a bar/restaurant open seven days a week this could be a much better hotel.

I would not stay here again and I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_DMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueboys9, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

We apologise to this resident as clearly not the happiest but all we would ask our guests to do is speak to us more when they are here we can not do anything once you have left the hotel because being happy with your stay is our main priority and we will do everything we can to put fight your grievances if any.
John who is the manager lives on premises and is always available to our guests and contact can be made via the emergency telephone in the reception area he obviously doesn't sit in reception all night but he is always there and guests are made aware of this upon arrival should there be any problems.
Again we repeat that evening meals can be provided on Mondays to our guests if requested there seems to be some confusion if they are available or not but they are every single day.
Some of our rooms are still to be renovated and the ones that have been completed all have wardrobes in them so can only assume this guest did not have the pleasure of that.
Even the rooms still to be renovated have wardrobes in them except 2 smaller rooms that do have rails instead until cupboards are made to fit.
We pride ourselves on cleanliness and all our rooms are cleaned and checked daily whether used or not and are very very surprised by that comment.
Again if this was brought to our attention straight away it would have been dealt but nothing was said so can only assume they are mistaken as it's confusing nothing was said.
We are sorry to hear you won't stay again but should you ever change your mind please ask for a newly refurbished room and we will guarantee you will be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was attending a course in Fleetwood Maritime College and my company sent us to the New Boston.

Our rooms ranged from my single to a double with a four poster bed!

John (the proprietor) seems to be a one man band, manning both reception and waiting in the restaurant. He was polite and helpful.

Reception isn't open 24 hours but you get an electronic key card to let yourself in if necessary.

I arrived at 1930 on a Sunday and the restaurant had closed at 1800. It also wasn't open on Monday evenings. When we did get to eat there in the evenings the food was good, especially the desserts! Breakfast was the usual selection of cereals and ordering hot food, tea or coffee; again the food was good.

My room was cleaned daily and although small was adequate for my needs whilst on the course. Only one gripe - there were no towel rails so the towels ended up draped over the shower etc when I finished showering.

There is parking at the front of the hotel and on the road (free). Its a short walk from Fleetwood town centre (!) and right on the beach front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greshmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueboys9, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We would like to thank this guest for their feedback and we will take the comments on board as we are always trying to improve the service and standards for our guests to make sure their stays are as comfortable as can be in the future.
The hotel is family owned and is run by both Linda and John whom have a selection of cleaners, waitresses and a full time chef on premises to help with the running of the business.
As it is family owned both Linda and John have various tasks in their daily routines, sometimes but not often one of them will go away on various courses which is vital in the hospitality business and it was during this week it was Linda's turn hence why John was there everyday front of house, albeit with other staff in the background.
We pride ourselves on customer care and assistance and feel as managers dealing with customers personally is to our advantage in many ways and can make sure our guests are looked after properly during their stay.
John lives on the premises 24 hours a day so even though reception is not always open he is always available to guests should there be any problems which guests are informed of upon arrival.
With regards to the restaurant, this is open everyday to our residents including Mondays if meals are requested, if they are not asked for then this is the only evening we will close.
We are open every other evening whether meals are required or not as our restaurant is also open to the public where we have had some very good reviews.
Can we also point out that we are currently in the process of carrying out refurbishments on bedrooms which does take time but rest assured we will get there eventually.
There are many rooms that have been completed already and the remainder we hope will be completed later this year, we are always striving to make the facilities better for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here one night for work ,couldnt use the restaurant as it doesn't open on a Monday! Couldn't sleep due too the noise room wasn't cleaned even though they checked me in.there is nothing to say good about the place.advised my company to never use this place again couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueboys9, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

This review is completely false we have to say, to at least defend ourselves.
This guest wanted to check in earlier than the 2 pm check in time even though we was not notified of this, so we explained that the room was not yet ready from the previous occupants checking out and that the room would be cleaned straight away for him and he was fine with this.
This guest stayed in one of our newly refurbished en suite sea view rooms and if anyone looks at previous reviews on our rooms or on our website at www.newbostonhotel.co.uk they will see we have had a lot of positive feedback from them and just makes this review more suspicious!!
The point about the noise is even more confusing as the hotel has double glazing throughout to keep out any noise from the outside, we have never had any complaint of that nature before.
We find it unbelievable that we now see this review on here after he informed us that he very much enjoyed his stay here when asked upon check out in the morning.
The restaurant is closed to the public on Mondays but if evening meals are requested by any residents then this is provided no problems, our restaurant is open to residents 7 days a week.
All we would ask of future guests is please do not believe everything you read, we are always happy to show guests our rooms before they check in and we will ALWAYS take their opinions on board and endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for one night attending a funeral. John could not have been any more helpful. I was on the third floor which was a bit of a climb, but worth it for the view in the morning. The room was warm and very clean, as was the en suite. The full English breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend the New Boston and I intend staying there later this year with my wife.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I spent five days in hotel whilst taking a course in Fleetwood college. The room was freshly painted, clean and tidy. The food was good Breakfast and evening meal and reasonably priced. The service was very good. The staff friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevestone597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Boston for one night whilst visiting the Beer Festival which and could see the venue from the hotel. The manager on reception was most accommodating, polite and warm upon our arrival. We had a sea view room that was better than any Blackpool hotel including the Imperial, it was lovely and warm extremely spacious, modern with an excellent power shower. All in all a great stay and we would recommend this to any traveller, there is no pleasing some people on this site but we have stayed in all sorts of hotels and for the location and price is up there with the best!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Major70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Several complaints, the room was shabby,
evening meal - the steak was very grisly,the other family members were the same,
breakfast - paid additional £8.00 per person for a so called hearty breakfast,which consisted of 1 egg,1rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, a teaspoon of beans, there was no orange juice left, and the tea/coffee was cold,
will never stay here again, what a rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboston_11, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We simply can not understand this review every time our guests check in they are always welcome to view rooms prior to their stay and if they are not happy then they are shown alternative rooms as our main priority is that our guests are comfortable during their stay.
Once again i refer to our website and the reviews we are receiving on there www.newbostonhotel.co.uk and our customers will quite clearly see we have undergone major refurbishments within the hotel and pictures of this are there for everyone to see.
We are doing our very best to make the hotel to the highest possible standard and at the same time remaining competitive with pricing.
The comment with regard the food and breakfast we are totally shocked with as we have received very good feedback both on here and our website commenting on how good our food is, we do in fact have customers coming from other hotels to eat at our restaurant and if food is not up to standard then we are always happy to exchange the meal or refund as we are well aware there will be the odd complaint from time to time, again we are always trying to make customers happy and comfortable at our hotel.
The breakfast provided is very clearly stated upon the menu so our guests know what they are able to have, this guest has failed to state that also on the breakfast is tomato, black pudding, fried bread and mushrooms as well as cereals and toast and if they want to exchange anything for other choices on the breakfast then we are fine with this too
We never run out of orange juice as this is always refilled by our waiting on staff and if it isn't when sometimes guests are wanting it then it will be if requested but we never ever run out of orange juice and tea/coffee is brought out fresh so can not understand the comment on that it was cold.
As we have stated previously our main priority is guests feeling welcome and comfortable in our hotel and we just urge anyone who is not happy with anything whatsoever to just tell us while they are here and we will always try our very best to make things right.
We are once again doing more renovations at the hotel as you will see during our quieter period, this is a big hotel and things can take time but we will always gladly show our potential guests rooms before they stay or visit our website to see the feedback we have been getting and full details on our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleetwood
0.4 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
150 reviews
5 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wavecrest Lodge
Wavecrest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Boston Hotel

Address: 41-43 The Esplanade, Fleetwood FY7 6QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Fleetwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fleetwood
Price Range: £46 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set on the seafront at Fleetwood overlooking the Wyre Estuary with panaromic views across Morecambe Bay to the hills of the Lake District.The Hotel has undergone a major refurbishment project in 2013. It is open all year round and has 24 tastefully decorated bedrooms which includes a brand new Bridal Suite all of which have en suite facilities.All rooms include tea/coffee making facilities, courtesy trays, flatscreen tv's, freeview channels, direct dial telephones and complimentary Wifi access.There is a very modern and comfortable bar and lounge area for all residents and a large restaurant which also opens to the public with a wide variety of meals cooked by our full time chef.A swimming pool, gym and leisure centre is opposite the hotel aswel as a lynx 18 hole golf course.Tram and bus stops going into Blackpool are within 5 minutes walking distance are very frequent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Boston Hotel Fleetwood, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing