We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISABLED ACCESS”
Review of North Euston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Euston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fleetwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just visited this hotel why in this day and age can they can away with the disabled accesses that you have at this hotel. So if you stay at this hotel you have to go through the bar to get to your bedroom not acceptable.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We're so sorry you had trouble gaining access. We have complained ourselves numerous times to the English Heritage board, as they determine what alterations can be made to the outside of the building. Our hands are completely tied and we feel very frustrated for any patrons of the hotel that struggle on their feet. We even tried a removable ramp but were told to remove it. We do hope it does not put you off coming again and we hope you would consider rating us on something we have the authority to change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for North Euston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

At first sight the North Euston is old fashioned. So it should be as it is one of the oldest railway hotels in the country, having been built at the most northerly point you could get by rail in it's day. Passengers from then on had to travel by road or boat.

Some might find the fixtures in their room a little old, but they are adequate and our bed was very comfortable and we had a flat screen TV, which is something you still don't find everywhere. How much of your stay do you actually spend in your bedroom anyway to worry about how it is heated?

The hotel is bang up to date on many things and the is well worth a visit, if only to sample the food and the great old fashioned service from the staff.

For quizzers, there is a good pub quiz in the bar on Sunday nights. We entered, had lots of laughs and won vouchers for the bar.

Another bonus is the peace and quiet, but for those who like a lively night out Blackpool is a short ride away by bus or tram.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff. Most rooms have some sort of sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AngelStardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. Its nice to see someone appreciating our rich history. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent a few weeks here recently whilst on a course. It's a charming little seaside hotel with real potential and with no real alternative, or indeed competition, nearby.

It's clear someone has been spending money on the hotel, notably the ground floor which was nicely decorated. Now I would like to continue with a brief moan.

It does seem that the money ran out before they reached the staircase (A lot of money appears to have been spent fitting out a gym in the basement). The room was well decorated, but maintenance was a problem.

My towel rail hang off the wall for the duration of my stay, the bathroom extractor fan didn't work, one sash window was seized closed and the other in a poor condition.

On arrival my door lock was extremely loose with a danger that it would at one point fall off leaving me trapped in, or locked out. I did report it and to their credit it was fixed the next day.

But the issue is, it didn't get to that state overnight, neither did the towel rail or the extractor fan. Or indeed the corridor missing a fire extinguisher for the duration of my stay. The cleaners put the towels on my loose rail everyday but I presume it was never reported to be fixed.

The mattress was one of the worst I've stayed in for some time. I jumped into bed on the first night and nearly bounced back out again. All other issues aside surely the bed is the main reason for staying in a hotel?

Back to the good stuff, all the staff were friendly and didn't have that sulky attitude you commonly get at chains from dis-interested Saturday staff. As mentioned before the food in the bar and restaurant was very good and well populated by the locals which is always a good sign.
In the room there are some nice touches - a trouser press, a good selection of pillows, teapot with the tea set (no pouring tiny cups of tea) and biscuits. No problems with shower pressure either.

Would I stay here again? Probably not - at least Lenny Henry would provide a nice mattress, but I wouldn't hesitate to come back to use the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Seaview is nice, though you pay more.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your frank review on the hotel. We're sorry it wasn't all as pleasing as your ground floor experience. As you commented we have started an extensive refurbishment on the hotel and some of the bedrooms have been fully altered, unfortunately it sounds like you did not stay in one of those rooms. We're sorry about the issues in your room. We do endeavor to repair any faults that are reported to us. Thank you once again for taking the time to write this as we will use this information to try and better ourselves for any future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the North Euston Hotel whllst visiting this area. The staff were
so attentive and our experience in the Dining Room was beyond criticism. Very good food
served and presented to a very high standard - the chef was excellent and we would not
hesitate to return if we were again in that area.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have the best view but are subject to more wind
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn6193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We have passed your comments on to Chef, he was really pleased to know you enjoyed his food. We do appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review, its always good to hear. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a budget accessible room while we visited fleetwood for our daughters graduation.
We found an online deal that included breakfast.
As we had not paid a great deal of money, we were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room.
Room was spacious, clean and tidy with all the facilities you would expect.
Breakfast was excellent, as were the staff throughout the hotel.
A very special thank you to reception for allowing us into the room early to change into our best clothes, and giving us a portable fan to keep cool.
Overall worth every penny, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have poor view but are cheaper. Sea View rooms are larger and better appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for such lovely comments. We love to hear that people enjoy their time with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have just got back from having my birthday lunch at this hotel I was very surprised at how good it was. We had the set priced lunch menu at £12.95 for 3 courses, Stared with the Chicken liver pate this was extremely tasty and it was served with a balsamic reduction and a mango sauce. Then my partner had the roast beef dinner and I had the roast pork dinner this again was very good hand sliced think slices of both meats served with real buttery mash potatoes and roast potatoes my apple gravy was very good with the pork and served with a dish of hot vegetables loved the braised red cabbage have not had that for a while then onto dessert I had the cheese and biscuits which was great and my partner had the chocolate fudge cake which was yummy. We had a bottle of rose and sparkling water and the bill was a amazing £42.60 WOW WOW and the service was great the waiting staff were fast and polite we will be going again and again.

Room Tip: when booking the bay restaurant ask for a table over looking the estuary.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're very glad you had a lovely time on such a special occasion. We look forward to seeing you again. And a happy Birthday from everyone at The North Euston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good position overlooking the sea. Large en suite room with a comfortable bed. Tea provided as a welcome. Restaurant supplied good sized meals. Car parking facilities secure and convenient. Corridor carpets in need of upgrading in places. Some floorboards in our room were quite noisy and a window rattled at night. (A peg was provided to stop this!)
Overall, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEustonHotel, Manager at North Euston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We're very sorry your otherwise pleasant stay was marred by the creaking floorboards and rattling windows. As I'm sure your aware the building is quite old and due to its listed status we are unable to change the windows, however we are currently refurbishing so hopefully next time you shouldn't find any problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleetwood
4.0 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
147 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,263 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,104 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Seven Stars Hotel
The Seven Stars Hotel
#2 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Euston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Euston Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Fleetwood FY7 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Fleetwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fleetwood
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Euston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your North Euston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Euston Fleetwood
North Euston Hotel Fleetwood, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing