We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us Perfectly.”
Review of Backfold Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waddington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Backfold Cottage
Ranked #3 of 3 Waddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently to attend a wedding and were very late arriving! Trish was wonderful, meeting us at the BandB, showing us the ropes quickly and leaving us to get changed and run to church. The room was pristine with great coffee .... i hate bad coffee! The bed was very comfortable with lovely bedding and breakfast was divine. Great value for money, homely, welcoming and in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a lovely B and B. When we arrived Trish suggested we put our things in our room and she would make us a cup of tea. When we got downstairs she had made a wonderful afternoon tea with scones, homemade jam and cake. The breakfasts were delicious, too.

The cottage is lovely. The rooms are small but very warm and comfortable, with fab vintage cotton sheets and fluffy towels. Very clean.

Trish was perfect. She was friendly and very helpful and made the stay lovely, but she was not at all intrusive.

We would love to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who likes quaint, clean and cosy.

See the Backfold Cottage Facebook page for our photos.

Waddington is a beautiful village with lots of walking available and some nice pubs.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Two are doubles and one is a twin. We had the bigger of the doubles. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schoeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this on a recommendation from the Waddington Arms as it was booked up. When we arrived Trish the owner greeted us with a smile and a really nice cuppa with scones and preserve which was lovely . When we enquired about a Taxi service she offered to take us into Clitheroe and dropped us off right outside the venue which was a really kind gesture. The cottage is really nice and welcoming and the bedroom which was the smallest of three was nice and clean and had everthing we needed . We really enjoyed our stay and also found Waddington to be a really nice place to visit with 3 friendly pubs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Trish was an excellent host and Backfold Cottage is a great place to stay if you are in the area. We recently stayed here for a wedding reception at Eaves Hall which is only a 5 minute drive, as is the town of Clitheroe.

Trish welcomed us on arrival with fresh tea, scones, cake and homemade jam and let us relax in the cottage. She gave us all the information we needed and even offered us a lift to our evening reception which was so kind! Breakfast was ready for us when we wanted it, and it was delicious, with a wide range of food.

We would definitely recommend you stay here if you're in the area, and we will stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at Backfold Cottage and what a superb location. From the moment you arrive, with a welcome cup of tea and scones, to the moment you leave nothing is to much trouble for Trish. The cottage is so clean and the rooms are outstanding. We have read some reviews that say the rooms are too small but this is to be expected as it is quite clear this is an old cottage that has been superbly renovated. The rooms have everything that you would need and replicate the amenities you receive in large hotel chains. The added touch of fresh milk in your room was a real joy, along with other little touches that make all the difference - hot water bottles and really comfortable beds and pillows. Being asked what time you would like breakfast was an unexpected surprise as so often you are told when breakfast will be. The array of the breakfast menu was extensive and quality of the food superb. You certainly do not go away hungry. Thank you Trish for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3BTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I travelled to Waddington to attend an evening Wedding reception at Mitton Hall. We were unable to book into the Waddington Arms with our friends as it was fully booked. The Waddington recommended Backfold Cottage and what a little gem we couldn't have been more happy. Trish the owner met us at the lovely cottage. We called Trish when we were 10 minutes away and when we arrived she had a tray with a pot of tea and delicious scones and jam ready to welcome us. What a lovely surprise. Trish took us to our beautiful cosy little room which had every amenity and more. Everything was provided for and beautifully presented. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Even though we had the smallest room it was absolutely gorgeous and adequate for our needs for our one night stay. Trish even kindly booked us a taxi to the wedding which was an added extra special touch. We were even asked what time we would like breakfast, so there were no regimental times to have to rush.
The breakfast menu was very extensive and everything was cooked fresh to order and tasted divine. All in all it was a fabulous stay and Trish was the perfect hostess and couldn't have done more. Thank you Trish for your hospitality and if we are ever in you're area again we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElainenMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have just stayed at Backfold Cottage for a second time, and again found it absolutely delightful. The cottage is beautiful, the breakfast is great, and Trish who runs it is lovely. The rooms are small but very cosy. It's a special place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddington
0 mi away
The Higher Buck
The Higher Buck
#1 of 3 in Waddington
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Waddington Arms
Waddington Arms
#4 of 21 in Clitheroe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backfold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backfold Cottage

Address: 86 Regent Street, Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Waddington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waddington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Backfold Cottage Waddington, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing