We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our lovely wedding stop over”
Review of Backfold Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waddington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Backfold Cottage
Ranked #3 of 3 Waddington B&B and Inns
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our lovely wedding stop over”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights with friends and family as we were attending a wedding in the village. Before our stay I had asked Trisha if she could help me source a mobile hairdresser for the day of the wedding. She gave me 2 contacts and I was delighted to be able to organise to have my hair put up at Backfold Cottage. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with cake, scones , home made jam and a pot of tea which was a lovely start to our stay in Waddington. Our rooms were comfy and had fresh milk to make a cuppa with. There was also some biscuits and chocolate! Trisha let us put our cool bag ice blocks in her fridge and our wine, which was great for the day after. Both our breakfasts were hot, generous and tasty. Trisha showed a real interest in the wedding and took some photos of my husband walking the bride to church from the end of the street. She made what was a special event in our family extra special.A lovely host.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggybabe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Backfold for only one night but will certainly be back for more. The location in the heart of the village was perfect and the accommodation was first class. We especially enjoyed the breakfast, prepared to order and presented beautifully, and also the helpfulness of Trish in ensuring we got to our son's friends' wedding on time. Her friendliness and professionalism could not have been better. We shall certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Be advised by Trish, the owner who was so helpful to ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandClare7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed over for one night as we had a wedding at the inn at whitewell which was a half an hour drive away £20 in a taxi. We were met by trash who greeted us very warmly and showed us around and up to our room. The room was perfect for what we needed. We had enough room to get dressed and eat before heading to the wedding. There's no time you have to be back for and your given a key for the front door. Breakfast was beautiful locally sourced meat, yogurts etc which I love and trash couldn't do more for you. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to everyone

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
469Matahari, Manager at Backfold Cottage, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you SO much for your kind review but not so sure about my new name !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for a quaint, traditional gorgeous, yet stylish Bed and Breakfast....look not further. Backfold Cottage has 3 bedrooms, one twin,one big double and one small double. All lovely rooms...I peeked in!! Talking to the owner, Trish, it became apparent that with years of experience in the hospitality industry that running a Bed and Breakfast is like second nature to her. With little touches like Backfold Cottage embroidered towels on the bed with soap, shampoo and shower gel, a flask of milk placed in your room whilst you are out, so you can have that early morning cuppa. Home made jams and marmalade and the choice at breakfast, including duck or hen's eggs, would to rival any 5 star establishment. Trish even gave us a lift to the wedding we were attending at Eaves Hall. Waddington itself is a 'foodie' village boasting several good restaurants. The atmosphere is perfect for that weekend break. We will go back again and make it for the weekend this time. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book small double for one night, if staying for more the twin or large double would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm afraid that our review is going to sound merely fulsome, but Trish completely blew us away when we stayed at Backfold Cottage. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We were received with tea and scones, and it just kept getting better. The cottage is almost iconic in its charm, and Trish matched it with her warmth and all-around loveliness. A friend we were visiting had arranged to have a car meet us when we arrived, but we were running late because of some horrible traffic, and Trish maintained contact with us, our friend, and the car driver--far above and beyond the call of duty!

We had lovely chats, and LOVELY breakfasts the days we were there, and we plan to return next time we're in the Ribble Valley - and there will be a next time! I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are visiting Stonyhurst, or planning a trip to the Ribble Valley for cycling or hiking, or just want to get away into the country. The village is beautiful, and Backfold Cottage makes it, if this is possible, even more beautiful. Thank you, Trish, for making our time so wonderful!

Room Tip: There are three rooms - Trish will help you choose the one that's best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Trish was waiting for us to arrive and immediately offered us a delicious afternoon tea which was very welcome after a long drive.
Our twin bedded room was small but had everything we could possibly need including an en suite shower room, free internet and a flat screen TV. There was plenty of wardrobe space plus hangers. The beds were very comfortable with lovely bedding and plenty of towels. There was an impressive breakfast menu to suit all tastes which was beautifully cooked and presented. The cottage is charming as is Trish the owner.
I highly recommend Backfold Cottage to anyone wanting to visit this very attractive part of the world

Room Tip: A very good pub across the road that serves good food and drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Backfold Cottage, to be fair, we could have stayed a lot longer! Trish is an absolute diamond, she always greets you with the biggest of smiles, and offers the biggest of breakfasts! She is such an attentive host and makes you feel very at home. Our room was very clean, beautifully presented and cosy. it also had a very well stocked tea tray, with a generous (and continuous) biscuit supply. The rooms are a little on the small size, but then this is a Cottage, so to expect vast rooms is a little naïve. If you're looking to stay in a beautiful village, surrounded by beautiful countryside, very good local places to eat and drink and a B&B that's warm, homely and welcoming, I can't rate Waddington or Backfold Cottage and Trish, highly enough! x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuJuEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddington
1.5 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clitheroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clerk Laithe Lodge
Clerk Laithe Lodge
#1 of 1 in Newton-in-Bowland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Red Pump Inn
The Red Pump Inn
#1 of 1 in Bashall Eaves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backfold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backfold Cottage

Property: Backfold Cottage
Address: 86 Regent Street, Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe > Waddington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waddington
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Backfold Cottage Waddington, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing