We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and very good food!”
Review of Old Holly Farm

Old Holly Farm
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Holly Farm is a working dairy farm, located just north of Garstang on the main A6. The farm also has a small visitor attraction on site, with an indoor soft Playbarn with café area, traditional stone courtyard Café, Farm Shop and an open farm. Coolcow Ice cream is made on site using the Old Holly farms cows own milk. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm daily from the dairy viewing gallery. The farm is open 9am - 5pm, all year round (closing Christmas Day, Boxing Day, 27th December and New Years Day only). Entry to the open farm and car parking is free (exc. December), there is an admission charge of £4 per child to the indoor soft play. Please note there is a small entrance fee to the farm during December when the Reindeers come to stay. Picnics are not allowed on site. Please don't forget that Old Holly Farm is a working farm so visitors are reminded to use the hand wash facilities to keep safe. If visitors have any concerns please speak to the team at Old Holly Farm directly. The farm also offers children's parties and school visits. Please visit the farms website for details on any special events, half term activities and for further information. .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place and very good food!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Old holly farm is a great place to visit for an afternoon keeping young children entertained.

The food which I believe is all home made is lovely and not at all over priced as you get good healthy portions of fresh well made food.

Thee playbarn is a great idea and although can get noisy (because it's full of children having fun) is brilliant.

The animals are all very child friendly, chicks, rabbits, calves and some crazy mice (In a mouse house, not loose) my kids love it and we visit regularly.

Plus you can get a loyalty card with free play after some visits.

Not a huge place but very well run and thought out. Very friendly staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your comments and its great to hear you enjoy visiting us regularly.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon,

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    47
    26
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Farm With Next To No Animals!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd make a day of it but a dozen calves, five rabbits, two goats, three pigs (one of which we couldn't see), two lambs and about a dozen chicks in an area the size of my back garden does NOT a farm make. My idea of 'visiting a working farm' is exactly that, visiting a working farm....NOT an indoor adventure playground. It's as if that and the cafe and shop have taken over and the actual 'farm' is a tag on. Nice big paddocks that had about two dozen chickens in and a sign informing us that the other animals were inside because of the bad weather. It was sunny!!! The 'Viewing Platform' is reached by a set of slippery metal stairs and to be honest it's not worth the risk as there really isn't anything to view except some empty milking stalls and machinery....and £9.95 for a Ploughman's lunch? You're having a laugh surely? The young lass in the shop was pleasant enough and kindly held the door open as we left. It's a good job this place is free because you would feel royally ripped off if you had paid to see anything that you would hope to see in a farm. Many more GOOD farms in the area to visit....unfortunately this place seems to have lost it's identity. Which is a shame.

Helpful?
Thank Daz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read you comments and would like to apologise for the upset your visit has caused you.

Unfortunately due to the recent bad weather the animals from the paddocks were all brought inside, as the ground is too wet for them to be on (they make a mess of the field and we try to protect it ready for grass growth in the spring). However we are hoping in the next few weeks that the ground will dry up and the paddocks will again be full.

We are very proud to still be a working dairy farm, and although this obviously didn't come across in your visit we do try to encourage our visitors to learn about our farm - through information boards and the monthly update on the café tables. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm everyday from the viewing gallery, but we will certainly take this feedback on board and think about ways we can safely involve the two sides.

Thanks also for your feedback about our food pricing. We work hard to support and source our products from local suppliers, and everything is made fresh on site by our kitchen team. The menu has just been reviewed and we want to remain competitive and feel the quality and size of our Ploughmans is reflected in the price. However I will certainly pass your comments onto the team so we can consider your feedback going forward.

I was pleased to read your comments about our team, and hope you will give us another chance in the coming months. If you do decide to visit us again and feel something is not right, please do not hesitate to speak to either myself or one of the team who will be happy to listen to your feedback.

Thanks again for your comments, it is only by receiving feedback that we are able to improve our business.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

A great play for an afternoon out!
Its not a full day out but fantastic if you want something to do for 2-3hrs especially for younger kids.
Good mix of animal, feeding the calves... sit on tractors
Great food
And then a play in the play barn!
Fab

Helpful?
Thank tinkertaylor1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your positive feedback, and delighted you had a good afternoon with us.

Thanks again for your comments, and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A fun farm experience!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Wondering what to do with a 5yr old on a dry February half term day we found ourselves at Old Holly Farm & what a good time we all had!
Firstly the farm being free to walk around is fantastic - calves, cows, pigs, donkey, rabbits, chicks, chicken & sheep can all be seen all in good clean surroundings (well as clean as a farm can be! And cleaner than some farms we have visited!)
Secondly the Courtyard cafe is at a high standard & although a little higher priced is worth it. Approx £20 for 4 of us to have lunch & drinks.
And last but not least the Playbarn area for the kids is excellent at £4 a child is great value considering you have just visited a farm for free! The parents can relax whilst the children play - we were in there for a good couple of hours before it was time to go outside & watch the cows be milked at 4.30!
All in all a lovely little day out & the kids enjoyed a ice cream just before leaving - made from the milk from the cows on the farm!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your positive feedback, and delighted you had a such good time on your visit and enjoying everything we have to offer.

Thanks again for your feedback, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A quick stop”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I visit Holly Farm regularly for a quick ice cream, or cup of tea, depending on the time of year and have never had any issues. The farm is free to look around and is great if you have small children, and can take from 15 mins to 1 hour to get around. There isn't a lot there but what do you really expect for free? The ice cream is always pleasing and the variety of flavours means there is something for everyone. The tea rooms are nice, although service can be slow when they are busy.
I will definatley be visiting again when I am in the area and would recommend for people of any age!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your positive feedback, and really pleased to hear you enjoy visiting us regularly.

We will certainly take on board your comments regarding speed of service when we are busy, although if you do ever have any concerns please do not hesitate to speak to us.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Holly Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old Holly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing