We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lambtastic! Day Out.”
Review of Old Holly Farm

Old Holly Farm
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Holly Farm is a working dairy farm, located just north of Garstang on the main A6. The farm also has a small visitor attraction on site, with an indoor soft Playbarn with café area, traditional stone courtyard Café, Farm Shop and an open farm. Coolcow Ice cream is made on site using the Old Holly farms cows own milk. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm daily from the dairy viewing gallery. The farm is open 9am - 5pm, all year round (closing Christmas Day, Boxing Day, 27th December and New Years Day only). Entry to the open farm and car parking is free (exc. December), there is an admission charge of £4 per child to the indoor soft play. Please note there is a small entrance fee to the farm during December when the Reindeers come to stay. Picnics are not allowed on site. Please don't forget that Old Holly Farm is a working farm so visitors are reminded to use the hand wash facilities to keep safe. If visitors have any concerns please speak to the team at Old Holly Farm directly. The farm also offers children's parties and school visits. Please visit the farms website for details on any special events, half term activities and for further information. .
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lambtastic! Day Out.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My families first visit and what a lovely place. All the regular animals you would expect, with alpaca to. It was lovely for Andrew, 3 to get close up to them and hear their noises, we especially loved the big talking pig grinding its teeth. The calves and lambs were lovely. There is a fantastic play area and seating in the cafe with great views into it to watch your little ones running around. We only had drinks as we were having a meal out later, but the food looked great and we will certainly try it next time. A lovely little shop with lots of goodies.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your comments, and its great to hear Andrew enjoyed his day with us.

I'm not sure if you know, but we do run a Playbarn loyalty scheme, where the 8th visit is free, so if you are planning on visiting us regularly its definitely worth joining - just ask one of the team on your next visit and we'll get one set up for you.

Thanks again for the lovely post, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    47
    25
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a huge amount to do and see but great food, clean softplay and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a working farm so if you're expecting Alton Towers, you're at the wrong place.

You could visit and spend nothing. It's free entry and free parking. We tend to eat there. The food is great. Not cheap but good quality.

Kids can see and touch calves, lambs, rabbits, chicks and pigs. All the animals are clean and the whole place is spotless. Plenty of handwashing facilities too.

There's also a small playground, kid's tractors and softplay. Softplay isn't free but again is clean and well-maintained.

There's a similar place off the M6, Lancaster area. Nowhere near as nice as this. A lovely morning out.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your post, and especially the comments about our team, food and cleanliness. We work really hard to look after what we have and as you said we are still a working farm, so its important that we promote a positive image.

I'm presuming you have a loyalty card for the Playbarn (8th visit is free)? If not, please ask the at the counter the next time you're in and the team will be happy to sort you out.

Thanks again, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant morning out”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Visited with my other half and 6 month old yesterday and it as very pleasant indeed, especially when its free.
Some of the animals werent in the paddocks due to bad weather....but its a working farm n animal welfare needs to be priority i guess.
The cafe is a bit on the pricey side for meals (but the attraction n parking are free so balances out) but we were just having home made cakes and tea which were very tasty and staff very helpful.
I'd say our baby is a bit young for it yet but will definitely return in summer when he can interact with the animals more, see more animals and go in the playbarn. We'll also come at milking time next time so we can watch.

Helpful?
Thank motty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I was really pleased to read your comments and its great to hear you enjoyed your visit. I'm sure when your little one gets going you'll get much more out of the visit.

Thanks for your comment about the paddocks, the welfare of our animals is of the upmost importance, as is the management of the land for the future months. During the winter / spring we do have less animals outside, as the ground is too wet. However the paddocks should be full in the next week ready for the half term.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place and very good food!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Old holly farm is a great place to visit for an afternoon keeping young children entertained.

The food which I believe is all home made is lovely and not at all over priced as you get good healthy portions of fresh well made food.

Thee playbarn is a great idea and although can get noisy (because it's full of children having fun) is brilliant.

The animals are all very child friendly, chicks, rabbits, calves and some crazy mice (In a mouse house, not loose) my kids love it and we visit regularly.

Plus you can get a loyalty card with free play after some visits.

Not a huge place but very well run and thought out. Very friendly staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your comments and its great to hear you enjoy visiting us regularly.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon,

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Farm With Next To No Animals!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd make a day of it but a dozen calves, five rabbits, two goats, three pigs (one of which we couldn't see), two lambs and about a dozen chicks in an area the size of my back garden does NOT a farm make. My idea of 'visiting a working farm' is exactly that, visiting a working farm....NOT an indoor adventure playground. It's as if that and the cafe and shop have taken over and the actual 'farm' is a tag on. Nice big paddocks that had about two dozen chickens in and a sign informing us that the other animals were inside because of the bad weather. It was sunny!!! The 'Viewing Platform' is reached by a set of slippery metal stairs and to be honest it's not worth the risk as there really isn't anything to view except some empty milking stalls and machinery....and £9.95 for a Ploughman's lunch? You're having a laugh surely? The young lass in the shop was pleasant enough and kindly held the door open as we left. It's a good job this place is free because you would feel royally ripped off if you had paid to see anything that you would hope to see in a farm. Many more GOOD farms in the area to visit....unfortunately this place seems to have lost it's identity. Which is a shame.

Helpful?
Thank Daz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read you comments and would like to apologise for the upset your visit has caused you.

Unfortunately due to the recent bad weather the animals from the paddocks were all brought inside, as the ground is too wet for them to be on (they make a mess of the field and we try to protect it ready for grass growth in the spring). However we are hoping in the next few weeks that the ground will dry up and the paddocks will again be full.

We are very proud to still be a working dairy farm, and although this obviously didn't come across in your visit we do try to encourage our visitors to learn about our farm - through information boards and the monthly update on the café tables. Visitors are able to watch the cows being milked at 4.30pm everyday from the viewing gallery, but we will certainly take this feedback on board and think about ways we can safely involve the two sides.

Thanks also for your feedback about our food pricing. We work hard to support and source our products from local suppliers, and everything is made fresh on site by our kitchen team. The menu has just been reviewed and we want to remain competitive and feel the quality and size of our Ploughmans is reflected in the price. However I will certainly pass your comments onto the team so we can consider your feedback going forward.

I was pleased to read your comments about our team, and hope you will give us another chance in the coming months. If you do decide to visit us again and feel something is not right, please do not hesitate to speak to either myself or one of the team who will be happy to listen to your feedback.

Thanks again for your comments, it is only by receiving feedback that we are able to improve our business.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Holly Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old Holly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing