We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shame about the manager!!”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Garstang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had a very nice evening meal here recently with family. All the staff were very pleasant EXCEPT for the manager. He should learn to get his facts right before he shouts at his customers. I won't be going back, I don't have to pay to get abuse launched at me !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pollyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Agree with the experiences of other reviewers, good quality food at a reasonable price in a nice country pub setting with friendly staff. We had steak and ale pie which came with lots of chips, although there was a choice of potatoes, and a good selection of vegetables, smashing, need I say more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Had an evening bar meal. Food was great, tasty and exceptional vegetables. Portions are large and very good value. Pleasant bar & friendly staff. Think this is the best pub food in Garstang! The separate restaurant area has been redecorated and offers a pleasant ambience, even has tablecloths on the tables which impressed my Mum! All the tables were reserved which is a good sign. There is a small function room which was being set up.
We stayed in this hotel many years ago and remembered it having good sized and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seawolf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Now enjoyed a couple of meals. Very good portion sizes and tasty meals. On first glance prices may seem high but worth it. Service is good with little waiting time even on a busy Saturday evening. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Called in there for lunch on Market Day, what a pleasant surprise, very nice surroundings, excellent food and a very wide choice, the staff where very helpful and the service was great. We will definitely be calling again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeglossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

What a fantastic time the food is all home made to a very high standard and was worth every penny the staff where also fantastic , very well mannered and well presented and the price was very reasonable . Great all round and will deffinately be returning

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lew6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We needed to stay somewhere centrally located with good public transport links and this was an excellent choice. It was market day and the town was vibrant. Our room was delightful, overlooking the market cross, very clean, warm, bright and spacious. Everything we needed had been provided. Breakfast was tailored to our requirements, delicious and copious. The landlady was particularly welcoming and thoughtful. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank PooleAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
0.9 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
0.8 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
569 reviews
5.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
663 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Market Place, Garstang PR3 1ZA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Garstang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garstang
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Garstang, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing