We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family holiday”
Review of Ribblesdale Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ribblesdale Park
Certificate of Excellence
holmfirth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great family holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited 1st week in August. 2 adults, 3 children and our dog. We stayed in deer park cottage. Lovely cottage. Down stairs loo would have been good with disabled daughter however we managed, we were on holiday. Garden lovely and enclosed. Both kids and dog enjoyed it. Only down side was over grown garden full of nettles and the thorn bush's was so over grown my youngest son got caught in it. His ear was a mess but could have been worse if daughter got caught. Staff fantastic came straight round and cut them down and sorted free ice cream for kids. They were great. Hindelinis is a lively place. Food and service excellent except one one occasion. After 50 mins we had eaten and still no drinks. Ended up paying and leaving back to cottage for a drink was very disappointing as it was my daughters birthday. Not a good start to the day also despite being in book no one even wishes her happy birthday. She was upset didn't know why no one made a fuss at sight.
Don't get me wrong would recommend to anyone. Take a gazebo. Made hot tub useable sun or rain.
We went cycling most days did a lot of family activities yet plenty of time to chill and relax.
Hoping to go again but no reply to enquiry as yet.
Thanks to all

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    219
    59
    20
    19
See reviews for
293
457
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the park primarily to be in the buzz of the tour de France. The lodge was perfect, spacious to meet all of our needs, fabulous hot tub.
It was our 3rd visit to the park and we love it.
Relaxed and peaceful , wonderful place to wind down. Hope to go back very soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a short Fri to Mon break, picked this Park after a lot of searching around for lodges with Hot tubs for something different to try as a family. We stayed in The Darcy Lodge 22, lots of space, clean and tidy. Really nice to have two bathrooms. Plenty of towels etc. A shame there wasn't a TV/DVD in the kids room,just to give them something to do on a rainy day. Kitchen had everything apart from nothing to mash potatoes with though lol. the only thing that let down the cleanliness was the dining room chairs, stained and with what looked like dog hair all over them. We did have a problem with the shower overflowing, this was quickly sorted by the maintenance man who was really nice, lovely to see him daily checking on the hot tub rain or shine. We didn't use the Cafe on this occasion, but did go inside to collect our key, it was lovely and clean with friendly staff. The play area was nice, lacking on equipment as when you have more than 3 children on it at a time it doesn't give them much to do. The Hot tub was great, really enjoyed spending time with our boys ( 11 and 13 ) the weather wasn't great, they enjoyed the experience of this in the rain too.Check in and out time didn't reflect on the cost for the lodge itself, so this was disappointing and couldn't afford to pay any extra. Kids would of loved Wifi given the weather. The setting was lovely, didn't get to do as much as we had planned as the weather didn't hold out for us (we took our bikes :-( ) although we did visit the White Scar caves, really worth a visit if you enjoy that sort of thing. The local village had a great play area, real shame the pub was closed down as we had seen this on the write up and had planned a walk to it, we did find a nice place about 25mins drive that kids ate for free though. Overall a lovely break, alittle expensive for our budget but would love to return if we could.

Room Tip: Quiet, not overlooked, good size lodge for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBarber_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for our 2nd trip to stay in February 2014 for my wife's birthday , was aware of what to expect as quality of the place encouraged us to visit again . Overall the service is excellent when we had a malfunction of the oven the staff rectified it inside 1 hour , sent us to the onsite cafe for free food as compensation for our inconvenience and upon return everywhere had been cleaned up and sorted out . Couldn't ask for more at all . Lovely walk 3 miles to a small village where we had lunch and strolled back . We will be back again and have recommended you to lots of people

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StockportRacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Ribblesdale.We have already booked to go again next weekend as the lodges, staff and surrounding areas all makes this a fabulous place to stay. We have always taken our little boy with us and he has also enjoyed the hot tub and playing on the outdoor secure decking! Perfect place for a relaxing break. Just be aware that if you book through hoseasons you can't request a specific lodge (we tried to request a lodge through ribblesdale staff and were told that we couldn't has hoseasons allocate the lodges when booked through them).Though to be fair it isn't any less expensive when booking with hoseasons therefore you are better booking direct.
There are some great places around to visit. We recommend
Thornton hall farm country park for children of all ages. It is fairly cheap to get in and there are lots to do for the children!
Another fantastic stay at ribblesdale:)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
thank you for your generous review and continued support. its greatly appreciated. i am thrilled your little boy enjoys it as much as u do. its advisable to book through us as we are able to guide u to the best possible lodge for your needs. so dont hesitate to call us 01200445227. thanks again and we look forward to seeing u again!
all the best
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from a 4 night mid-week break in a Morland Lodge, our first stay at this site. Stayed with my partner, our children, and my parents.
We were very pleased with the site - quiet, clean and beautiful surroundings, ideal for a peaceful break. Some lovely walks to be had on site and within the grounds (eg, the "Ribblesdale Loop"). The surrounding areas are beautiful. We visited Lake Windermere (just over an hour's drive away, Clitheroe (nice little town but nothing too exciting), Bowland Wild Boar Park - highly recommend visiting if you have children with you - lots to do and again, some lovely walks around the site - and a lovely countryside drive to get there!).

I tried to look up reviews and details of the Morland Lodges before we went but couldn't find as many reviews as for the others. The lodge was very clean, spacious and well equipped, and has a lovely sized hot tub. Super bedrooms - 1 master with ensuite which has a bath at the end (although looks nice, I personally would've just preferred a dressing table area which is something the lodge lacks), a double and a twin. Beds very comfy, plenty of pillows, and all made up lovely upon arrival. Plenty of towels provided too.

We were a bit disappointed with the size of the decking area - the hot tub took up half of the space, and a wooden bench table took up the rest, so although we took our deckchairs / sun loungers, there was no room to sit out anywhere. We felt this was what let the lodge down the most as there wouldn't really have been anything to stop them continuing the decking around the side of the lodge (other than cost?!) and plus this would've allowed for some sunlit space! Looking at the other lodges on site most have this, so we did feel as though the Morlands were a bit 'forgotten' at the end of the park.

I also note from other reviews that guests have had someone coming to check on them following arriving at their lodges to show them how to use the hottubs / check all ok etc. We didnt get a visit from anyone so again, felt a little bit forgotten - although not really an issue!

We did have a couple of faults / problems during our stay, 1 with the dishwasher and the other with the hottub. We phoned for help and have to say the service was excellent - the maintenance men were at our lodge within minutes and really went the extra mile to resolve and fix the problems, so full marks and thanks to them!! There is no wifi as yet in the lodge, even though I did email prior to our visit and was told they are in the process of installing it.

We didnt have a meal at Hindillinis, other than afternoon cake, which really was superb! My partner and my mum did go to enquire for a recommendation of anywhere else local that we could eat out at, I think they were a little bit put out by the reponse of "you're talking miles and miles away". I appreciate they obviously dont want to lose business but people do like to explore the area and find other places to visit for meals etc. We ended up travelling to get a take-away instead - something we would've considered getting from the site but due to the response we decided to go elsewhere.

All in all though it was a fantastic break at a beautiful site - I would definitely go back again but probably request a different lodge with bigger decking area next time.

Room Tip: Morlands are spacious 3 bed lodges, but all appear to lack decent sized outdoor decking space (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived on a Monday morning and were soon unpacking into the lovely Moorland lodge. The interior of the lodge was of a very high standard and was very clean and tidy. All essential cooking equipment, pans, cheese grater and utensils were provided for. The bedrooms were very nice and the modern dimming light switches in the master bedroom were a nice touch. The shower in the en-suite was a brilliant monsoon shower cubicle with lots of space and the heated mirror to prevent steaming up was handy. The shower in the family bathroom was over the bath and although not as powerful as the en-suite it was still a decent shower.
We did have a problem not being able to close the dishwasher door. We rang the number in the arrival pack and a maintenance guy arrived within a 2 or 3 minutes. He was very pleasant and we decided that it'd be best if he came back the next day to sort it while we were out which he did.
The only down side to the lodge was the small decked area to the rear of the lodge. The hot-tub stood on one half and a picnic table on the other, we have stayed in lodges with bigger decked areas outside before and that would've been nice to be able to sit outside in more comfort during the day.
The walks around the park (The Ribblesdale Loop) are lovely and with the weather being so nice while we were staying it made for a lovely early evening stroll.
It is a lovely area to stay with lots to do within a short distance.
I will definitely be recommending Ribblesdale Park to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee108lfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
1.0 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
5.7 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
260 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
21.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribblesdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribblesdale Park

Property: Ribblesdale Park
Address: Mill Lane, Gisburn BB7 4LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gisburn
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribblesdale Park - a holiday village on a private estate on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ribblesdale Park Hotel Gisburn
Ribblesdale Park Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing