We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st wedding anniversary”
Review of Stirk House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stirk House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We returned to our wedding reception venue for our first anniversary and what a lovely treat it was. We had afternoon tea in the seating area outside as it was a lovely sunny afternoon. There was plenty of selection from sandwiches to cakes to toast soliders with honey. It was a delicious! We then had a lovely dinner as part of the package we were having - big portions and very tasty.
The room was gorgeous as we already knew, great views, comfy bed, jacuzzi bath was fantastic, so powerful and spacious. Complimentary coffee, tea and water and more if required.
Breakfast was great too. So much choice from cooked to continental. A huge range of cereals, pastries, and a wide cooked menu.
Overall a great stay and good value for money. It was great to be welcomed back to such a great place with many happy memories!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennywren1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    168
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
399
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just got back from 2 night stay booked through booking.com. The hotel is beautifully positioned, with lovely views. The issue we had was with booking.com. Unfortunately, we didn't request a double room specifically, so were allocated a twin, but on questioning this, the receptionist very helpfully reallocated us. Noting a mobility problem, we were placed in the 'lodge', which has a wonderful view and a newly fitted bathroom, though it did smell musty in the bedspace. The bed was huge, but very soft ( marshmallow like) and there were still winter duvets on the bed!
We booked 2 nights half board, expecting, as you would, to have an evening meal on both nights. But this is not how booking.com forwarded our reservation, so the hotel only had us down for 1 nights evening meal. Booking.com stated that is was on our confirmation, but I was able to prove to the hotels manager it wasn't and they graciously provided a meal for the second night. It was definitely worth it, the food including breakfast, was of a high standard.
The pool is a bonus, if a little small. Changing rooms clean and well looked after.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from the attentive waiting staff to the receptionist and owner, but issues with what constitutes half board need resolving with booking.com.

Room Tip: I had a chance to check the rooms in the house - standard rooms are smaller than the lodge rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmenclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for a fantastic break last weekend!
If you are looking for the perfect getaway this is the place. Surrounded by beautiful countryside and stunning views of Pendle Hill, this hotel feels like you have got away from everything.
Having eaten far too much on Saturday (the food is amazing) we spent Sunday in the Leisure Club. The gymnasium is far better equipped than any hotel gym I have been in. All modern equipment and really helpful staff who were happy to show us around.
The pool, sauna and steam room are lovely and relaxing and we finished off the day with a massage. We came away feeling fantastic and will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdunn1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When I booked this hotel I had hoped it would be another charming and friendly Yorkshire experience. WRONG - The property is old, tired and desperately needs a revamp. The staff are unfriendly, obtrusive and arrogant. I found the food extremely over rated. The hotel is an old house so you hear everything that goes on from all rooms in the house. If you walk on the floor, the reception can hear you downstairs. I had my room checked up on several times. If you are looking for a quiet undisturbed time of it, do not pick this hotel. With all its faults, the staff are pretty much oblivious and I was told that this was a very well respected hotel. Perhaps it may have been at one point, however those days have gone. Overall the staff were rude and impolite and I would recommend anyone wishing to stay in this hotel should look elsewhere. It would be my worst nightmare to get married in this place. Unless you are between ages of 65 - 85, stay clear of this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wandered_back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in the Gisburn Suite after a wedding. The room was absolutely lovely and I cannot fault it. Views across the valley, huge bed, seperate lounge, jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was very good, more than we could eat and served beautifully , we were even asked if we would like extra bacon , tomatoes, sausage etc. Denise and her team have transformed this hotel. You must stay here if in this area.

Room Tip: rooms and suites in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff were very helpful, breakfast was delicious and I liked the idea of bringing extra portions round for those of us who appr helpful and friendly. eciate a cooked breakfast. We did not have evening meal in the restaurant.

Our suite was large and full of country house character but needed refurbishment. I would stay here again as the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our son had his wedding here on Easter Sunday and what a fantastic time was had by all. The staff were so helpful and welcoming nothing was to much trouble, the food was excellent the venue could not have been better and everything went without a hitch even Max the dog had the staff throwing balls for him .
Thanks to all for making this special day such a wonderful time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisburn
15.3 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,035 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
16.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirk House Hotel

Property: Stirk House Hotel
Address: Gisburn Road | Clitheroe, Gisburn BB7 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirk House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stirk House Experience - where 16th-century charm meets 21st-century luxury. A 16th-century Manor House complete with 32 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant, bar, function rooms and Leisure Centre, with indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Stirk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirk Hotel Gisburn
Stirk House Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing