We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stirk House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan & Royal(Clitheroe)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
579
185
50
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
579
185
50
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslodge roomsclassic roomleisure centregisburn suitegroupon offermain buildingupgraded to a suitemaster of ceremoniesyorkshire dalesribble valleycountry housesauna and steam roomwedding partyleisure clubdinner bed and breakfastlounge areaevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We ent for Sunday lunch and had roast sirloin of beef with Yorkshire Pudding.The beef was the best I've had in a long time and perfect Yorkies. Great sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Excellent service as usual and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stirk House is a hidden gem - the hotel staff cannot do enough for you, the service is what you expect from a 5 star hotel not a 3. I'm not sure why this hotel is only a 3 star as the service, rooms, food definitely deserve more.
My family stayed in one of the suites - couldn't fault it : Bed very comfy, plenty of room. More than enough drawer/wardrobe space and the bathroom was luxurious.
Restaurant: Excellent - fine dining at its best (but not at fine dining prices).

Looking at an excuse to go back to Stirk House to enjoy their facilities and restaurant again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezza1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From arrival to departure this clicked the right boxes. The room was very good with a queen size bed a little soft for us but very comfortable. The room we had looked over the fields, and to the left was the nature walk. We are not bird watches but spent 30 min in hide and saw a barn owl flying about, a spotted wood Becker and many other birds and wild life. The food was fantastic. The breakfast menu was outstanding, as was the evening menu. There was something on the menu for all tastes. The staff were very friendly, and very attentive. Can not believe the previous comment for 1 star. We must praisethe chef, we felt the food he cooked was excellent. We will be back! Thank you Stirkhouse.....

Room Tip: We were in room 48 looked over nature fields
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Forgot how pleasure able Yorkshire can be!
Stayed overnight before a wedding in Lancashire and booke in at strike house on a Friday evening. First impression of receptionist was very favourable. We were made to feel most welcome and shown to our rooms without delay.the room was clean and tidy if a little dated but had everything we needed for a night away. The main thing for us was that the bed was very comfortable.
We went for a stroll in the grounds and checked out the leisure centreWe chose to book into an Italian restaurant for dinner as it had been highly recommended but on visiting the leisure centre and chatting with the manager he suggested we try the hotel restaurant as it was also very good food. We chose the latter. Faultless is the only word that describes our restaurant experience from the staff serving to the actual food chosen and presented. We were served complimentary canapés with our pre dinner drinks. Shown to our table and our order taken, we chose a crab tart and a sea bass starter which were divine, served various home made breads and then served our main course which we chose from the lunch menu. Steamed steak pudding with buttery mash and special fish cakes with spinach, again superbly presented and wonderful flavours. Room for a pudding and we had the peach and pistachio pastry tart with strawberry sorbet, this was served to us with a complimentary glass of Sauternes which was just a perfect end to the meal.
Breakfast in the morning was divine choices were so varied from full Lancashire breakfast to steak or poached smoked haddock. I had the latter but 10 minutes later the waiter came around and asked if we would like a top up of bacon sausage etc!.

The leisure centre ha all you need for a full work out including a boxing ring. We were offered full days use on the following morning even though we were checking out that day, which I thought was a very nice touch.
Check out was quick and precise and we were then given a gift of homemade shortbread biscuits.
Such a lovely gesture and the whole experience was just faultless. It would be very difficult to pick out one member of staff as everyone worked so well together from the waiting staff to the chef restaurant manager and bar staff, receptionist and gym manager .Thank you. We would definitely recommend .

Room Tip: Nb if you have difficulty with stairs the hotel does have ground floor lodge rooms. Classic room is a little basic but very comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanj902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently got married here and we had the best time ever.

From booking at stirk house all the way to actually day, the staff were exceptionally helpful, everything went smoothly and nothing was too much trouble.

On the day all staff were on hand to help with anything and when I say anything, I mean it. They made our day that extra special.

The food was delicious, when the waiters came out with seconds, I have never seen so many happy people :0) The ceremony room was perfect and so to the ballroom in the evening.

Our actual hotel room was room 10 (Gisburn Suite) and we couldn't fault it. The bed was huge and comfy, there was plenty of room for myself and the bridesmaids to get ready with out getting on top of each other too.

Whether for a weekend break or your wedding, we couldn't recommend The Stirk House Hotel enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burneys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews