We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Works Christmas Meal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haslingden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sykeside Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The service we received today 23/12/13 was amazing at this hotel. Our party enjoyed a 3 course Christmas meal and everything was hot, beautiful cooked and well presented, especially the lamb it just fell off the bone.
There was no waiting for other members of our party to get their meal, we all received our meal together and .the staff couldn't do enough for you. It was extremely clean and set with lovely cotton tablecloths not paper as is often used in many hotels
I will certainly return and would just like to say a big Thank-you for making our meal so enjoyable and special.
A merry Christmas to all the staff and will be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

When you enter the hotel, it is like stepping into a concentrated Body Shop and Lush combined. The place reeks of cheap scent. The room was a good size with a large well-fitted bathroom. The hotel stands overlooking a busy roundabout. There was no sound from the traffic which was good. But you could not let open the windows to let 'oot the smell' as Billy Connolly referred to his wellies. The bed was comfortable but the pillows bumpy. There was no help with the luggage. Breakfast was fine but I would not stay again without a gas mask.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASILVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Today 25 of us had an super Christmas lunch at this hotel . The food as always was first class with some unusual starter , my wife had spicy poached pear with bacon and chutney I had the very rich pate. We both had traditional turkey with all the trimmings followed by dessert , coffee and mince pies . Excellent service and superb value for money . Well done Sykeside

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigjohn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Yesterday 19 of us had the pleasure of having our Group Christmas lunch at Sykeside, as usual it was excellent. Food delicious, service first class, ambience relaxing and staff their usual friendly selves. A very enjoyable experience yet again. ( Big thank you and HAPPY CHRISTMAS Sykeside). We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dorothy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I went to a supper in the restaurant at the Sykeside Hotel, there were about 40 guests who all sat down at together and were served at the same time. We had previously chosen either chicken or salmon, I had the chicken which was beautifully presented with mustard mash and sauce, it was delicious. Vegetables were served separately and were also very good, plenty for all. i had a lovely sticky toffee pudding with ice cream to finish. It was all well cooked, very tasty and efficiently served. The young waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. I will be trying the restaurant again and would highly recommend it. Well done.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was attending a school reunion in the area so we wished to find a local hotel. This one seemed OK on Trip Advisor. The hotel is an old building and has retained original features such as stained glass windows. Not modern but comfortable and felt spacious with high ceilings. Our room was the smallest and I think cheapest (last minute booking) It was OK apart from the rather limp shower in the otherwise nice en-suite. Come on owners fit a power shower! There was a fair bit of noise from a wedding but we were told about that when booking so no problem. We did not have a restaurant meal, but the breakfast was pretty good. Maybe a bit more fresh fruit would be nice.

All the staff that we met were delightful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

On arrival, reception was a bit dingy looking, but brightened up by very nice staff.
I stayed in room 208, which was adequate, but surprised to see a carpted bathroom, haven't seen that in years.
Good wi-fi reception in room, big comfortable bed,.
Evening meal and breakfast could not be faulted.
What really makes the hotel is the staff, every member of staff was helpful and very cheery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslingden
4.2 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
6.4 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
340 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sykeside Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sykeside Country House Hotel

Address: Rawtenstall Road End, Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 6QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rossendale > Haslingden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haslingden
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sykeside country house hotel is a privately owned, family run hotel. found in the heart of the rossendale valley. The hotel itself is set within a late 18th Century building, and has been the home of a number of important people, including the late composer Alan Rawsthorn. The traditional charm and elegance of the building can still be seen within the hotel to this very day, with most of the original features in place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sykeside Country Hotel
Sykeside Country House Hotel Haslingden, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing