We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Nothcote last week. As watchers of GBM, we expected great food from Nigel and Lisa and we weren't disappointed - but more of that later. We arrived early in the afternoon and were shown to our bedroom by the helpful staff. The hotel is obviously being redeveloped but we found our room spaceous, very comfortable and not affected by the building work going on at the back of the hotel. Indeed I did not hear anything till 9am the next morning. The afternoon was spent having a drink and reading a book on the newly constructed patio, in the sunshine! Pre dinner we had a half bottle of champagne ,which was included in our package, and lovely canapes. We had the Gourmet Menu which was superb from start to finish but special mention must be made to the asparagus and duck ham which was simply one of the best things I have ever tasted. The dessert was pretty special too. We had eaten the night at a Michelin starred restaurant in the Cotswald's the night before and I can say quite honestly that the quality of the food at Northcote was of a much higher quality and standard of cooking. We finished the night off in the bar with a post dinner "bene" (go to find out the local significance). However Northcote is not just about the food. All the staff in every area made the stay thoroughly enjoyable and were a credit to the whole organisation with their helpfulness. Although not a cheap stay it was of maximum value for money and worth every penny. We shall be back without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

gorjam

Many thanks for your lovely review of Northcote. Feedback is always necessary, and your comments will be relaid to the team here at the hotel who work tirelessly to ensure all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back once again, to hopefully enjoy some more sunshine on the terrace!

All the best

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed on Sunday night and had the gourmet dinner break. The whole experience was wonderful. Attentive yet unfussy service, excellent food & superior accommodation. The wine list is excellent value for money and the wines paired with the meal were inspired

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Bunter52

Many thanks for choosing to leave a comment about your stay at Northcote.

Im so please that you had the chance to relax in one of rooms as well as enjoy the delights of the kitchen.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have been coming to Northcote for many years and have stayed for the odd weekend too. They cannot do enough for you, the service and staff are second to none. The food ... Well what can you say, perfection on a plate, the gourmet menu is to die for, both Nigel and Lisa are at the top of their game. The alterations are fantastic it is now not only a 5* restaurant but 5* surroundings too. Well done all round :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cheryl1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Cheryl1264

Many thanks for such a fantastic review, not only about the food here at Northcote but also the fantastic new areas of the hotel.

Were so pleased you like them as much as we do!

Looking forward to welcoming you back once again..

All the best

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Being a great fan of MasterChef I once commented that it was an ambition to eat in a Michelin Star restaurant. My husband booked a meal at Northcote and I am delighted to say that I was not dissappointed. The whole dining experience was simply amazing. The premises are beautiful, the staff are attentive and made us feel very special. The food was stunning. We chose the Taster menu which not only gave us the opportunity to try lots of different things but which was outstanding in taste and presentation. The wines were beatiful and the gorgeous selection of chocolates served with our coffees were a triumph. Special thanks to Janine who arranged a very special surprise and to the gentleman who gave us so much of his time to give us a unique experience we will always remember (I won't say what so as not to raise expectation but rest assured it was very special and above and beyond anything we could have imagined). Thank you Northcote and good luck with your bid to achieve a second Michelin Star - you certainly deserve it. Damien & Sharon Greenwood.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Sharon G


Many thanks for your review, and for taking the time for us to be your first review!

Im so pleased that you enjoyed your tasting menu, and thank you for making a special mention for Janine, I will ensure she receives it personally.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic 4 course Sunday Lunch, much more than we expected. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion. All the staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. The place was very comfortable and the new refurb looks beautiful. Look forward to dining again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnitedKingdom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

UnitedKingdom12,

Thank you for such a sweet review regards your recent Sunday Lunch. It is the perfect excuse to bring family together to enjoy the delights of the Northcote kitchens.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The recent refurb has gone way over the top replacing tradition with mod colours and furnishings. Sorry not to my taste. Service still welcoming and efficient whilst food not much above average.

A bridge too far taken all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supplier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Supplier

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the new areas of the hotel are not to your taste. We have been very keen during the renovation project to keep as much of the original hotel as we can, for example the wood work, brass door furniture and the original fireplaces. However we understand that some of the new areas may not be to everyones taste.

I do hope we can welcome you back and show you that the heartbeat of Northcote is still exactly the same.

Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I spent 1 night here at the May bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel is just the right size to receive personal attention and the staff are very friendly. We dined in the beautiful restaurant and had the 7 course tasting menu with all the accompanying wines, which I would thoroughly recommend. It was absolutely delicious as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant and the service was second to none. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and the grounds are nice for a stroll, although when we visited they were doing some construction work and it didn't look its best. It is expensive but worth it for a treat. I can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the ground floor have their own garden/patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanager9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Cygran

Thank you for taking the time to review your Northcote Experience.

Many apologies for the lack of grounds during your stay, but I can now confirm our terraces and gardens are now open and you are able to take advantage of them.

I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
246 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range: £192 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing