We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding & excellent birthday treat!”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not the first time we have dined/eaten & stayed overnight & nor will it be the last! This time was for my Husband's 50th birthday. Loved the birthday greetings - thank you. From arrival to departure we were treated with professionalism, courtesy & warmth from all the staff. Of particular note, the lovely Craig Bancroft welcoming us & sending out a delightful young man to help with our luggage; this same young man then went on to make us a superb & refreshing G & T & pre dinner cocktails; the waiter who served us 'Bambi's Mum'(!); the very friendly & very knowledgable wine waiter & the gentleman at breakfast who then helped us out to our car & enjoyed a chat with my husband about cars! We stayed in Room 12; spacious, very comfortable & well equipped. Enjoyed the 7 course taster menu; as usual, exquisite! For a special treat, my husband also enjoyed the wine flight...oh & the port taster of 3....& a nightcap! Thank goodness for the fridge of juices, bottled water & fresh milk! My only criticism is, I still don't like the 'boudoir' pink in the bar & lounge areas, but do love the renovations. Thank you again Northcote; looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Red50008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Red50008

Many thanks for such a FAB review... and its great to hear that you also got to meet Craig Bancroft during your stay.

Our Gin collection is constantly growing so each time you come, im sure you will be able to try another one!... thank you for celebrating with us and we can wait to welcome you back!

Many thanks

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

What can I say - amazing. I treated my wife to an overnight stay with the taster menu for a Birthday treat. We also decided to have the wine accompaniment to compliment the dishes, which were superb. Thomas the sommelier was so informative and when quizzed about the wine was fully knowledgeable on our queries.The service from arrival, throughout the night from all the staff was outstanding. This is truly fine dining at its best. The menu on the table wished my wife happy birthday,there was a birthday card on the bed for her and the petit fours at the end of the night also had happy birthday written on in chocolate - cheap items to produce, but totally stands out from what other venues offer - magical.
When we arrived home, I realised we had not packed our iPad charger which was left in the room. I called the hotel to explain this, to be advised it was in storage and they would post this to our home address. This arrived the next day, well packaged and no charge for postage. We would definitely recommend Northcote manor to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchester1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

manchester1966

We continually strive to be the best, and to give honest and professional service in what ever we do, and i'm so pleased to hear that your experience in the hotel was a pleasant one!

Its good to hear you were re-united with your phone charger!... we all know we cant do without them :-)

Kind Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was recently taken here for lunch by my wife for my birthday. We both had the taster menu which was flawless. I also went for the matched wines and thoroughly enjoyed the unusual selection which matched the various dishes perfectly. From the moment we arrived the service struck the correct balance of formal yet friendly, without trying too hard or pestering you during your meal.
The whole experience is highly recommended and if you're not driving try the matched wines which are delicious and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LesBonViveurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

LesBonViveurs,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your time with us especially this being your wifes birthday celebration.

Thank you also for commenting on our staff who do on a daily basis read our reviews and receive all our guests feedback.

Many thanks

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been once before for the taster menu which was outstanding, this time our kids bought us the Gourmet menu PLUS an overnight stay as a Christmas present - what can we say - the welcome, the service, the room, the food were all flawless.

Nothing was too much trouble, all of the staff were friendly and very attentive without being OTT, we were even asked if we would like a tour of the premises including the kitchen at 10:30 in the evening.

The room was very comfortable, quiet and well appointed. On the evening the food was sublime with every course being described and explained as it was served plus really helpful advice from the sommelier on which wine to choose.

The great selection for the freshly cooked breakfast the next morning really sets you up for the day.

We bumped into Nigel Haworth as we were leaving our room and despite being on the phone he stopped his conversation to shake hands and ask if everything had been OK and had we enjoyed our stay.

Would definitely recommend here for any occasion you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimg2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

jimg2247

Thank your for your kind words, its great to see and hear that you enjoyed your time with us and also that you managed to see a little of our behind the scenes areas!

We do hope that your will be able to re-join us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a birthday treat, this one takes the biscuit! We have lunched at Northcote a couple of times, and before the recent refurbishment of the restaurant, but this was the first time we had 'bitten the bullet' and stayed over. We were greeted as old friends and shown to our room where we were asked to complete the registration card, in our own time. Very nice touch, and in keeping with the best hotels. Our room itself was superb, with a huge king size bed and views over the hills to die for. We could just lie on the bed and watch the sun go down, or we would have if we hadn't had a date with Lisa and her team. We had witnessed Nigel dressed very smartly dashing out about 6.30 so guessed correctly that he wouldn't be cooking for us! The Gourmet Break that we had taken, was for the 5 course menu and each course bettered the previous. Lisa cooked her socks off! Sleep was made rather difficult by the amount of wine we drank - a new glass for each course of the sommelier's choice - but it didn't matter as the bed was amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was a triumph, with the abundance of freshly squeezed orange juice a very welcome start to the morning after the night before. It was an extravagance, but having had some recent bereavements of friends too young to leave us, we decided that life was too short for unnecessary thrift! Go, and enjoy.

Room Tip: We had a first floor deluxe room (1) and the views were amazing. I imagine that it would have been q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Yvonne R

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. Staying with us allows you to relax and enjoy everything that is on offer at Northcote.

Im so pleased to hear all your positive feedback about your recent stay, and that you simply loved your room!... Room One is certainly a very special room with views over our kitchen garden and onto the hills of the Ribble Valley.

We do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Nothcote last week. As watchers of GBM, we expected great food from Nigel and Lisa and we weren't disappointed - but more of that later. We arrived early in the afternoon and were shown to our bedroom by the helpful staff. The hotel is obviously being redeveloped but we found our room spaceous, very comfortable and not affected by the building work going on at the back of the hotel. Indeed I did not hear anything till 9am the next morning. The afternoon was spent having a drink and reading a book on the newly constructed patio, in the sunshine! Pre dinner we had a half bottle of champagne ,which was included in our package, and lovely canapes. We had the Gourmet Menu which was superb from start to finish but special mention must be made to the asparagus and duck ham which was simply one of the best things I have ever tasted. The dessert was pretty special too. We had eaten the night at a Michelin starred restaurant in the Cotswald's the night before and I can say quite honestly that the quality of the food at Northcote was of a much higher quality and standard of cooking. We finished the night off in the bar with a post dinner "bene" (go to find out the local significance). However Northcote is not just about the food. All the staff in every area made the stay thoroughly enjoyable and were a credit to the whole organisation with their helpfulness. Although not a cheap stay it was of maximum value for money and worth every penny. We shall be back without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

gorjam

Many thanks for your lovely review of Northcote. Feedback is always necessary, and your comments will be relaid to the team here at the hotel who work tirelessly to ensure all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back once again, to hopefully enjoy some more sunshine on the terrace!

All the best

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed on Sunday night and had the gourmet dinner break. The whole experience was wonderful. Attentive yet unfussy service, excellent food & superior accommodation. The wine list is excellent value for money and the wines paired with the meal were inspired

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Bunter52

Many thanks for choosing to leave a comment about your stay at Northcote.

Im so please that you had the chance to relax in one of rooms as well as enjoy the delights of the kitchen.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
4.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
452 reviews
10.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
780 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range: £219 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Chef Patron Nigel Haworth, together with Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing