We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food & Accommodation”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkham, Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

I booked a one night Gourmet Break for my wife's birthday. It was lovely.

The food was excellent and the room we stayed in (Room 1) had recently been refurbished (see photos). It was a large room with an equally large bathroom with bath (comfortably large enough for two) and separate shower. We especially liked the optional cool blue light in the bathroom, very calming.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a special occasion. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I got the feeling they genuinely cared about the quality of our stay, and showed an interest in our opinions etc.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    122
    60
    23
    8
See reviews for
117
724
13
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We recently stayed at Northcote for a "Gourmet Break", essentially a dinner, bed and breakfast package.

Our room (no 8) was well appointed and furnished to a high standard. It had obviously benefitted from a recent refurbishment. The bed was large and comfortable, and extras such as a Bose radio with i-pod dock were very welcome. Our room had a small terrace overlooking the herb garden.

The real reason to stay is, of course, the food. We enjoyed the five-course gourmet menu which is a celebration of the finest locally sourced ingredients, impeccably cooked and presented. The accompanying wines with each course were well matched. Service was attentive without being obtrusive, and our waiters seemed knowledgable and enthusiastic.
The dining room was comfortable, as were the lounge areas.

Breakfast maintained the high standard of the evening meal with well cooked and well sourced food.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Fantastic food and drink
  • Disliked — slightly quirky reception area
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank absintheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The bedroom was decorated in a modern style, and with a sleek, modern bathroom in this Victorian hotel. We admired the far reaching view from our own little terrace across rolling countryside to the moors. When booking the room we had booked the 5-course gourmet dinner, and it was a superb affair. We particularly enjoyed the Lancashire cheese souffle with Morecambe Bay shrimps, goat cheese sauce and lobster jus. Dessert of blackberries in various ways was lovely and light and zingy to finish off the meal, not too sweet or too rich. Canapes, bread and petite fours were all excellent as well. We certainly hope to come back here.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and gorgeous food.
  • Disliked — Couldn't get the underfloor heating in the bathroom to come on and it was pretty cold.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We stayed two nights with the Gourmet Break on our second for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. From booking over the phone right through our stay the staff were excellent. The room we had a superior double was huge recently refurbished to a very high specification. If you love Michelin starred food this is for you. Nigel Howarth even took time to spend 20 mins talking to us prior to our evening meal. We will be back.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zuikozoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2008

16th October
Reviewer: Magnum of London
Although it has been nearly a month since we stayed at Northcote Manor, having been abroad in the meantime, nothing can dim the memory of a delightful 3 days spent there. It is a typically Victorian country house set in the beautiful countryside of the Ribble valley. We were immediately put at ease by the warmth of the welcome and the friendly, cheerful and efficient service. Our room, recently refurbished, had an enormous bed, a good view and a modern bathroom. While the decor in the lounge and dining room is merely pleasantly functional the food in the restaurant is exceptonaly good by any standard. Nigel Haworth is one of the top chefs in the UK and his cooking is based on the use of mainly local produce combining both traditinal recipes and genuinely inventive flair in his dishes. The wine list is also superb and Craig Bancroft the co-owner is an ackowledged expert in matching food and wines. It is no wonder that Northcote is recognised with a Michelin star (it ought to be two) and has just been voted the best restaurant in the UK from the 85,000 reports used by the prestigious Harden's guide. With the little known and extaordinarily unspoilt Trough of Bowland nearby and three gastro pubs under the Northcote banner in the locale (the'Three Fishes' at Mitten, the 'Highwayman at Kirby Lonsdale and the quaintly named 'Clog and Billycock' at Pleasington) it would be a dull fellow indeed who would not enjoy a few days at Northcote

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank MagnumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katebleasdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

The main problem with this place is ( as another reviewer has said ) that the 'gourmet' dining room looks like the dining room of an old peoples home. With bland piped music being played obtrusively, the kind of music that you would expect to hear in a lift in Blackpool or worse.

The drawing room looks like a working mans club, and the reception is cramped with an oddly placed bar.

The bedroom was ok with a quirky 70's feel - no glasses in the mini bar though.

The gourmet meal had two decent courses out of 5, and when we asked whilst ordering our meal to replace one of our courses with another from a different menu we were charged a £16 supplement.

The waiting staff were undertrained, and clearly dying to go home. Indeed the wine waiters last act before he clocked off was to serve a glass of Sauvignon, when we had asked for a Chardonnay, he then insisted he was right, went home and left it to a junior member of staff to recognise, appologise and deal with his 'mistake'. I think he just couldn't be bothered to open a new bottle!

Wont go back.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Katebleasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

An exerpt from my letter to the hotel:

"I would like to commend you for the outstanding service you provided my wife and me last weekend. We always expect great things from highly rated hotels and restaurants and sadly are all-too-often disappointed. Nothing could have been further from the case regarding our experience at Northcote Manor. Our room was superb (#10), the food worthy of perhaps another Michelin star and the service as friendly as one could imagine. Three cheers to you. Keep up the good work and we look forward to visiting again soon."

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gohogs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
4.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Property: Northcote Hotel
Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Chef Patron Nigel Haworth, together with Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing