We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
583 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked a gourmet break but the upgraded to the tasting menu, the whole experience was first class, the room was so comfortable with an amazing bathroom including a double shower. The food was outstanding well worth their star and we took the wine pairing which was the icing on the cake. Breakfast is probably the the best you will find in the UK. Can't recommend enough. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    108
    50
    21
    5
See reviews for
98
662
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, Cumbria
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our Second overnight stay at Northcote as a Gourmet Break. On arrival we decided to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. Garden furniture was very comfortable and we sat outside for a good few hours with table service for drinks (did feel these were very overpriced compared to other Michelin star restaurants but they had a good selection). We went to our room to get ready for our evening meal to find that the bath room towel was really dirty, I rang reception and someone brought a clean one straight away and apologised (Im not one to complain but she was clearly shocked when she saw it obviously hadn't been washed properly) then my husband went to make a coffee in the caffetiere which was dirty and hadn't been washed from the previous guests, not what you expect when you are paying the price to stay here.
We decided to upgrade to the tasting menu which we both enjoyed and we chose wine from the recommended list for different courses of our meal.
Breakfast was excellent, full of local tasty produce and the front of house gentleman very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayelacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family lunch was a superb experience, everything was perfect. The hand cut venison was amazing, and the scallops absolutely gorgeous. For the main courses there aren't enough words to describe just how good it was, so will just have to settle with outstanding. Deserts were equally good. All in all we enjoyed 3 hours of total bliss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Went for the seasonal lunch for my daughter's birthday. The service was good, the food even better, and everyone was very friendly. Nigel Haworth came and spoke to every diner as they were having coffee, which was nice touch. We will definitely go again. It was a long leisurely meal with a nice atmosphere and very busy for a lunch time. The whole place has been refurbished recently to a very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazatome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a Wedding Anniversary treat, a mid week one night treat gourmet dinner bed and breakfast in a "superior double" room. It was smashing and more than lived up to our expectations. The staff were all excellent and attentive to our needs, the food wonderful, the wine great, the breakfast super, the room and ensuite bathroom first class. There really is not a solitary thing to criticise, which is almost annoying! Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for the second time and we're not disappointed.
After arriving early afternoon we took advantage of the country walls before returning for tea and biscuits on the outside terrace (the mini Eccles cakes were a firm favourite!)
Room was ready and spotless. Only gripe here (although not enough to reduce the rating) was that on a previous visit the view from the room was spectacular over gardens and fields to the distant hills, this time however we looked out into the building site of the impending extension. Not a major problem but perhaps should be mentioned, and possible price reflected, at the booking stage.
We chose the Gourmet menu with matching wines and we were not disappointed. Absolutely exquisite. Breakfast also did not fail to delight. The service throughout our stay was second to none with the staff being friendly, efficient and professional. On checkout we wandered the kitchen garden and had a lovely chat with the very friendly gardener.
Can not recommend this experience highly enough.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask what the view from the room is like. Ask for one looking over the garden not overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank See_Minty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My partner booked a gourmet meal and overnight stay at this exquisite hotel/restaurant to celebrate my birthday. The staff is first class and the restaurant lived up to the great expectations we had from previous reviews and recommendation from friends. On arrival we were a bit disappointed that our room overlooked all the building work going on (they're building 8 new rooms) and we were immediately offered a different room - not only that, we were shown 3 gorgeous rooms and allowed to choose the one we wanted, and the deputy manager gave us a complimentary glass of champagne to say sorry for any inconvenience. The meal was wonderful and offered a true fine-dining experience. We had some specific dietary requirements and all the courses catered to our needs. The decor and ambience was elegant and very welcoming.
We have no hesitation whatsoever recommending this hotel/restaurant and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly decorated room ... They are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candyfloss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_Jackson1, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us to celebrate your birthday. We are so pleased that your enjoyed your evening and that we are able to sort out the problem with regards to the room. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Northcote sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
4.8 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Property: Northcote Hotel
Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Chef Patron Nigel Haworth, together with Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing