We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Even better”
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I continue to regularly visit Northcote on business, and with my family. The hotel has just finished a refurbishment of its bedrooms, and they are really fantastic. Great bathroom, spacious, well appointed, great TV's, and still the old staff attitude of "can't do enough to help". I arrived late, at 10.45pm, having rung ahead to arrange sandwiches. I was greeted by the maitre d' who said that chef was still cooking, and would I prefer a fillet steak sandwich and chips, cooked by a Michelin chef! It was brilliant, and this shows the attitude and charm of the staff.
Breakfast the next morning was spot on, cooked to order and well delivered.

I have recently been to Gravetye Manor, in Sussex, which charges several times more than Northcote for a less well equipped room and in my view substandard food both at dinner and breakfast.

Northcote is a really welcoming hotel, and now it has finished the bedroom refurb it is extra special. I would recommend it to anybody wanting a real hotel with staff that care, and who deliver an excellent service.

The two gastro pubs owned by the Northcote proprietors, the Three Fishes and the Highwayman, are also top notch and deserve a visit.

  • Liked — Quality of delivery, space, attention ot detail
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    122
    60
    23
    8
See reviews for
117
722
13
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

A happy experience and a good choice.
The room, a newly refurbished one, was excellent with a well equpped bathroom and a great shower.
Dinner was as good as you would expect from a Michelin-starred restaurant. Some imaginative dishes for those who want to try somethong different, but straightforward food for those who like their food unadorned and well cooked.
Service was individually friendly and committed, but judged by the highest standards, was less than perfect (excessively long wait for food to arrive and the "wrong" food delivered more than once).
Overall a very pleasant experience, albeit an expensive one. I doubt if there is anywhere better in the UK NWest.

  • Liked — Very comfortable large double bed. Excellent lighting. Great bathroom facilities
  • Disliked — Carpet appeared not to have been vacuumed. Sweaty-making duvets.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I put my stay here in the category as a "non-event". The rooms were ok, the staff adequate but nothing more, the food.........good in quality, very poor in quantity and you'd better put aside a few hours for the meagre portions because the service ain't fast. All in all......the experience would have been ok.......if the bill had been half of what it turned out to be.

  • Disliked — price/value relationship
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BritTraveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2006

My husband took me here for a birthday treat - it is difficult to find a good hotel that really cares about vegetarians. We had a lovely comfortable room, well decorated with a well appointed bathroom. The staff were friendly and attentive and my veggie version of the gourmet menu showed enormous attention to detail and was really delicious. We were equally impressed with the breakfast - cooked to order and with a great choice of exotic fruit and other bits and pieces. I would definately like to go back again - there are some excellent walks nearby.

  • Liked — huge and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — hotel corridors narrow
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

The Manor and rooms are very pleasant as are the gardens. The view of the surrounding countryside is nothing to write home about. The staff are very pleasant - although some might say obsequious. We had a superior room that had been newly decorated and was very nice but not very imaginative or special at the price.

The other diners in the half-empty room were all over 50, very quiet... and more British Home Stores than British Fashion Week.

The food is good: well presented, tasty and imaginative but the portions are tiny. We paid £50 for the gourmet menu but I could have eaten the whole thing again. I'm over six feet and only 12 stone so not some huge overeater. A course of sea bass came on a huge plate with an egg-cup sized hole in the centre and in the hole, hardly visible, was the sea bass and some greenery. The piece of fish was smaller than my thumb. A meat course was one thin sslice with a few bits of veg including a helping of mash that had come out of an icing bag and was about the size of the tip of my thumb. You are encouraged to order rather expensive half bottles of wine for each course.

I heard one person ask for chips, extra pudding, and then order literally everything on the breakfast menu next morning... and he was skinny like me! If you're on a diet this may be the ideal gourmet break for you.

For one night in a superior double with dinner for two and three half bottles of wine. Drinks before, coffee to finish the bill was £315.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Small food portions
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around - you can get better value and quality elsewhere in this area.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank druidscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

My wife and I have stayed and dined at the Northcote many times over the past few years, indeed we tend to book it for Valentines night !! We also held a Lunch there for my mothers 70th birthday in June.
The food is invariably stunning with the staff always attentive and helpful. The wine list is extensive if a little on the pricey side, but the whole experience is always well worth it.
Overall, highly recommended

  • Liked — Food and wine
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 October 2005

There's no doubting the food here is good, but then you'd expect that with main courses approaching £30 and soup starters near £10. Accommodation is comfortable but there's no excuse for mould and half full bottles of moisturiser in the bathroom when you're paying £140 for bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast it was tasty but then they forgot the toast and it took them 20 mins when we told them. This could be a much better "restaurant with rooms" but suffers from just adequate service and attention to detail. When we asked the receptionist if she could recommend any walks or show us a map of the area, her initial response was " I don't know anything about the area". At least she was honest. On check out the computer was broken so we never got a copy of the bill, only an amount that I saw debited from my card a few days later.
If you're going to provide good food at high prices, then at least complement it with quality service and an environment that warrants it...

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langho
4.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.2 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Property: Northcote Hotel
Address: Northcote Road, Langho BB6 8BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Langho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Langho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcote Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned small luxury hotel with a Michelin star restaurant situated on the edge of the Ribble Valley, in the heart of Lancashire. Chef Patron Nigel Haworth, together with Managing Director Craig Bancroft and the team are dedicated to their vision of ensuring the perfect experience at Northcote. The hotel offers 26 individually styled luxurious bedrooms. Northcote's restaurant is acclaimed for its fine cuisine and serves traditional Lancashire recipes with a modern twist, created from local produce. To add to the experience, the Chef’s Table, in the heart of the kitchen offers insights into how the kitchen operates and the Cookery School provides a unique and intimate experience where you can learn new skills and dishes in a Michelin star kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Hotel Langho, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing