We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time and will be going back again”
Review of Globe Hotel

Globe Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overton
Morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“1st time and will be going back again”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just got back from the globe at Overton after going for the Sunday carvery. It's was by far the best around this area. Great selection of well cooked meats and veg. Service was a little slow and the place could do with abit of work but can't knock the food. There is also a play park in the ground great for the kids

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    8
    6
    18
See reviews for
19
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visiting relatives in Overton we went here for a meal on the evening of Friday the 9th of May.
The restaurant area was very quiet, perhaps because of the weather.
Four of us dined there and we all enjoyed the food we had ordered. Two people had gammon and this looked really good. Service was very quick and Phil, who I think is the landlord and moved here recently from Carnforth, was very attentive, friendly and welcoming.
The décor did seem a little tired but I am sure this will be rectified in due course and in any event did not affect our dining experience.
When next in the area we will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandWendy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arrived on Easter Monday for a pub lunch. The pub wasn't overly busy only about four tables occupied by diners, so we naturally assumed we wouldn't have too long a wait to be served. We ordered a drink and then our lunch. First indication all was not well was when in the middle of ordering our lunch at the bar, the landlord who appeared to be doing the cooking shot out of the kitchen and ordered the female staff member to leave serving the customers at the bar and serve the meals instead. There was 'no when you've finished serving, can you please serve this', it was 'Now' in a firm voice! So she had no alternative but to abandon those waiting at the bar to take to the tables. We then waited almost an hour for our lunch to be served At this point we asked the female staff member (only one on duty) how long it would be. We expressed our annoyance at the long wait. But we didn't get an apology, only an argument as to how long we had actually waited. Obviously the indifferent attitude of the landlord had filtered down to her too! At this point we decided that we had waited more than long enough and left without eating vowing never to return. It's easy to see why this pub only had only four sets of diners on a lovely sunny Bank Holiday! Word had obviously got out that service here left much to be desired and if you are hungry you are in for an unacceptably long wait. Shame too, lovely setting in tourist hot spot close to Sunderland Point crossing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited for the first time to have a night off cooking over Christmas. The pub is a little tired but the friendly staff more than made up for the surroundings.

The Carvery was good quality with plenty of options. Would recommend and will visit again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As a group of four adults we visited the Globe for a Sunday afternoon meal, we chose to go for the carvery, we were very pleasantly supprised how good it was, we all commented how we enjoyed the meal with no negatives to report, the meal was fresh and plentyfull, We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We called by on a Friday evening, having last visited a few months previously, when we were also very impressed with the food. On that occasion, due to it being an extremely busy late Sunday afternoon, the food service was unfortunately extremely slow - the genial landlord couldn't have done more for us if he'd tried, bless him - free drinks with the meal, an offer to deduct the main courses from the bill, & profuse apologies - oh, & when the food came, it was excellent.
Plenty of choice, including some great specials, & quite a few fish dishes & salads - excellent portions, & the service was great. It would be a great shame to miss it, if ever you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A group of us decided on visiting the Globe for sunday lunch based on my memories of the place many years ago and some good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. I am not a fan of traditional sunday carverys but the others are and am a glad i went along with their decision. Three joints of meat available, beef, turkey and ham, all three excellently cooked and with generously carved portions, the standout being the ham. An impressive selection of veg, from the basic brocoli and cauliflower to leek in white wine sauce and cauliflower cheese, as well as excellent roast potatoes all of which you help yourself to and choose what you want and how much. It wasnt just the quantity of what was available but the quality was fantastic. We live 2 hours away and i will make the journey back sometime soon in the hope that the next time we have lunch at The Globe Hotel it will be as good as the last time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Globe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Hotel

Property: Globe Hotel
Address: 40 Main Street, Overton LA3 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Overton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe Hotel has 6 well-appointed en-suite rooms, including 1 four-poster bedroom. All our rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, remote control colour television, radio alarm, trouser press and WI-FI. We have a friendly bar, frequently changing guest ales, pool table, games machines and TV. Our restaurant is open daily 12-8.30. All our food is home-made from local produce; we have a varied menu, daily specials board and a Sunday Carvery. You can enjoy the peaceful setting of this 17th-century inn while exploring the local landmarks at Sunderland Point and Overton, or enjoying the bustle of historic Lancaster, just a 10 min drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Globe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Overton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing