We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only one waitress could be bothered!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spread Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only one waitress could be bothered!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I came to The Spread Eagle a couple of weeks ago with a friend for lunch, we ordered off of the early bird menu which was reasonably priced. We expected good food which we were pleased with, although what we were let down by was customer service. There was only one waitress that seemed to be bothered working, the rest seemed to be hiding in the office as we did briefly see four members of staff, although as I mentioned, only one seemed to be actually doing anything. She was very polite and seemed to serve everyone for drinks and food. We were very pleased with her customer service and I took her name and thanked her for serving us.

As we were eating we saw what seemed to be her manager asking her to do extra jobs on top of the workload she already. I have worked in this field before and could recognise the faults in the way different members of staff were treated. We went back for another visit recently to give their customer service another chance and learned that the waitress that had served us the first time was no longer working at this establishment which disappointed us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisyduke2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    47
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
55
101
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Been here twice this month,had the early bird meals each time,and we find them superb value for money,our meals tonight were faultless,very we'll presented ,the deserts are a dream,I notice one thing tonight the staff were excellent,some really we'll mannered staff really makes a difference,we were asked,was food ok,did we want anymore drinks,in the past odd times I noticed it took a while to have orders taken,but could not fault it tonight,I love the really relaxed vibe,defiantly one of my favorite place......we'll done,and great prices ! To

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebufanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Beautiful rural location in the Ribble Valley right next to the river. Comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Good local real ales. Would benefit from a controlling hand from the management. Things just seem to happen (or otherwise) and there never seems to be anyone in charge, unless they are keeping well hidden behind the scenes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjw1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked for a Sunday night stay. Excellent value for money. Beautiful setting, nice welcome on arrival, large tastefully decorated room overlooking river. Pleasant bar area & dining room. Extensive menu containing Lancashire favourites with a twist. Couldn't fault food or service for informal dining. Would recommend. A disadvantage of room 3, windows don't open & it would have been nice to experience fresh country air. Also Pillows on bed were very firm & uncomfortable but realised following morning there are different pillow types in wardrobe. Overall really good experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your first visit to us, the window in room 3 does open, it is slightly hidden underneath the window seat though
we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Greig & Natalie Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This B&B has become a firm favourite of ours especially during the winter months. So much so I spent my 40th birthday here. The rooms that we have stayed in (3 in total) are all individually designed and the beds are very comfy. Onto the food - we have not had a bad meal..ever! And there is lots of choice and it's all locally sourced. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and sets you up for the day to explore clitheroe or colne or much further afield.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAliBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Wow what a lovely review! it sound like you love it as much as we do, we look forward to welcoming you again soon


Greig & Natalie Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked 3 rooms for family visit from Canada on a special £99 DB&B deal.
This is a up-market pub, maintained to a high standard with a small but good selection of real ales. Not cheap £3.80 per pint, but you pay that in city centres anyway.
We could eat anything from the menu (forgot to tell us £5 supplement re steak - but waived it anyway) The food was superb, all 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed it and just about managed deserts!
The rooms are superb, better than most hotels and each room is quite individual (7 in all) they don't skimp on bottle water or milk either!
Breakfast again very good - sets you up for the day.
All in all this is a great place, staff are brilliant, this is our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed, of all The Individual Inns this is our favourite (tried Masons, Fountain & Tempest).
Location wise - very close to Clitheroe, lots of walks in the area, you are right next to the river Ribble.
The special offers just make you want to return & we will!

Room Tip: Best rooms are probably 1,3 & 4 - albeit you are at the front and may hear traffic in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Greig & Natalie Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent Food, in a lovely restaurant and surroundings.

Lots of very friendly and attentive staff, nothing was to much for them, which was great to see considering how busy it was.

Enjoyable meal, with lots to choose from on the menu. We will recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loxy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope you will come again soon

Greig & Natalie Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawley
2.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mitton Hall
Mitton Hall
#3 of 23 in Clitheroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: Sawley, Sawley BB7 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Sawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Sawley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing