We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meager portions, poor service”
Review of Spread Eagle

Spread Eagle
Reserve with OpenTable
Spread Eagle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Sawley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Decided to try the set lunch of 2 courses. Although very reasonably priced, the portions were meager and NO vegetables, which are a requirement as part of our '5 a day'. I could have order extra green veg and mash but this would have added more than £4 to the bill, making it just under £15, plus the cost of drinks. It was difficult attracting the attention of the staff who seemed to be either preoccupied absent from the dining room. When I complained about the portions, I was met with a rude and dismissive response which strongly implied, "what do you expect for £11", (sorry, £10.95).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Popsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for writing your review, what a shame that all was not to your liking, we like to think that are Early bird menu (priced at £10.95 for 2 courses) portions are of ample size, with a portion of vegetables (enough for 2 to share) priced at £1.50 reasonably priced. I have passed on your comments to our team regarding service.

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good pub grub at a reasonable price. Nothing fancy here but OK fir a night when you can't be bothered to cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kateylikesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We was recommended to give the spread eagle a try.

We did, and wasn't disappointed. Lovely atmosphere with food to match

The waitress did forget our drinks order, so was sat there for 10 minutes before we reminded someone. To be fair it was very busy.

Other than that everything was spot on and despite it being full you didn't feel like cattle at the market.

We enjoyed it very much and intend to go back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad you had a lovely time with us, we look forward to welcoming you again

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our daughter and husband had there wedding day here 13/12/2013,what a fantastic day,food staff venue fantastic.thankyou spread eagle.mick pat Connors,see you soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickpne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it was such a lovely day, we are so glad that everyone had a great time, we look forward to seeing you all again

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited as a group on a Saturday evening mid March, having pre booked. When our table became free, we were told, 'your table is free its the one there', at which pointed we were pointed to another table in the adjoining room. A small point, but normally you should be taken to your table, basic courtesy. Then it became clear this was going to be the standard of service for the night, having to catch someone's attention to order food/drink/the bill, no one came and asked us how our food was during the meal, so we couldn't tell them a side sauce was missing. One young man serving looked entirely flummoxed, and had the personality of a cardboard box... no smile, no chat, just looked either terrified or bored. No one came to take our money for the bill, by which time it was much quieter and staff were available. We decided, if they weren't bothered then we weren't, just left the money on the table, with very little tip, and left.
Normally I wouldn't bother to comment in most places, but this is a lovely restaurant, great food, lovely ambiance, pretty location, and I have been several times before with no issues. So I hope that service is now resuming, someone is taking control of service out front (distinct lack of control when we were there) and that I can safely recommend this place to others. So much competition in the Ribble Valley re good food, such restaurants really need to be on top of their game, all of the time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank diz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your visit wasn't as it should have been, we have taken onboard your comments and relayed this to our team, I do hope you will give us another try

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spread Eagle also viewed

Waddington, Clitheroe
 

Been to Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing