We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of Spread Eagle

Spread Eagle
Reserve with OpenTable
Spread Eagle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Sawley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from eating here and I feel I must leave my first ever review of any of the places we have eaten.
The Spread Eagle has been on our list of places to eat at for some time but we are quite disappointed with the experience.
The surroundings are exquisite.
The premises are tasteful & contemporary.
The food was ok
The staff were disinterested. Perhaps they would benefit from a training session at the Tempest, part of the same group. on how to look after their customers.
Would we go back or recommend to our friends? NO

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lancsdiner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Decided to try the set lunch of 2 courses. Although very reasonably priced, the portions were meager and NO vegetables, which are a requirement as part of our '5 a day'. I could have order extra green veg and mash but this would have added more than £4 to the bill, making it just under £15, plus the cost of drinks. It was difficult attracting the attention of the staff who seemed to be either preoccupied absent from the dining room. When I complained about the portions, I was met with a rude and dismissive response which strongly implied, "what do you expect for £11", (sorry, £10.95).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Popsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for writing your review, what a shame that all was not to your liking, we like to think that are Early bird menu (priced at £10.95 for 2 courses) portions are of ample size, with a portion of vegetables (enough for 2 to share) priced at £1.50 reasonably priced. I have passed on your comments to our team regarding service.

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good pub grub at a reasonable price. Nothing fancy here but OK fir a night when you can't be bothered to cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kateylikesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We was recommended to give the spread eagle a try.

We did, and wasn't disappointed. Lovely atmosphere with food to match

The waitress did forget our drinks order, so was sat there for 10 minutes before we reminded someone. To be fair it was very busy.

Other than that everything was spot on and despite it being full you didn't feel like cattle at the market.

We enjoyed it very much and intend to go back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad you had a lovely time with us, we look forward to welcoming you again

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our daughter and husband had there wedding day here 13/12/2013,what a fantastic day,food staff venue fantastic.thankyou spread eagle.mick pat Connors,see you soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickpne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it was such a lovely day, we are so glad that everyone had a great time, we look forward to seeing you all again

Greig & Natalie Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spread Eagle also viewed

Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 

Been to Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing