We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another fabulous visit!”
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Description: A warm and friendly pub serving restaurant quality food, as well as a large variety of real ales and an extensive gin bar
Restaurant details
Description: A warm and friendly pub serving restaurant quality food, as well as a large variety of real ales and an extensive gin bar
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Just enjoyed another lovely family meal at the Foresters. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. The Sunday roast was absolutely delicious and such good value, a very generous portion of tender beef and vegetables and the home-made yorkshire puddings were to die for!
We love it here and are already looking forward to the next time! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank _becky_bee1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Brilliant! Went as it came up on a search for nearby dog friendly pubs, but this will definitely become a regular eating place in future. Our family of 7 were given a friendly, warm welcome by landlord and staff and our chihuahua was made very welcome and given a little bowl of meat treats and water. Food was fabulous- fresh, hot, delicious and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much trouble - highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MrsBJohnson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The Foresters Arms had been very much highlighted on Facebook several times for the unbelievable donating of meals for the Homeless here in Wigan, but when even looking at their menus and there reviews to seemed that everything that The Foresters Arm do is hitting the perfect note. The reception we received on our visit is a warm smile from the staff and even with our dogs (Dexter & Meg) in toe, we were shown to our table and dogs were made a fussed off.

Without a shadow of a doubt a visit is a must.

The staff constantly come to your table to make sure you are ok, but of course you want to know about the meal itself, well there's no surprise the meal was excellent, and even the wait for the meal clearly meant it was cooked from fresh. Absolutely no complaints at all, this is a little ole place kind of in the middle of a residential area, but yet stands tall and are a true inspiration for this area and Wigan as well in fact for everything.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I've never had a 'hot sandwich' before, but I had hot beef with peppercorn gravy in a sandwich with fries/salad etc. Lovely. Friendly staff - nice pint too.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Recently took dog to vet and the smell from kitchen at Foresters was fantastic so decided had to go back. Greeted by very pleasant staff who regularly checked if we needed drinks during meal. The menu was new to me and looked great. I had starter and main, trio of garlic bread to start and Cock and Bull a pub classic for main. All family agreed their food was great as well.
Had a wonderful pale ale to wash it down as well.
Definitely going back soon for more.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank S9517ZLchrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foresters Arms also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
Wrightington, Lancashire
 

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.