We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a very poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Wigan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a very poor hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We used to live just round the corner from here and when it was our friend's birthday we thought it would be a good place to stay. Amazing how far the place has gone downhill. First room we got was above some big exhaust fan which was really noisy. Got moved to a quieter place but it was still grubby. Next time I'll stay in the Premier Inn across the road.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    106
    121
    125
    291
See reviews for
117
235
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We managed to get a good deal for this hotel,the pictures online were very mid leading,.We were very shocked to be asked for payment on arrival,judging by everyone's else's comments we spoke to maybe now I understand why.The 1st room we were put in was awful,ripped furniture,old beds and not the cleanest.I was glad in the end it was cold and heating was not working that we actually got moved to a warmer room and a little better.another customer had exactly the same problem.The evening meal was OK,the waitresses don't really speak or wait at all,they just seemed to concentrate on cleaning,where r their people skills.Breakfast was the worst ever and again,4 waitresses and not one said good morning.My husband and I just wanted a night away from the kids and wish we had stayed at home

Room Tip: Don't,!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here on a weekend trip with National Holidays with two other members of my family. When you book with National, its pot luck which hotel you end up in. We’ve stayed in some very good ones before and some poor ones, I’m afraid to say this is one of the worst!

On arrival, we were handed our room keys. We had booked two rooms and we discovered that they were quite literally at opposite ends of the hotel on different floors (and the hotel is quite big), they couldn’t have put us further away from each other if they tried. We were only there for one night so this wasn’t a big issue but anyone staying longer may have problems with this.

The hotel itself is very old fashioned and is in desperate need of renovation since it doesn’t look like it’s seen fresh paint or new furniture in 40 years, and this goes for all areas of the hotel. The biggest problem though was, as many other reviews have stated, the cleanliness. Or rather, the lack of! The rooms themselves were poor, the carpets had extensive stains on them and hotel looked like they hadn’t seen a vacuum cleaner in years. The windowsill was absolutely filthy as were the windows. The toilet actually had urine stains on from previous guests (of the other faults, this was the most shocking to me….disgusting!) and I noticed extensive rust on the bath curtain rail. Additionally, the water from the sink in the tap was very sluggish and unpredictable (as my brother stated, it went ‘chug, chug, chug’) and splashed me a lot every time it was used. On attempting to use the shower the knob that was used to turn it on, came off the wall in my hands and it was a struggle to get it back on, but when I did, at least the water was an adequate temperature. On the plus side, the duvets/pillows in the bedroom were clean and the bed was comfortable enough to provide a good night’s sleep so no problems there.

Dinner was a ‘help yourself’ do and there was no variety. Either rubbery looking pork or chicken strips which were ok and carrots. There were some pretty tasteless chips and soggy mash but no roast potatoes and the gravy looked and tasted more like sewer water. Desert, however, was quite tasty. Service was shoddy but we let that go given that there was a wedding reception in the next room (quite why you would hold your reception there I don’t know…they weren’t there long!!!) While we were eating, a staff member behind us was having a quite vocal argument with paying customers who were complaining…I gather one of their complaints was the rudeness of staff! Breakfast the next day was marginally better, although the bread took over 5 minutes to cook and the juice was tasteless. As was the coke from the bar.

Overall, a poor hotel but sad to say I have stayed in worse (not many). Its ok for one night but even at a budget price you could get a lot better than this so National should consider somewhere else in future.

Room Tip: Better to book a room across the road in the Premier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Standish hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we stayed here on May 03rd 2014 as we were attending a family party close by. We just checked in put the bag in the room and went to the party as the lovely receptionist had ordered a taxi for us. We returned later in the evening and went to the room. It was a very warm day and we found the radiator on full blast and no way to turn it off. As it was late we opened the window and climbed into bed. The following morning we discovered just two complimentary tea bags and 8 mini cartons of milk. (Very disappointing). I then went to have a shower only to discover black mould around the bath & shower. (It could be wiped off with a cloth). The bathroom floor was filthy, shower curtain mouldy and a cracked toilet. I completed the feedback forms in the room and handed them to a very miserable receptionist. She didn't even ask had everything been alright with our stay!. I promptly emailed Britannia head office and made a complaint. They had 28 days to respond and failed to do so. We emailed again nearly two weeks ago and they have still failed to respond. Obviously they take customer service as seriously as the cleanliness of the bathrooms. We only paid £54.00 for the room but surely a clean bathroom is not too much to ask for? I would say give this hotel a miss unless you don't mind dirty facilities and don't bother trying to make a complaint as the Brittanis chain really don't care!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Never go here it is the worst hotel in the world.the food tasted like school dinner but only worse.in the bathrooms downstairs there is a circle of mould on the roof and the staff r not pleasant cheap as chips !!! Don't waste ur money !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

have stayed here for several years. This might be the last. The grounds are overgrown ...have you never heard of Kerb Appeal. Rooms are a bit grubby and need TLC. Your receptionist was First Class, Waiting staff a bit of couldn't care less even although the food is basic but great taste and top marks to the chef. It is great value for money . Great location ...2 minutes off M6 J27. please get your act together...times are hard but you wont be there for long if you keep this up. Swallow hotel at J31 is a prime example.

Room Tip: room to the front to get wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Coach Tour ,Monday 2nd of June. Staff very pleasant, but very inexperienced. We stayed in room 163, which was good size, however, TV and remote had seen better days, room was never vacuumed
during the entire stay, and looked as if it hadn't been done for a while. the same with the bathroom floor, the bathroom had various areas of mould(reported), specially on the ceiling, over the bath, about 1 metre long and 5cm wide. The hot water was almost boiling, we had a problem with the shower control knob (reported),etc. Towels were fine, supplied clean every day.
Food was fine, apart from the first night, which wasn't very hot, not much info about the food, in case of allergies, very inexperienced staff. The whole place is in need of a good refurbishment. No, I would not stay there again, mainly because of the room.

Room Tip: Check room first, and complain straight away if need be ! unless you are with someone like my wife w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Wigan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Wigan Hotel

Property: Britannia Wigan Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Wigan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Wigan is an attractive modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Wigan town centre and located not far from the M6 motorway network, providing easy reach to major cities such as Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Wigan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Wigan
Wigan Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing