We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real mixed bag”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stay at this hotel several times a year as it is one of the better places in the area. I grit my teeth about doing so for a variety of reasons:
The MacDonald policy of not offering free wifi is abysmal, penny pinching and mean spirited to your guests!
The restaurant menu is not seasonal; there has been the horrible Pumpkin Ravioli with revolting Sage Butter as the restaurant vegetarian option for well over a year, no chef can do anything with it, I do not blame the chef at all, I blame the cheap catering deal MacDonald must have struck to have this vile, cloying, nauseating mess as the veggie option.
Thankfully the Kilhey bar is lovely and has the better option of chickpea curry; the newly improved wine list with the addition of a very nice NZ Sauvignon blanc is also good. I must put out a special mention of your bartender (Peter?), a natural host and total asset to you, generally all staff I have dealt with during all my stays have been delightful.
It is pot luck whether you get one of the slightly better rooms or not. If you are unlucky your room will look tired and the tricky bit at the back of the bath taps will be grubby, as will the grouting, there may also be the odd tile missing/cracked. The bedroom furniture is uniformly cheap and nasty looking and your room may well be dark and gloomy. You are unlikely to be staying in the attractive main building; I have only ever been put in the hall of residence style block round to the side.
The hotel guest carpark had a unique stench when I last stayed, some sort of effluent from the bins had leaked into the flower beds and had snaked its way across the tarmac. I hope the has been disinfected away.
Generally my irritation is more with the MacDonald group as a whole; this is a real shame as MacDonald hotels used to be exceptional. Once the Kilhey is refurbed a bit it will be fine, best of a poor lot in the area at the moment, just don't expect a 4* room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Thank you for your review which I found very interesting all the more so as you are obviously a loyal guest of the hotel. Can I ask that you contact me direct when planning your next trip so I can ensure you get to stay in one of our House rooms.
We are just changing over our menus and I will certainly review the vegetarian options with my chef.
I was pleased to note you found our staff to be friendly and careing.
There is a continuous maintenance program for all rooms.
I hope I will get to meet you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    402
    252
    138
    80
See reviews for
255
518
20
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed at Klhey Court following an AGM for another Macdonald resort. Room not ready on arrival, but reception staff very apologetic. Food looked very expensive for what it was, but we were fortunate to have paid a reasonable price for a buffet laid on for the attendees of the AGM. Excellent breakfast, one of the best we've had in this country. Room was spotless, with only a couple of little niggles, not worth mentioning here, but reported to the hotel. No problem with the TV. Staff (except for one rather dour barman) were superb.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and breakfast in particular. We pride ourselves on the quality and freshness of our produce. We use only free range eggs, fresh milk. Our pork is produced to British Meat Quality Standard, is free range and outdoor reared. Our award winning sausages, produced by Annas Happy Trotters, are Freedom Food approved
It was good to see our staff looked after you so well. Over the years our chefs, kitchen, waiting and bar staff have brought us numerous rosettes and awards for the high standards they achieve every day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Nice hotel, nice new rooms attached to traditional older building. Very clean and good facilities. Staff friendly and attentive however not always prepared. Room not ready on arrival, but very apologetic

Room Tip: Double room we were in was small but clean and nicely decorated. The childrens twin room was small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Being an older hotel we can offer a choice of rooms of varying sizes and shapes
We pride ourselves on having high standards of cleanliness.
We hope to welcome you back to Kilhey on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

First impressions not positive - check in was chaos, rooms not ready, people double booked and needing to stay at alternative hotels. Room - poor view (over looked road and hotel building) TV was a joke - terrible reception. Room clean but showing age. Food was good quality and other than frosty reception staff - dining room staff helpful. If only the rooms were as good as the food this could be a winner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poluanaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Sorry you had a disappointing stay in some respects. On the date in question we did have an overbooking situation due to human error.This came to light the day prior and did take a bit of sorting out. We also had several conference delegates trying to check in mid day when the rooms were not long vacated by the previous nights occupants. The hotel was full the night prior and had no rooms available for guests wishing to check in early.
The plans for bedroom refurbishment are now awaiting approval. These include replacement of all televisions.
I was pleased to note you enjoyed the food and service in the restaurants and hope I will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel when you could enjoy a fully refurbed room with a modern television
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday. The hotel was clean and tidy and had a very good atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and efficient especially the hotel receptionist. The dinner at night was excellent. All in all a great weekend with no complaints whatsoever. We would highly recommend a stay at Kilhey.

Room Tip: The feature room represent excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Room was dated and not cleaned to a high standard! Radiator was rusty in bathroom, loads of mildew and no seal on shower door so leaked all over floor.
Staff were quite rude and communal areas were tired and mouldy smell masked by air freshened.
Definitely not 4* and never worth £100 on a room only basis. £15.50 pp for breakfast - rip off! Drinks are crazy prices too.
Would never stay again and would advise others not to

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilliePig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
sorry yoy had such a disappointing stay. It is rare we receive such comments about our staff.
over the past few weeks we have addressed most of the bathroom issues in terms of grouting, mildew and rusty radiators.
We are also well advanced with the refurbishment of our bedrooms and expect the first phase to start in January.
We are also recruiting painters so we can commence a preventative maintenance program throughout our public areas, corridors and selected bedrooms
I hope you will return to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Standish hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Our family of four stayed here to break up a long drive to Scotland. Like others have said it is very strange that the check in desk is not in the main part of the hotel, however we were just looking for a comfortable room for the night. Sadly our room was so tired looking. It had clearly been cleaned to a high standard but it was just all so old and in need of renovation. We ate breakfast in the main restaurant and it was perfect. The food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. Just couldn't help feeling so let down by the room. The bed squeaked, the volume on the tv could not be adjusted, the bathroom was in a powder blue colour and almost reminded me of the 80's. On a more positive note, if I knew I was staying in one of the more modern rooms I might consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300753, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
it was good to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in the quality of our food produce and its freshness. Our staff are our greatest asset and we have numerous programmes to train and develop them.
The plans for the refurbishment of our room stock is well underway. The first phase will start in January 2012. We are also recruiting painters to look after our public areas and family rooms.
I hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
11.7 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kilhey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kilhey Court

Property: Macdonald Kilhey Court
Address: Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kilhey Court 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Kilhey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Kilhey Court Standish
Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing