We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

MacDonald Hotels have always been a name I trusted and where I thought I would receive high standards but, unfortunately, in this particular establishment that was not the case. I visited for one night on business as one of a party of four and the intention had been to get some work done in the evening, a forlorn hope as it turned out.

The approach to the hotel is impressive as you drive through the electric gates and the main building and grounds are beautiful so initial impressions were very good. There are three things I look for when I visit a hotel on business, a restful sleep, good service and good food and this hotel, unfortunately, failed on all three.

We were housed in an annexe beside the spa and the first issue was that the four double rooms ordered proved to be one double and three twins, apparently there were no other rooms available so change was not an option. My room was on the ground floor and looked out on a brick wall, not a big issue for one night but not a good start. It was adequate in that it had the basic needs but the décor was bland with a plain white duvet on each bed and visible divan bases to match the somewhat dated furnishings, I also noticed that if two people were staying only one had a night light. I appreciate that it is picky to point out that there were visible score marks on the wall and other examples of neglect and if these were the only issues I would probably have let it go but it proved to be an example of an overall lack of attention during our stay. The bathroom was beautiful, clearly recently renovated, and everything was very clean so no issues with housekeeping. The only heat source was an electric heater but when I checked in it was warm outside and the room was comfortable so nothing to concern me. Unfortunately, I later found that the room got very cold overnight and I was woken up again at 5am by the cold to find that the heater did not work, this was after being kept awake late as I could hear every sound from adjoining rooms. By contrast two of my colleagues commented the next day that their rooms were so hot they couldn't sleep.

That evening we intended having a meal in the hotel so we could have some discussion on business afterwards and were gratified to see that the restaurant wasn't particularly busy. We were given menus in the bar so knew what we wanted and took our table at 7.30 and our order was taken about 15 minutes later. Our starters didn't arrive until 8.15 and weren't particularly hot but, at the early stages it was not something worth complaining about although we did notice that people seated after us received their's first while others who arrived before us were also looking somewhat aggrieved. What was irritating was that the starters came before any wine was served and when we asked for it we had to re-order as someone had 'lost' our order. The wine was very nice but the white initially arrived without a cooler and we were then given a plastic ice bucket balanced on the edge of our table as, we were told, they didn't have enough of the free standing ones at other tables to go around. The 'manager' who delivered it apologised for the poor service up to that point and explained they had 'problems back of house' but things didn't improve and when our main courses eventually arrived at 8.45 all were over cooked to some level and a venison dish was so bad as to be inedible and was returned. We received another apology and agreement that it should not have been served that way but one of our party had to eat alone after everyone else had finished theirs and was not served until 30 minutes later. We did not chance a desert but opted for the cheeseboard as, by this time, we decided it was not something that could be messed up. As we did not escape the dining experience until after 10.00, business plans were put on hold.

The following morning, we sat as a table of four for breakfast with three ordering eggs benedict and one a cooked breakfast. The food at breakfast was well prepared and there was an excellent selection on the cold tables but one of the eggs benedict and the cooked breakfast were served and we waited for some time for the other two before we suspected what had happened. The eggs benedict which had been served had three eggs on the plate and when we called the waiter over he checked and admitted that the kitchen had served three eggs benedict on one plate. This obviously moved our stay from very poor to farce.

The company I work for are lodging an official complaint with MacDonald Hotels and I sincerely hope this was an isolated evening of mayhem in the establishment as it is a beautiful location and a lovely building but I will certainly never return and could never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelScot94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    407
    256
    139
    81
See reviews for
261
523
21
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Needing a real chill out factor, we opted for this as a spa break. What a first class hotel
. The staff were courteous and helpful. The spa programme was excellent. We enjoyed the pool, Jacuzzi and steam rooms before our spa treatments, which were out of this world. The marvellous relaxation room, with soothing music, candles and comfortable reclining chairs was a haven of tranquillity. Tea and coffee was available here too. The whole experience goes beyond words, it is something not to be missed, We were shown to the restaurant that overlooked the grounds, a fountain and a lake secluded behind the trees where a two course meal was served. It was great value for money and worth every penny, something we will do again. Greatly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We only stayed for one night at this lovely hotel. We believe it was originally owned by a brewery owner many many years ago. The setting is beautiful in mature gardens with a large lake/reservoir at the back that you can stroll around. Our room was perfect, quite a good size, enormouse bed and a clean very modern bathroom. There was a bottle of water in the room and bathrobes. We had a lovely view to the front of the hotel. Breakfast in the conservatory was really enjoyable. Friendly staff, freshly cooked food and plenty of choice. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Wigan Town. We tried to find Wigan Pier but unfortunately were unable to locate it. There is glorious countryside all around the area and we were fortunate to have had sunny weather. We didn't eat at the hotel. There is a bar that serves bar meals, but it was full and the main restaurant we felt was a little pricey and we didn't want a large meal. There is a seperate building that houses the spa and pool and it looked like it was very popular. If we were returning to that area I would definately stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: All the renovated rooms have large showers, but no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLE810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our third and finest visit, choosing last Sunday for a quieter and more relaxed attendance. Entering through the electric entrance gates you are greeted by an impressive and grand Manor House, feeling that you have been invited to a select private function, gazing around the splendour of mature grounds.
The hotel can be considered in two parts, the original section facing you upon entry, and new building to the left, both set in extensive and tranquil mature grounds. To the rear, a gentle meander past the fountain leads down to a scenic reservoir - a picturesque and highly recommended viewing.
Reception is now located within the lounge of the original part whereby guests sit at the receptionists desk to check in and out - a more intimate and modern trend. The close proximately to lounge guests doesn't afford much privacy, or confidential discussions should you wish to query your bill.
In the new hotel section the rooms are modern with amenities in keeping with the high standards set by The Macdonald Hotels. All our rooms have been tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. On our last visit we were upgraded to a suite in the original building which can only be described as opulent. Room 404 was stylishly decorated with luxurious furnishings to accompany the original oak fireplace, which is an eye-catching centerpiece. The bathroom, containing an extra large shower, is modern, spacious and aesthetically fully tiled. Relaxing chairs and a personal coffee making machine complement a superbly comfortable room.
Dinner is served in the well designed, tiered dining area with superb views overlooking the expansive garden, a feature in itself. The menu is extensive and excellently prepared; we had a pigeon breast starter with venison for the main course. Complements to a superb chef!
The English breakfast whilst hot and pleasant, couldn't be considered reasonably priced at £35:00 for two, but if booked within a Diner, Bed and Breakfast package then this becomes more reasonable.
The staff are exemplary, professional, passionate and very pleasant, particularly Peter Neascy, who had the courtesy and thoughtfulness to check if our room was okay after checking in.
A perfect venue for a wedding reception.

Worthy of an award? Quite definitely, especially under the new management.

Rod

Room Tip: The original part is quieter. Room 404 was superb. See photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rods350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

On 28th june me and my husband got married here and after 2years saving up for it i can honestly say hand on heart it was worth every penny and could not have chose a better place.
Checkin was abit busy when i arrived but the staff got through the queue quickly and i was offered help with my bags.
The grounds are beautiful and are maintained to the highest of standards.
The hotel itself is full of character but with a mordern fresh feel. Our room was a suite and it was well equiped with luxurious furnishings.
Some of our wedding party stayed the night before and we dined in the restraunt. The staff made up a private area for us and waited on us to a high standard and made us feel like special welcomed guest.
The food was amazing so much so me and my husband can't wait to return for our complimentary anniversary dinner. The wedding breakfast was one of the best i have ever had and all our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the food.
The room for our function was bright and fresh and perfect for our needs.
All the staff at kilhey court made our wedding all the more special and they should be proud of the job there doing as they are doing it excellent. In particular a special thanks to Hannah our wedding planner, and our master of ceremonies who we feel went above and beyond his duties. So from me and my husband a huge THANK YOU.
If your thinking about choosing here as a wedding venue or treating yourself to a night away than go for it you will love it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We went here on Saturday lovely place staff very friendly couldn't fault them at all. Room was nice and cosy. Food was expensive £12.50 for burger and chips it was nice but not worth that much. We booked in for a massage and was really good. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a fantastic two days we had,from the moment of arriving till we left we all had a brilliant time.The girls on reception were very helpful sorted our rooms out to our needs thanks girls.A group of us had evening meal set a table for us all together an pampered to our needs food was lovely.So a big thanks again to all the staff who waited on us .The wedding day was amazing beautiful hotel in lovely grounds excellent place for a wedding.I as mother of the bride would like to say a great big thank to everyone all staff who waited on us worked hard an made the day great,but I would like to say a massive thank to the young man who was our master of ceremonies what a credit he is to the hotel nothing was too much trouble for him so a massive thank you to him and everyone else involved.Thank you so much my daughter an new son in laws special day was amazing, a day I and my family will remember always most definitely kilhey court is a nice hotel in lovely grounds but my biggest thanks is to all the staff you work hard an always had a smile.

Room Tip: Advise not to be over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
3.3 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.2 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,252 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kilhey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kilhey Court

Property: Macdonald Kilhey Court
Address: Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kilhey Court 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Kilhey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Kilhey Court Standish
Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing