We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Kilhey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Our daughter and Son in law had their wedding reception here yesterday, it was a wonderful day, the lakeside suite was lovely, the food was lovely and the staff were so attentive, thanks to Hannah for all her help. We stayed overnight in an executive room for a touch of luxury. Breakfast was lovely and again excellent service. All in all a very impressive wedding at Kilhey from start to finish and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Benjstew,

Congratulations to your daughter and son in law i am delighted that a good day was had by all, thank you for a great review and for choosing Kilhey Court for such a special occasion.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    397
    249
    138
    80
See reviews for
253
516
20
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a short break at this hotel of two nights. The Hotel was lovely with wooden panels in the reception area. the grounds were wonderful, with lots of space and a nice walk to Worthington Lakes.

Our room was on the ground floor and was spotlessly clean and the room service was excellent. Now to the restaurant. Our evening meal was first class, the food was delicious and the service was top notch. The only comment I would make about this is that the menu was the same both nights but hey ho, you cant have everything. The breakfast though was the best I have ever had anywhere. and the black pudding was to die for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boxstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Boxstergirl,

Thanks for the great review, we are delighted that you ejoyed your stay and the food in our restaurant.( i agree the blackpudding is awesome)

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

No airconditioning which was a problem during the heat in july 2014. Window was opened wide by janitor but we couldnt clse it then in the evening. Very clean. Staff were slw booking in. Function room was lovely. Food excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Barbarajohn,

Thank you for taking time to post a review your feedback is most important to us.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Macdonald Kilhey Court on Friday night had a really great 3 course meal (fixed menu) the bar is small but good value £4.90 for a pint & half of bitter the staff were great and very helpful. The breakfast was huge and filling the grounds were well kept but the Bed was way to soft and noisy for my taste so didn't get a good night's sleep. Great deal though .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Nigel,

Thanks for taking time to leave a review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, sorry to hear about the bed I will get it checked immediately.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in and around the Manchester area and wish we had found this one sooner. Will definitely go back and only not our first choice because it is a bit further away from family members we visit on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi gpage55,

Thanks for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed at this charming hotel set in its own grounds on the 2 nd august 2014 . we were greeted with a lovely reception and told our room had been upgraded but we didn't expect the del-a-mare suite . tones of purple and white with a tartan hint . large bed so comfortable we over laid the next day .
although the hotel was full we had a relaxing swim and sauna . small pool but enough for the use we had for it . the staff in the spa delightful too .
food was devin couldn't fault the service either .. quiet hotel, clean . old y worldly with hints of newness.
the only fault if any would be the bar prices a little expensive but when you have such a lovely relaxing time . i think that compensates . in all great value for money if you get a deal on the DBB .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diste2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear diste2601,

We are delighted to hear you had such a great stay and that you got to sample one of our newly refurbished rooms. I will pass on your great praise to the team.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked a spa day for my mums birthday. The best massage & facial I've ever had! The staff were polite, friendly & helpful. A special thank you to Elena & Kieran.
A great day finished off with a yummy afternoon tea!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJones G, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey Court, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Hayley3333,

A belated Happy Birthday to Mum!

I will cetainly pass on your praise to Elena and Kieran it is good to hear you had a great day.

Kind regards

Martin Jones
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kilhey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kilhey Court

Property: Macdonald Kilhey Court
Address: Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kilhey Court 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Kilhey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Kilhey Court Standish
Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing