We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 2 plug sockets ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only 2 plug sockets ”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

There was only 2 plug sockets in the room which was very annoying as we needed 2 mobile phones to charge so couldn't use the tv,kettle and ironing board! Its the 1st hotel I've stayed in when there hasn't been a socket by the bed. Overall didn't think it came up to the normal premier inn standards but the lady on reception was very helpful on arrival though

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    110
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
136
118
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here last weekend while visiting for a friends birthday.
Great location just off the motorway and about 40 mins from Manchester airport.
Everything you would expect from premier inn and the staff were very friendly.
I had to ask for an iron and board ,but that was no problem.
Only downside was the breakfast booked through the hotel. It was terrible so wouldn't recommend that but you could always pick up something in the petrol station (sandwich or something) next door or maybe go across the road the the Britannia hotel( opposite ).
Would defiantly stay in the hotel again though.

Room Tip: Avoid the pub next door for food. Ask for room overlooking the open field at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeychic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We Stayed here for one night on when travelling on our way North. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception and we had a good room with a very good bathroom. Very good value and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Driving up from Shaftesbury on Friday night the traffic was very bad plus the weather did not help at all, so we pulled of the M6 and stayed the night at premier inn at Wigan. What a very welcome place to stay the night we thought the traffic noise outside would keep us awake but not a bit of noise plus the room was spotless and warm. The staff could not be more helpful too we used our quota of coffee and milk so I popped down stairs asked for some more and I got a good amount of coffee and milk. We then went next door for our meal at the Tay barn the service again was excellent the food was very good and a wide choice. So we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandDoug60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn, Wigan for two nights. Got a great deal with two nights for £78. We paid for breakfast separately but all in all still great value for money.Very comfortable bed with tea/coffee making facilities. Staff were all very nice. Only negative was at breakfast had to wait around for cereal bowls and plates but that was just a minor thing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor where we were was best. No disturbance at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0se1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Used for a two night family break visiting relatives - old fashioned look Premier Inn but lovely interior, great staff and no complaints about the room, especially at a £29 night rate. The front desk welcome was especially nice. Surprised at the room - usually PI family rooms have a double, a sofa bed and a pull out - this was an enormous room with a king and two singles ! Great location near the M6 but away from road noise etc.

Room Tip: If you have a family, ask for one of the six 'large rooms' - two on each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very warm and friendly welcome from the staff.
However the room was of a very poor standard, not Premier Inns usual level.
TV Very old and didn’t switch on very well
TV was a very old CRT style. All the other Premier Inn we have stayed in have nice modern flat screen TV’s
There was a stain on the carpet towards the window, that looked like blood.
Bedroom had a very stale smell to it. In fact the whole inn smelt old.
The main reason we booked a Premier in is because up to now we have always felt assured we will experience a nice modern clean room. NOT in this case. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
0.9 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
3.2 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Premier Inn Hotel Wigan (M6, J27) and you'll be in the perfect location to get to Wigan town centre. So whether you're here on business or just getting away for a well-earned break, we're a handy place to stay. The picturesque North West countryside is on your doorstep too. Spend the morning strolling the streets of Liverpool, perhaps visiting the historic Albert Dock. Or take a walk through the majestic grounds of Haigh Hall Country Park. In the afternoon you could catch some sport, either rugby or football at Wigan stadium, or try your hand at go-karting at Three Sisters. Then come back for some great food and a lovely comfy bed. Car Parking: Free on-site parking with ample room for coaches and caravans. Disabled Facilities: This hotel has rooms adapted for customers with disabilities. Beds are arranged to enable easy access. Please note all rooms are subject to availability. Wi-Fi:Free Unlimited browsing or upgrade to our faster connection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (m6 j27) Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing