We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for two nights on the 16th and 17th July. Our room was on the first floor and there was no lift. (In future I will remember to check before booking at other hotels.)

The room was very good with a big comfy bed, all the usual amenities and a lovely view of the countryside. It was a nice touch on a hot day to enter the room and find the window open and an electric fan switched on.

I was a bit disappointed with the bathroom which while clean was rather dated.and cramped. The basin taps had been turned off so hard that I couldn't turn them on and the flush on the toilet was awkward to use.

Having said all that, for £29 a night, the room was very comfortable and excellent value.

I wouldn't bother pre-booking breakfast again. Especially if I was on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessFruitBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Superb large room with queen bed plus twin beds. Clean, very comfortable. Lots of storage. Breakfast was lovely in the Inn a few steps from the hotel. Overall an excellent holiday. Near to the motorway

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Easy access from the M6 makes it an ideal overnight stop on the way to or from Scotland.

Smooth check in and welcoming staff. Excellent and clean room with very comfortable bed (not, at the time of writing upgraded to the too soft new mattresses Premier Inn are installing in their hotels). Minor drawback is traffic noise from the nearby A road which means that the windows need to be kept closed at night, not too much of a disadvantage in winter but does mean a too warm room in summer. Noise from other hotel guests was minimal.

Excellent shower, hot and powerful.

Note: there is no lift in this hotel so if you struggle with heavy luggage or find stairs difficult make sure you are booked in a ground floor room and not, as we were, on the third floor.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back, i.e. not facing the main road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Maybe there was something written in the small print that we didn't see, because when we arrived we found that our room was on the second floor and there was no lift. The very helpful girl on reception offered to carry our cases up, but we decided we could manage. As pensioners, being on the second floor wasn't ideal, but it was OK for one night. The bathroom was very small, but again, was OK for one night.
There is no restaurant on site, but meals can be obtained from the pub' next door, which serves very average food. Not sure we would return to this particular Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for one night and was immediately impressed with location and reception staff. Were offered an alternative room on the ground floor with a nice view over green fields which suited us well. Was surprisingly, quiet bearing in mind closeness to the M6 and was also very comfirtable. Food and service at the adjoining restaurant was first class. All staff were excellent. Good parking. Best overnight stay we have had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philoski2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here overnight on our way from the Southampton area to Northern Scotland. This was my second experience of staying at a Premier Inn and, again, it was excellent. We asked for quiet rooms and were given rooms overlooking the countryside. The greeting on arrival from the night porter was first class. Breakfast next morning was superb. Even one of the cleaning staff wished us a good onward journey and held the door open for us. Couldn't fault it. Thank you to all staff and well done Premier Inn; your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed a here while my Mum was in Wrightington hospital, which is just a couple of minutes away. Very friendly service, quiet room with all the facilities you need. Attached restaurant was very good with an excellent pub menu and very friendly service; there were several families with children. Breakfast was good, again with good service. Would definitely stay again if in the locality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Standish
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
0.9 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel

Address: Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan WN6 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan > Standish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Standish
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Premier Inn Hotel Wigan (M6, J27) and you'll be in the perfect location to get to Wigan town centre. So whether you're here on business or just getting away for a well-earned break, we're a handy place to stay. The picturesque North West countryside is on your doorstep too. Spend the morning strolling the streets of Liverpool, perhaps visiting the historic Albert Dock. Or take a walk through the majestic grounds of Haigh Hall Country Park. In the afternoon you could catch some sport, either rugby or football at Wigan stadium, or try your hand at go-karting at Three Sisters. Then come back for some great food and a lovely comfy bed. Car Parking: Free on-site parking with ample room for coaches and caravans. Disabled Facilities: This hotel has rooms adapted for customers with disabilities. Beds are arranged to enable easy access. Please note all rooms are subject to availability. Wi-Fi:Free Unlimited browsing or upgrade to our faster connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wigan (m6 j27) Hotel Standish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing