We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as I remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upholland
Southport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just as I remember”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband have stayed here on a few occasions as our friends live locally and recently returned for a friends Wedding. Everytime we have felt welcome. Great food, friendly staff, lovely settings

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holland Hall Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    51
    40
    35
    23
See reviews for
87
69
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I arranged a private room for my son's 18th birthday, I was assured that this room would be for our sole use. The room was also guaranteed to be ready for 10am on the day of the event so that flowers and place names could be set up. Arrived to find room partially ready with each member of staff I spoke to saying it was not their fault as the coordinator had not passed on this information. I was advised that she was away that day due to personal reasons, the manager said that she solely set up the room and that due to health and safety reasons they did not set up the room the day before and said that I was being harsh. He was unable explain why the room was partially set up if his comments were correct. The menu was preordered three weeks in advance however most of the guests had to wait eat as they had to wait for others as the order to the kitchen was incorrect. The meals served were with the wrong side dishes and the starter soup and prawn cocktail were tasteless. The cheeses served were not those advertised on the menu. The waitress shouted at the top of the table whether everyone had finished between courses, not the standard of service we expected. Staff were unable to be found once each course had been served in order to make any complaint or comments during the meal. The "private" room was used as a thoroughfare for the wedding taking place in the adjacent wedding.

When I came to pay the bill staff were difficult to find and errors made on the bill which the manager accused me if causing saying that I had two unexpected guests which was not the case. My receipt was handed to me in an envelope which I did not view until I got home when I found that the payment had been made to another company rather than to the hotel, until the next day I was unable to clarity why this had happened and therefore caused unnecessary worry.

On speaking to the manager I received a £100 refund however no apology regarding his comments about my "harsh character". My Son is only 18 once and wished this to be a perfect occasion which I do not feel is asking too much given the assurances made at the time of booking.

My nephew was considering the hotel for his wedding but after this experience of bad food, incorrect orders and bad service had decided against it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan_SE8125NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
After reading your review I would like to take this opportunity to respond in full as I was directly involved with your booking.

As Mrs Saunders points out, the hotel staff where very much in the process of setting up one table for nineteen guests for her sons birthday party. Unfortunately due to the death of my father I was unable to attend work on that day. However the hotel team immediately organised their time to set up the room as quickly as possible for 10am even though they were aware that guests were not due to arrive until 7pm.

I would like to point out that I have thoroughly interviewed all three members of staff who worked on that day along with the head chef and found there were no delays with the order of service.

Obviously the meals are down to personal taste, however we feel as though we offer tasty and wholesome food cooked by one of the best chefs in the North West.

I am glad to hear that one of our waitresses acknowledged your party saying " excuse me ladies and gentlemen has everyone finished their meals, was everything ok for you?" This is called 'table checking' in the catering industry and is usually very much appreciated by most. If we had been made aware of a problem we would have dealt with any complaints, giving us the opportunity to rectify the situation immediately.

We do not wish to interfere with small parties and whilst we oversee them we stay in the background, however a member of our team is always on hand for any assistance.

I would like to clarify that payment was made to Holland Hall Hotel and apologies were personally made to Mrs Sanders by the owner of the hotel himself who generously refunded Mrs Sanders £100 as a good will gesture.

I cannot help but feel that your review has been blown out of all proportion and that the hotel did everything possible on the night to ensure your enjoyment, however if in your opinin we have made errors we again sincerely apologise.

I personally have answered all of Mrs Sanders emails and the hotel owner has spoken directly to Mrs Sanders. I find it extremely distressing that Mrs Sanders inital threats of going viral have come to fruition.

Holland Hall Hotel prides itself on the high standard of customer care and service and this review leaves me suprise and disappointed.

Deborah Riley
Function Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel was recommended by a colleague who had used it many times a few years ago.

Positive bits:
Comfortable bed, lots of hot water, helpful staff, good wifi

Negative bits:
Shower was either too hot or cold, no towelling bath mat, window latch missing, generally tatty

The hotel was undergoing some renovations so maybe the above will be solved as part of that process.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our staff and facillities here at Holland Hall Hotel. Constructive comments such as yours are extremely useful in the progression of our business and as you correctly point out we are currently following a programme of ongoing refurbishment. We have taken your comments and ensured our maintenance manager has fixed the shower and window latch. We pride ourselves in offering a clean and comfortable environment for our guests and we will continue to make improvements both internally and externally to ensure this. We do hope you will return to Holland Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked one night on our way home from the Lake District. I only rang to inquire on the morning of our arrival and the young woman on reception who took the booking was very helpful. We chose a superior suite which actually wasn't a suite as such, but a room with a leather sofa in front of a huge wall mounted flat screen television.

There is no lift in the hotel and the stairs and corridors leading to the rooms are narrow.As a couple in our late fifties we laughed out loud when we entered the room as it was very Katy Price and definitely designed for twenty somethings. There was a television in the bathroom but this didn't work when we were there and the shower was very weak even though it looked state of the art.Apart from that the bed was very very comfy and the room was spotlessly clean. The room had air conditioning which was a godsend as it was so hot on the night we stayed.

There is nowhere in the immediate vicinity of the hotel to eat so we decided to eat in and we were glad we did. The service and the food were excellent and as it was a hot evening we enjoyed sitting outside with our drinks.

Breakfast the next morning was really very very good and the staff were wonderful. The young woman who had been on reception the night before very kindly went out of her way to buy in our Sunday newspapers on her way in to work at the crack of dawn the next day and this was much appreciated.

I suspect that this hotel normally attracts a young clientele and wedding parties but we really enjoyed our stay nevertheless. It is professionally run with the young staff being a credit to the place. If we were looking to stay in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: book directly with the hotel and discuss your specific room requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DingleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us at Holland Hall Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. We have placed your review on our staff noticeboard for the staff to read as I am sure they will feel proud at the lovely words you have written about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the Holland Hall Hotel on Friday 30th May had the best day and night that I can remember everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure . The set up of the room for the wedding ceremony was beautiful ,the wedding breakfast was fantastic beautifully presented and served the staff work very hard and nothing is to much trouble .the evening reception was the same ,again the room set up was beautiful and evening buffet very tasty .The hotel is set in lovely surroundings and nice and quiet .If anyone was looking for a wedding venue I would highly recommend they have a look around the Holland Hall Hotel .Thanks for a lovely day .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words, we were delighted to read your fantastic review. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holand Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I would recommend their valantines night meal and stay over we were very well looked after champange, strawberrys, chocolate in the room (bridal suite) the meal was fantastic.
Bed soft just like your grandma's
Room big roomy bigger then normal
Bathroom sunken bath with TV on the wall, also seperate show
Music, TV ipod docker

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollandhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are delighted you had a fabulous Valentines Day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holland Hall Hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when in the area for business. The hotel is set off the main road and is nice and quiet. However there are a few restaurants and pubs within a 10 to 15 minute walk away although I never went myself. The staff were all very friendly, breakfast there is a fairly limited selection but more than adequate to chose from and although would appear only cooked option is full English, they will cater for other similar orders.

The rooms are fairly basic but again do the job.

Overall for the B and B rate this hotel is excellent value and I have stayed in more expensive hotels which aren't as good. I would definitely consider staying again if in area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upholland
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
3.6 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Lafford Lane, Upholland WN8 0QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Upholland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upholland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel offering the accommodation of a fine hotel with excellent function, wedding and conference facillities - The Holland Hall Country House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holland Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hall Country Hotel
Holland Hall Country House Hotel Upholland, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing