We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two for £10.00 deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant at The Royal Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Restaurant at The Royal Hotel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ibstock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two for £10.00 deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The royal offers a two for £10.00 every week night and you would have to go a very long way to find a better value meal. All meals are freshly cooked to order, so you might have to wait for a short time but sitting in the smart well furnished restaurant with full table service the time passes quickly. My wife had turkey and sage pie which was cooked to perfection with chips and peas, and I had a home made beef burger with all the trimmings and chips, which was also perfection. Excellent waitress service and also on reception. If you have the full 3 course meal you also get a free drink each, which is what we had on our previous visit there. Again it was very very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Sunday carvery in a party of thirty people was very good. Good choice of meats, plenty of vegetables and good range of desserts or cheese and biscuits. Good value in a relaxed environment. No complaints at all and will be back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

After staying at the Royal for over a month on business we can say in summary that the food is diverse and to a reliably good standard. It also offers value for money with an average of £7-8 for a main course.
A very pleasant recently refurbished venue with a well stocked bar.
The serving staff do their best to please, including off-menu custard!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“absolute rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

went with friends for lunch had scampi and chips could not find any in the batter
chips were like they had been cooked the day before,horrible.
steak was undercooked not has ordered.sweet didn't get any better fruit
cocktail was full of apple.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pigeongraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Decided to stop in Asby de la Zouch for early evening meal. Had previoulsy looked up the Royal Hotel on line, and thought it was the place to try. Well it was. Menue as advertised on internet, with plenty of two for one offers [althought not opted for by us] , and good variety. Service was spot on, as was meal, which we ate in the dining room, but could also have had in the lounge/bar. With drinks the total bill came to about £30.00 for two, but could have easily been far less had we have gone for a two for one offer. Table clothes and flowers, with waitress service to boot. Excellent value for money, and a very interesting old brick built hotel with a rather pleasing and grand entrance. Although we were mid-week early birds, I would have thought that more people would have been enjoying this venue, that we will certainly be visiting again when next in the area. Left full and happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank owen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at The Royal Hotel also viewed

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Restaurant at The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing