We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This time in a refurbished room. Was lovely -

Staff as usual friendly, breakfast ok (apart from a sniffing guest) and happy to recommend. Quirky but real here ;-)

Would recommend a stay here if you are coming to ashby

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    56
    39
    50
    55
See reviews for
39
66
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a very warm welcome from Kirsty. The room and bathroom was a good size and very clean, yes it could do with a bit of a make over. The bed was comfortable so had a good night's sleep and the room over looked the car park but it was quite. Plenty of choice for breakfast, waitress were on hand with tea,coffee and more toast. The bar was very quite but Darren was very quick with the service. All the staff very friendly but the hotel does need a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a lot of potential to be something amazing, it has an impressive facade on the road and its entrance hall is spacious and has sweeping staircases up to the first floor and beyond, but its overall first impression was dated and in need of a little love and lick of paint.

The receptionist was lovely and welcoming which made check in pleasant and quick.

The room and bathroom were again dated and in need of a little love but was clean and serviceable for the one night we were there.

Breakfast was included in the price and there was a good selection on offer hot and cold in a recently decorated dining area (not sure if the new chandeliers match the character of the building.) Could not fault the breakfast as it was self service and catered for everyone. The staff were again pleasant and smiley.

Would consider staying here again if in the area, just hope it one day realises its full potential!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGE8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Well this a old hotel with great character and great staff,enjoyed my stay but imagine it could be cold in winter as old style windows,no a/c in room I stayed in.
Car park is a bit rutted and uneven but is free for hotel stayed,overall if you want a quiet place to stay in this area it is great,people will say it's outdated but it's part of it's charm in my eye's,myself and my family really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 169Niall1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked here for an overnighter with work. Ok it's not the most modern hotel ever and a little lacklustre in places but it is far from terrible.

The restaurant was closed - guess England playing the World Cup was the reason, who knows. My room was a bit dated but spotlessly clean with everything I could need for a hotel in this range, plus a four poster bed. I slept well, woke refreshed.

The shower had all the appearances of a dribbling one, but on switching it on a pump kicked in with copious and powerful hot water. Pump was slightly loud, but rather two minutes of rumbling and a good shower than a cold dribble. Presumably the pumps are as a result of earlier comments, so well done on that.

Breakfast was a basic buffet, nothing special but did the job. I didn't leave hungry and had several options.

Smooth check in (despite a confusion caused by my company trying to book/cancel/book again) and polite staff. My room key didn't work first time, but that could happen anywhere - seemed to be the strip on the card - sorted out in less than a minute.

Not much more to say, other than it's not the premier inn, it's an old building with the usual creaks and groans. It's dated but not unpleasant, and the staff were ok.

Room Tip: I was at the back - lovely views over the green - can't imagine traffic much of an issue at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Royal on Sat 21st June. Whilst it appears quite grand with its sweeping main staircase and chandeliers, if you look a bit closer the decor is very tired with peeling ceilings and antiquated style. However, the staff more than make up for it. I was very warmly received by the lady receptionist who was very helpful. The Royal doesn't do food but they were very happy for us to order takeaway food (lovely pizza from Zamanis) and the staff provided us with crockery, cutlery and napkins. The barman allowed us to re-arrange the furniture so we could watch the World Cup. It felt very comfortable and welcoming. The bed was comfy though creaky and the room was more than adequate, as was the ensuite. Both were very clean importantly. Lovely view of the gardens too. Breakfast was buffet style, no limit to it either. Very tasty. Waiting on staff very helpful, willing to fetch more tea, toast, sauces whatever. Different receptionist on check out, again very warm, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor 268 or 269.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Free car parking. Free wifi. But doesn't reach all rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Rooms are old and tired but good nights sleep. The food is hot and tasty.
Great location too. Plenty of place to eat on the town which is a 2 minute walk

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JWMUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashby-de-la-Zouch
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ashby-de-la-Zouch LE65 2GP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Ashby-de-la-Zouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing