We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food.”
Review of Wong Kwei

Wong Kwei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently good food.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on Monday for a birthday meal. Food is always hot and of good quality. Excellent service and never been disappointed over many visits over several years.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Popped in for Takeaway”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I will be using this place as my first choice for Chinese food from now on

stopped in for a takeaway last night and the quality of the food here is just excellent

Fresh and tasty, not an Msg in sight

this is an excellent restaurant and deserving of my five circles, bravo! nothing wong with their food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTIMander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Top quality for over 30 years !!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been regular customers at Wong Kwei for over 30 years, the food is still at the highest quality as it was then. Do not go so often now only because the choice of restaurant locally is extensive. Been tonight. Black pepper fillet steak is as good as it was all those years ago. Won't be long before visiting again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ericfreeman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've been going to the Wong Kwei for years now. The new décor is excellent and really adds to the whole experience. The food seems to have gone up a notch lately and is very well presented. The service is always friendly and excellent. I would 100% recommend the Wong Kwei to anyone. I've been as a couple and with family and in groups.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TimAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deliver take away”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Really bad and greasy!!

Have used this restaurant many times both sit in and recently after it was refurbished and the started delivery service to my area.

Don't know if has been taken over or just got new cooking staff but quality and tastes very different from previous every thing so greasy and much not cooked through.

Recommend as I will have to do - find an alternative.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wong Kwei also viewed

Measham, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to Wong Kwei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing