We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cafe and deli”

Cafe & Deli On The Sands
Ranked #31 of 100 Restaurants in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stopped here on recommendation whilst out on a cycle ride in the Vale of Belvoir.

Absolutely brilliant flapjack and cake and great coffee

Will definitely be returning again and would like to have a meal there sometime as the home made quiche looked very nice

Looking forward to returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gp200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scully227, Owner at Cafe & Deli On The Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hi, thank you for writing us a lovely review, i hope you've been back and sampled the quiche, they are rather yummy even if i do say so myself.
Debbie.
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We pop great little cafe with mini Deli from time to time...the menu is really lovely and there's always something to suit everyone with proper homecooked specials. It's a great takeout for good coffee & sandwiches which are far better than anything I've had from any of the other Deli/sandwich shops within the Vale.....always open on Sundays, always greeted with a smile....best till last...try the pancakes with syrup and ask for them well cooked...huge portion, totally delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ponyandcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scully227, Owner at Cafe & Deli On The Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you or taking time to write us a lovely review, the pancakes are a personal favourite!
Debbie.
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I go to the Sands Deli on a regular weekly basis and always find it never changes, the food is always at a high standard, they don't have a massive menu to select from but why would they as they are very small and cater to a select group of regulars and they odd passer through. I'm not saying they aren't ambitious or any less enthusiastic to people they don't know because they are most definitely not. The girls that work and run the place always have a smile on their face and are always running around trying to provide a quick efficient service. They have a lovely little menu with plenty of local produce, a large selection of great coffee's and some delicious cakes. I enjoy my visits there and so does my belly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillyDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scully227, Owner at Cafe & Deli On The Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hi, thank you very much for writing us a lovely review,i hope your still a regular visitor, and that your belly is still satisfied.
Thanks.
Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

A very welcoming little tea rooms with a lovely choice of snacks, drinks and main meals. We first went on a Groupon voucher and more recently on a stay in Melton Mowbray when we had a lovely lunch. I had a beautiful bacon and sausage sandwich and my mother had perfect pancakes. The selection of drinks is excellent and proper tea is served in teapots with tea strainers. I hope to be able to go again. The tea rooms is situated in the same village as the dairy which produces lovely Long Clawson Stilton cheese.

Thank dopeydorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scully227, Owner at Cafe & Deli On The Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for our lovely review, i hope you've managed to visit us again.
Debbie.
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A fantastic cafe and deli, we often come in for coffee but always end up getting tempted by the delicious cakes! Very friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. I look forward to popping again very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wemster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scully227, Owner at Cafe & Deli On The Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for writing us a lovely review, i hope your still getting tempted by the delicious cakes!
Debbie.
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe & Deli On The Sands also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to Cafe & Deli On The Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing