We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth leaving the main road for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carington Arms

The Carington Arms
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A classic country pub with a warm welcome. We offer a traditional bar menu throughout the day, and also a full restaurant menu. Traditional Sunday lunches are available all day Sunday. Beer garden to the side, walkers, dogs, cyclists and motorcycles welcome.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth leaving the main road for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went here with a Group On voucher. Sometimes this can mean a luke warm reception, but not here. The waitress was friendly and helpful and prepared to alter the terms to suit us (e.g. beer and soft drink instead of wine). This is essentially a one bar village pub with an eating area off leading to a partly closed off dining room. The decor is traditional with some interesting history of the village and its patrons on the walls. We sat at a table in the 'eating area', which was fine on a mid week evening, but if we were to go back at a weekend I would try and book into the dining room as I suspect it could get noisy if the bar filled up. The food was excellent, well cooked and served hot on warm plates (always a good sign I think). I had soup, rack of lamb and apple crumble. My wife had pate, grilled chicken and apple crumble. All excellent. The menu is not extensive, but with enough variety and we were told the fish is delivered fresh daily.
If you're not local you might need a Sat Nav to find Ashby Folville, but if you're passing it's well worth the effort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the Carington arms after buying a groupon voucher for a 3 course meal. The waitress could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The 4 members of our party all enjoyed the food we ordered, the smoked haddock starter was a real treat! Slightly disappointed that there was not much of a choice on the deserts, 3 to choose from, (crumble, roulade and a cheesecake) but they were a very nice finish to the meal. Great pub lunch, with very attentive service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have now eaten at The Carington Arms in Ashby Folville a couple of times for both lunch and dinner, I have to say on both occasions the quality of food was brilliant; everything is home made. It is a lovely unpretentious country pub in a beautiful village. The staff/proprietors were warm and welcoming and the service was excellent. We like pubs that offer restaurant quality food and that’s exactly what we have experienced to date at the Carington. It has a good choice of beers and decent well-priced wine. The food is very good; it is of good quality, excellent value and nicely presented by a pleasant team. Let’s be clear, The Carington Arms is not “The Grill at The Dorchester” or “The Fat Duck” nor does it pretend to be; but for a Leicestershire pub offering a varied menu, excellent value for money and good quality The Carington Arms is well worth a visit. We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goneoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic meal here. Staff were lovely. Had smoked haddock for starter which was great, Braising steak for a main and the puddings were delicious too. Wine was reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend and return. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We visited this cosy pub for a meal with a groupon voucher.
we had called in several times in the past for a drink and thought the menu looked good, a good variety of food and prices.
the starters smoked haddock in a brandy cream sauce was very tasty, as was the pate and the salad leaves perfectly dressed. there was also moules marinere, stilton and pear salad, garlic mushrooms in a brioche and soup on offer.
The pan fried red snapper with chorizo and wilted spinach was excellent, perfectly cooked and very tasty, served with freshly cooked vegetables and crispy potatoes. There was a good choice of meat and fish dishes including specials. everything piping hot and hot plates.
A choice of cheesecakes, roulades crumble or stick toffee pudding (excellent ) served with a choice of cream, custard or ice cream. Drinks were reasonably priced.
The room and bar was warm and comfortable nice décor and beams. The car park gets very full so make sure you park where you can get out easily

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cariad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carington Arms also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Carington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing