We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service, would highly recommend”
Review of The Carington Arms

The Carington Arms
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A classic country pub with a warm welcome. We offer a traditional bar menu throughout the day, and also a full restaurant menu. Traditional Sunday lunches are available all day Sunday. Beer garden to the side, walkers, dogs, cyclists and motorcycles welcome.
Leicester, East Midlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, would highly recommend”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went for a 3 course meal to this pub/restaurant on a voucher deal. Before we went we had a look at reviews of the place. One was not a good review at all... so pleased we didn't take any notice of that one, as we were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff and we had one of the best pub meals we have ever had.
The food is cooked to order and tastes wonderful. The portions are very generous, we both had to leave some of our main course so we would be able to eat our dessert!! My partner is vegetarian and they made a meal up for her as she didn't like the vegetarian option on the menu. The voucher included a glass of wine each but as I was driving they changed mine for a soft drink with no bother.
We would highly recommend this place, it has nice friendly service, excellent food and is in nice surroundings. All in all it was a great meal and we would go again, even without the voucher deal the prices are not too expensive. Please don't take any notice of negative reviews, we found it to be very good, especially the food which was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My friend and I went here for lunch last week. When we walked in straight the way you could tell it was a very clicky place, they all stared at us, it was quite uncomfortable. The staff behind the bar just carried on staring at us until i asked if they were serving food..not a good first impression.
We just had a couple of the cobs which were delicious and a couple of drinks in the restaurant area which was nice. I wouldn't return to this pub simply because we felt very uncomfortable as though we weren't welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth leaving the main road for”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went here with a Group On voucher. Sometimes this can mean a luke warm reception, but not here. The waitress was friendly and helpful and prepared to alter the terms to suit us (e.g. beer and soft drink instead of wine). This is essentially a one bar village pub with an eating area off leading to a partly closed off dining room. The decor is traditional with some interesting history of the village and its patrons on the walls. We sat at a table in the 'eating area', which was fine on a mid week evening, but if we were to go back at a weekend I would try and book into the dining room as I suspect it could get noisy if the bar filled up. The food was excellent, well cooked and served hot on warm plates (always a good sign I think). I had soup, rack of lamb and apple crumble. My wife had pate, grilled chicken and apple crumble. All excellent. The menu is not extensive, but with enough variety and we were told the fish is delivered fresh daily.
If you're not local you might need a Sat Nav to find Ashby Folville, but if you're passing it's well worth the effort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the Carington arms after buying a groupon voucher for a 3 course meal. The waitress could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The 4 members of our party all enjoyed the food we ordered, the smoked haddock starter was a real treat! Slightly disappointed that there was not much of a choice on the deserts, 3 to choose from, (crumble, roulade and a cheesecake) but they were a very nice finish to the meal. Great pub lunch, with very attentive service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have now eaten at The Carington Arms in Ashby Folville a couple of times for both lunch and dinner, I have to say on both occasions the quality of food was brilliant; everything is home made. It is a lovely unpretentious country pub in a beautiful village. The staff/proprietors were warm and welcoming and the service was excellent. We like pubs that offer restaurant quality food and that’s exactly what we have experienced to date at the Carington. It has a good choice of beers and decent well-priced wine. The food is very good; it is of good quality, excellent value and nicely presented by a pleasant team. Let’s be clear, The Carington Arms is not “The Grill at The Dorchester” or “The Fat Duck” nor does it pretend to be; but for a Leicestershire pub offering a varied menu, excellent value for money and good quality The Carington Arms is well worth a visit. We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goneoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carington Arms also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Carington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing