We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent service”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked four rooms on a DBB basis at Sysonby Knoll for a family birthday celebration. The package was good value, the rooms comfortable (the four-poster Room 2 particularly spacious) and the food very good. What marked the hotel our for us was the excellent service. All the staff were friendly and helpful and dealt with our requests promptly and courteously. It's true that some of the decor is a little tired and the showers lacked power but overall we were more than happy with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and has a view across fields to the river. We enjoyed the views of spectacular su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwillmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    101
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
66
163
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great place, stopped here to go to a friends party in Melton. We stopped in room 5, four poster. Spotless room, spotless place. Very comfy bed.

Breakfast was excellent (I think it was all local produce). Staff too were very friendly and helpful. Nice grounds and early morning winter views. See picture from our room.

Very lovely well kept family run place. Bar, conference/function facilities etc.

Would recommend for business or pleasure.

Put average for fitness center and pool, as didn't use them or not sure if they have them and didn't in any way want to rate anything as poor. Great place.

Room Tip: Room 5 we stopped in was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful family run hotel. From the individually furnished bedrooms, yes each one is different according to it's shape and size, to the cosy bar and lounge areas, not forgetting the restaurant and fabulous food. Our Golden Wedding Anniversary was organised by email ( we now live in Cornwall ) and was a huge success thanks to the help and advice from Jenny. Everyone of the staff seemed to be part of the family - such is the atmosphere. Our short stay was perfect and memorable.
We cannot recommend Sysonby Knoll Hotel too highly. Truly excellent.
Stuart abd Biddy Bishop. Polperro Cornwall

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Jenn y or Vicky
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds Area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I agree, the food is good / better than average, the bar is friendly and the welcoming warm and polite.........however, the rooms are just appalling.

I recently stayed here (having avoided the place for years) and the rooms are just as drab, the showers still trickle and the stench in my room was unbearable. It smelt of raw sewage / open drains. I asked to move but the hotel was full. I cannot begin to tell you how pungent this smell was.

Won't be returning in a hurry

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave2009b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a fantastic hotel, lovely and clean, great food and very friendly staff. The room we stayed in was very spacious and in immaculate condition. The breakfast was excellent and the well stocked bar was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of a weekend break package. Very high standard all round. We were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff who went out of his way to help us with taxi telephone numbers as we were running late for a meal that we had pre booked. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is a real hidden gem.
The staff are friendly and attentive, the furnishings plush and well kept - the whole hotel has a feel of being run with great attention to detail.
We stayed in the four poster room (room 2) and it was fabulous.
Dinner was also very good - quality ingredients cooked simply and marvellous value - I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
940 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
927 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)

Property: Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing