We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed with friends who have a dog every effort was made to make us all welcome. Staff were so helpful set up a room so we could all eat together allowing dog to be with us. The food was excellent and service second to none.

Room Tip: We had room 3 a four poster over looking the garden very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB6658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    102
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
66
164
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As a family we stayed at Sysonby Knoll Hotel when taking our son back to Loughborough Uni. We received a very warm welcome and were grateful for a cup of tea after the long journey. We had Executive rooms that were very spacious with proper arm chairs. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent and very good value. A lovely family hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asfordby
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stopped here a few times for special occasions, and everytime we stay it never changes. The food at the hotel is beautiful, both evening meals and breakfast, the staff are freindly and attentive and if you want or need something its never too much trouble. The rooms and corridors are really clean and depending on the room you are in the views are really nice also. Although saying that I've only ever stopped in room 3 with it's massive antique four poster. Some people when they visit hotels find the need to take toiletries with them some maybe even a towel, if my suitcase was big enough I think I would take the bed. It's so comfy. Anyway I digress, in a nutshell if you are visiting anywhere near the Melton Mowbray area and looking for somewhere nice to stay then look no further, you can't go wrong with the Sysonby Knoll

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsfordbyVillagefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the Sysonby Knoll with my family to celebrate my Aunt's 70th birthday. The hotel is full of country character with lovely grounds. My room was warm and comfortable with a clean bathroom and really fluffy towels!!
Our meal was beautiful and we were looked after attentively by the hotel staff. Breakfast was tasty and there was a nice variety of cereal, fruit and a gorgeous full english. I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends staying in Melton & I would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found the Sysonby Knoll online when looking for a dog friendly hotel in the area for a short break. From our first arrival, we were warmly greeted and throughout our stay, all the staff were very friendly and looked after us and our dog very well. We were able to take her with us to eat our meals in the bar area and this made for a really relaxed stay. We'd booked a superior room which was large and comfortable. It fronted onto the main road and was a little noisy at times but not unduly so. We booked DBB and we were able to take full advantage of the inclusive a la carte rate for dinner in the evenings at no extra cost to the rate quoted. We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: A rear-facing room would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Having passed this hotel a million times, I'd never thought about lunch, coffee and cake or anything else my colleague from Cheshire booked it and I'm so glad he did! Super lunch, friendly staff, interesting history...afternoon tea coming soon! I'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponyandcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here at a special discount rate. The room was small, but adequate with a comfortable bed. The bathroom like the room was small but well equipped with shower/shampoo gel etc. The shower was a bit difficult to get the temperature right. The hotel front onto the road looks nothing special but when you get round to the back of the hotel you can see what a lovely setting it has. The gardens are truly beautiful and there are superb views over rolling countryside. The decor is a bit tired in places such as the corridors. The breakfast was really lovely - cooked to order rather than left on hot plates like most places do these days. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
260 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
944 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)

Property: Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing