We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After a long and tiring journey the taxi finally dropped me at the Sysonby. I was welcomed by a lovely young lady, who after a no-fuss and fast check in brought me to my room (nice, large, comfy, with four-poster bed). She also helped me with my Internet connection, plus served me a drink at the bar, showed me the garden (oh, the garden - it'd deserve a separate review). Next day I saw the lovely young lady at the breakfast again and she also helped me at the check-out. Always smiling and competent. A nice hotel with a very good service. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight here and were very comfortable and well looked after. Had dinner, bed and breakfast deal and were particularly impressed by the standard of the evening meal. especially enjoyed the "trio" of puddings where I was able to have a small portion of 3 of them. Long corridors back to room. A very pleasant bar and dining area with lovely views. Would definitely recommend here if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

One of the best places that you can stay at in Melton Mowbray, if you like the comforts of home, is to go to this hotel The Sysonby Knoll which is situated on the outskirts of the town. Here you will find a medium sized family run establishment having its own pleasant sheltered garden and overlooking some of the green fields of Leicestershire.
The hotel caters for all visitors whether alone, with a family, or a larger party and prides itself in the area for having an excellent and varied menu for both lunch and evening meals prepared and served in a first-rate manner that would satisfy any gourmet diner.
Breakfast is freshly served with a help yourself starter from a good range of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and juices followed by a fresh traditionally cooked breakfast served to your liking.
There is a Sunday lunch clientele, again for either single patrons or with larger parties with a special lunchtime menu listing a number of roast meats and vegetarian dishes being available. Booking is essential as the number of covers is limited
The service of all of the staff is exemplary, being friendly and attentive to your needs at all times and the owners are usually on hand if any problems or advice is needed.
The en-suite rooms, that are exceptionally neat and clean are of a homely type including up to date facilities and wire-fi if required.
I have had the pleasure of sampling all of the facilities on many occasions and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have a pleasant and comfortable experience while visiting Melton or the surrounding area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed here with our Labrador Leo for three nights last month, we must write to say how impressed we were with this beautiful hotel, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated so well and our 5 month old Puppy was so welcomed by all the staff especially Vicky who was fantastic. Our room was clean and very spacious and also cleaned every day and the cleaning lady even left us some clean towels for our dog. The facilities here were great and you could have a bath or shower. The grounds were amazing and there was an area down at the bottom of the massive gardens where our dog could run freely by the lake. We ate in the restaurant on two of the nights and the food was beautifully cooked, all home made and really reasonably priced and the breakfasts were delicious too. We will definitely be staying here again in December as it is a perfect base to stay at to visit my husbands family who live in the area and we also recommend it if you are looking for a very doggy friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyTaylor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a two night stay here on Bank Holiday weekend whilst visiting Melton Mowbray show. It's a very nice, spotlessly clean hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff. Had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant on Friday evening and breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented.
I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, whether on business or for pleasure. Top class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshmanAbergavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Looks are very deceiving with Sysonby Knoll, driving past you may think it resembles a travel lodge (as the front is a extension to the original house) but inside you may be pleasantly surprised. The Reception, Lounge, Bar, Coffee Bar and Restaurant are beautifully decorated, very clean and the grounds are well kempt. The staff are lovely and always went above and beyond, especially Pete, Vicky and Kim. I stayed in a single room and it was beautifully decorated with good quality furnishings and a very good standard of housekeeping! The guest information was clear and thorough and the room had spare blankets, and iron and board, Wifi access and plenty of guest toiletries and towels. The Hotel is a family business and you can see that from the owners (who often dine in the restaurant and are always on hand if you need assistance) to the staff who make your stay more enjoyable. The food was very nice and clearly cooked from scratch (rare to find these days), with a nice selection of dishes. I am very surprised that this has been rated a 3* hotel as it is definitely the best hotel in Melton Mowbray. If you are coming to Melton Mowbray make sure you're booked into Sysonby Knoll!

Room Tip: If you have any issues, be sure to tell the staff so that they can put it right. Avoid rooms on the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarBoy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very pleased with our decision to stay at Sysonby. The food was excellent, the staff was fantastic and the room was marvelous. We had been to Melton before, but not with the need of a room. This place is as great as many say, I would not stay anywhere else when I am in Melton. I will be back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel for rooms, don't use internet travel companies. They will treat you right.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masantirq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.5 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
796 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
265 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
369 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)

Address: Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range: £93 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the attractive market town of Melton Mowbray, famed for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese, Sysonby Knoll occupies its own secluded grounds of 5 acres with river frontage. We are ideally located on a main route into Melton Mowbray - just 1 mile out of the town centre. This Edwardian country house has been owned and run by the same family since 1965 and carries the highest quality rating of any hotel in the town, with a relaxed, family run atmosphere. The downstairs area of the hotel has had a complete refurbishment in early 2013, to include the reception, bar, coffee lounge, meeting room and restaurant. All of our 30 bedrooms are comfortably appointed with all the facilities you would expect at three star level, and the more spacious superior and executive bedrooms offer an even higher level of comfort with larger televisions and higher quality furnishings. Most of the bedrooms overlook the quiet central courtyard area, while two of our four poster bedrooms both command fine views over the gardens and river, with cattle grazing beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sysonby Knoll Melton Mowbray
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western) Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing