We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for holiday”
Review of Quorn Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My stay there with my family for the weekend was very pleasant. The Hotel was located nearby the town center and all amenities. The room was big and spacious and we had a peaceful night sleep. All the facilities were excellent and the service was outstanding. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was prepared fresh and was very tasty, but they could have had more staff during the breakfast time as it was too busy and not many people were there to serve. I would love to come back again for another holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Its a good value for money and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Quorn Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

I bought a groupon a few weeks ago for this hotel and my husband and i went yesterday(Saturday 12th May). We were greeted with a very warm welcome and as it was only £10 extra we upgraded to a superior room. The room was really nice and clean the ensuite was massive. The bed was really comfy and we slept really well.
We had a choice of Indian food or Al a carte. We chose the Indian and it was okay but i did expect better with it being run by Asians. I was also expected more choice, you seem to get alot more on the al a carte menu. The service by the waitress Alison was superb and nothing was too much trouble.
I suppose the only downside was the price of the drinks in their bar especially when we had been on a pub crawl aound Melton it was the dearest we had paid, faie enough you don't expect it too be cheap but about £2. 50 for a can of John Smiths.........If it had of been cheaper we would of probably staid for a few more!!!!
Would like to say tho if another groupon or other offer came up we would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: Ours was room 26 and it was massive especially the en-suite. It was also at the back looking over th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpsmann, Owner at Quorn Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

thank you for your comments.. our indian food is very authentic and totally home cooked .each sauce is totally different unlike what most of us are used to in an indian restuarant. however we will increase the choice . our drinks are at par with other hotels and pubs but not as cheap as weatherspoon . thanks and we will welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I was a little hesitant while booking this hotel due to some feedbacks people were leaving. Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel for 2 days(last week) and i was impressed with the hotel, which was clean and classic with a spacious room(which we stayed in). The service was extremely personal(thought the staff were not too many in number). The breakfast was very tasty with a good selection to choose from and we also had our evening meal in the hotel and was just as delicious as breakfast. Overall this hotel was brilliant and a good value for money. I will definitely recommend this hotel and would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpsmann, Owner at Quorn Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

thanks for your comments. we ask all our customers to book our restuarant well in advance to get a free glass of wine and for us to plan our staff requirement for better service.thanks once again and we will look forward to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent a pleasant Saturday evening at the hotel recently. The upgraded room was good at nominal cost. Although the evening meal was uninspiring the bar was cozy, staff excellent (although hard pushed through a lack of numbers) with a genuine wish to help you enjoy the stay, and the breakfast completed a great day/night in value for money accommodation. The location is good with lots of nearby countryside attractions.

Room Tip: The rear elevation overlooks the car park but is quiet. Room 25 good
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyrugbyhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I agree with "bruynette" that the Quorn Lodge is not the most modern of hotels but is an excellent family run establishment (under going renovations at the time of our visit).

The room we had was quiet large and roomy with views over the rear car park.

We had an excellent indian meal and breakfast takes a bit of beating. A great location for Melton Mowbray and will definately pop in for a meal when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property would be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The evening meal our party was served was a disaster. The toast for the Pate had green mould on it so it must have been many days old. The main course was late, three meals arrived after the rest of us had finished eating. When one of us went to the kitchen to complain he was confronted by the hotel owner and another person holding cubes of meat from one of the missing meals to see if it was hot enough

Room Tip: Do not eat here
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpsmann, Owner at Quorn Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

i agree this was the worst service we havw done which is possibly first time in the last 6 years. we have resolved all the issues and this will not happen again. the customers were given complimentary wine and reduction in the bill. we do pride in our quality of food and service as is evident from the reviews of other guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I booked a large twin room and as a bank hoiliday weekend I rang the hotel to confirm the room was still availible before booking via the internet. We arrived to find the large room was not a twin so asked for another bed in room which was refused. We was shown a very small room covered in dust as undergoing renovation which we refused. Staff very unhelpful. Paid another £10 for two nights & went to 4* professional run hotel.

Room Tip: Stay Away.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bazzSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hpsmann, Owner at Quorn Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

we messed it up. have resolved the issues. will not happen again. did give them free wine and discount on food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.3 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
0.5 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
Rafee Leicester Thrussington
#1 of 1 in Thrussington
51 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
969 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quorn Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quorn Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quorn Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you, when you visit this Old Hunting Lodge situated less than 1 km from the centre of this bustling Market Town. Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire is halfway between Leicester and Nottingham, readily accessible from the motorway network. The Quorn Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is a family owned and run hotel in Melton Mowbray, with an extremely high AA Inspection Rating which is why they have awarded us 3 Stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Quorn Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quorn Hotel Melton Mowbray
Quorn Lodge Hotel Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing