We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating”
Review of Quorn Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Reviewed 20 December 2009

stayed one night, staff freindly and helpful but hotel needs up dating good location, rooms comfortable carpet dirty in our room .would not stay again

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

Back in March 2008 we visited as a couple to visit my birthplace and were lucky to stay in the hotel . We noticed on this visit, 3 days in Nov 09, the decor hasn't changed but is well maintained, very clean and hospitable. The hotel is an old hunting lodge located approximately 5 minutes from the North of the town adjoining a busy road. Car parking is situated to the rear of the property and is well lit and secure. We were upgraded to a large four poster room at the front of the house,and had a complimentary bottle of housewine given to us. No noise was apparent from the road.

We went down to Melton at the start of the week and visited the town cattle and the street market on Tuesday. A chance to see the farmers market at the cattle market, located 5 minutes walk away, with locally produced goods is recommended. Also to get an authentic Pork Pie a visit to Dickinsons& Morris should not be missed. there you can also buy locally produced Hunt cake and delicacies!

At the start of the week we could not find any entertainment, we like live music, this tends to occur in the local pubs over the weekend. However it is noticable that the town isn't short of places to eat or drink from chippies to curry houses We found the locals welcoming and enjoyed a lovely, plentiful meal at the Anne of Cleves restaurent worth the cost, this place is located next to the Parish Church of St Mary's a haven if the shopping gets to much! and holds regular lunchtime concerts also located down Church Lane alongside the church is Caffe Italia an authentic and Italian run cafe which proved busy for the right reasons- excellent real italian coffee and light snacks.

Both Leicester 16 miles and Nottingham 14 miles are a short drive away and we found this useful for the Christmas shopping. Melton has a fair choice but can't compete with the cities on cost or choice.

Back to the hotel we found the breakfasts served at your table ample, the choice was adequate and locally sourced. The evening meals were however a delight and a choice consisted from the A La Carte, Specials or Indian menus. Both liking the Indian menu we sampled a curry and it was tasty made by the Indian chef and reasonably priced. Chatting to fellow guests in the small bar lounge we found that the Sunday lunches were still very popular and that the Christmas Day menu was worth booking up for.

It still appears that business personnel use the hotel during the week and regularly use this hotel as a base whilst tourists and visitors stay at the weekend. Wifi is avaialable free in the lounge although for some reason the bedrooms suffer from sporadic coverage. For a small hotel the extra services were on par with more well known chains of hotel but with an added personal touch. Services included newspapers, laundry services and 24hr room service which we didn't use but we noted that the cost for us would be prohibitive, We had visions of a hard working business man away from home working through the night on a vital report using this service and putting the charge onto the business card!

We have also used the Sysonby Knoll Hotel situated a further two miles out on the same road and not within easy walking distance, especially in the winter rain. Between them both they are the best hotels within a close radius of Melton. However we found what clinched it for us was that the staff 's personal touches and personal welcome.

One point that is worth noting is that if you have mobility problems you could find some difficulty with the stairs and their is no elevator. Hence no 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The lady in charge here is definitely a reason to stay. She was happy, helpful and friendly. Ok, the hotel is not de-luxe but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Some of the hotel is a little out-dated in terms of style but it does have a warm friendly feel. Wi-fi is free which is a bonus. There's a very good choice of menu for evening meals and all served with a smile. Breakfast was ok - not a huge choice on the buffet table but the full English was fine. All in all not a bad place to stay in Melton.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was attending a course in Melton Mowbray. The room was great - I had the four poster room at the front.

I was made very welcome by all the staff always friendly and chatty which was nice as I was with new colleagues and we all did our own thing at times.

The food was fantastic we had Indian the first night which was recommended and it was well worth it. The English luxury pub style food was equally as good, and puddings as well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazarooony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas 2008 when visiting family near Melton. We couldn't have been made more welcome - despite the fact that they were preparing for a large number of people coming next day for Xmas lunch. We weren't expecting to be able to get a meal Xmas Eve but we were offered the full Indian Menu and what a treat it was - the best lamb samosas either or us had ever tasted! The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was excellent both mornings.
We had purposely asked for a ground floor room (there are 3) as the hotel has no lift. That may have meant we were denied the more updated rooms upstairs but we were quite happy with the room we had. It wasn't overly large and could do with more modern decoration but it had everything we needed and was accessible. The hotel has a bar and lounge which provided somewhere to relax and time to study the menu; the lack of draught beers was more than made up for by the excellent choice of bottled beers. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

This was a lovely hotel, our room was of a good size, we had booked a deluxe double room.We had every thing we needed, i.e toiletries, hairdryer, hospitality tray. Plenty of storage space.
The hospitality tray was running short on milk, my husband mentioned this at reception as he passed by, within minutes there was a knock at our door with more milk. This is just a small example of how the staff looked after their guests, they did every thing in their power to give us an enjoyable stay.
They obviously take pride in keeping the hotel to a good standard of cleanliness.
The hotel is just a short walk into the town where their are plenty of places to have a drink or meal(including that Pork Pie).
They have a good size car-park at the back of the hotel, this is well lit.
If we were to go back to this area we would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexGizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.3 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
0.5 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.2 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
1,005 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quorn Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quorn Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Asfordby Road, Melton Mowbray LE13 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quorn Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you, when you visit this Old Hunting Lodge situated less than 1 km from the centre of this bustling Market Town. Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire is halfway between Leicester and Nottingham, readily accessible from the motorway network. The Quorn Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is a family owned and run hotel in Melton Mowbray, with an extremely high AA Inspection Rating which is why they have awarded us 3 Stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Quorn Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quorn Hotel Melton Mowbray
Quorn Lodge Hotel Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing