We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, even for fussy eaters”
Review of Ristorante Bellini

Ristorante Bellini
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, even for fussy eaters”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went Saturday 12th July for first time. I eat fish but not meat and my husband won't eat most vegetables and is actually allergic to peppers and luckily the other couple we were with are not fussy, however, even for us the menu was extensive. I started with moules provincal and was lucky my dress was unscathed at the end so delicious was the sauce, which of course I soaked up with copious amounts of lovely focaccia. Prices are very reasonable, with most starters around £5.00 and the majority of mains under £10. Attentive and truly friendly waiting staff and chef Guitano excelling. Previous history of this chef from cafe italia made us realise we were onto something good :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    35
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprisingly delightful evening”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had heard of the place and was advised we should try it. What a great idea. Bright clean pleasant premises. Friendly staff. Fabulous food. Greek salad starter. Very tasty dressing on a crisp fresh salad with feta cheese. Lovely. Main course of duck tender and tasty again found no fault. Coffee and Spanish pastry for dessert just the job. Small but then I didn't need much. Highly recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaMoore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A major disappointment”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife has been telling we needed to go to this Fab Italian in Melton Mowbray.

It was a gorgeous evening so we decided to go to the next door pub (the cutting room) and sit in the sun for a wee drink.

As we passed the restaurant, she pointed out the takeaway potential for a Pizza, so half a pint later she popped in to order two Pizzas. These were available in 15 mins, and looked impressive in their very, very large boxes. Well worth the almost £20 they cost.

A few minutes later, at home, the disappointment started. The flat Pizza, filled about 1/4 the box, and both that and the Calzone were clearly under baked, with virtually no colour.

Tasting the pair, was even more disappointing - no herbs, tasteless sauce, and a very overworked (chewey) base.

This was, without a doubt, the worst pizzas we have ever tasted - being Scottish this includes the Deep Fried Pizzas of the seventies....

So I am afraid that this rates as one of the few places we positively discriminate against.

It is very difficult that the sit down experience would be better - no matter how good the ambience, the food has to be edible and slightly better than a supermarket sandwich!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A gem to have Melton”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited Bellinis last night for my birthday and what a lovely evening we had. The food was delicious and the staff were very efficient and friendly. We tried the cocktails which started the evening off a treat. The portion sizes are very generous (even enough to take some home) and all the ingredients taste fresh.
I would definitely recommend you try this restaurant and it's a welcome addition to Melton.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad but could use a bit more finesse”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Dinner last night was my second visit but hubby's first to Bellini's. First off I'm going to say this review is really a 3.5 and there is nothing wrong with the food however it just lacked a bit of care and finesse. To be specific; olives and bread are a nice touch but the olives are not great and don't enhance the meal, better olives would. My calamari were fine but the portion was tiny in comparison to hubby's sharing plate which was only £1 more and had more expensive components. The seafood risotto was nice but needed to be creamier in the starchiness and there were no king prawns in there, only shell on cold water prawns. The monkfish was good and as expected but it needed the sauce. The side salad was fine but could have benefitted from some more interesting leaves or other veg. Bearing in mind the restaurant wasn't overly busy it was a little disappointing, especially on the back of a really nice meal at Christmas when the restaurant was really busy. We did have a really nice bottle of wine and the staff are very nice (although personally calling us 'guys' all the time gets really grating). So a nice meal but with a little more attention to detail it could have been a really good meal and closer in quality to its main competition La Torre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PandZ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Bellini also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
 

Been to Ristorante Bellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing