We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars all the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scalford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scalford Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
matlock
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“5 stars all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay I must say I can usually find a quibble to moan about but at scalford hall I cound not. All the staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was very clean and all you required " tv,tea/coffee,safe,hairdryer,radio everything except an iron the shower room was a little on the small side but clean and worked well. " the grounds were impeccable with a 9 hole putting green and a large garden chess game.The potholes that someone moaned about were nominal and not even worth mentioning because its up a long driveway. The 3 course evening meal was cooked and presented to a high standard and served professionally by the waitress although £30 each was pricey it came with our deal . the breakfasts was self served buffet with a choice of cereals,fruits,yoghurts,and a selection of full English breakfast items,tea ,coffee etc the food was kept in warmers so first come first served and was available upto 10am
A large selection of daily papers were available and the bar prices were the same as pubs with a good selection . the toilets were exceptionally clean with quality hand creams etc.
The car park was large and easily accessible and free.
All in all its a quality hotel run professionally with high standards and a little bit of history shame it didnt have a swimming pool.

review by Mr Hunt from Matlock

Room Tip: we were in room 78 in the new block over looking the gardens.picturesque and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    220
    151
    80
    85
See reviews for
107
370
7
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked a 2 night break through KGB Deals, never visited Leicestershire before. Offer was for 2 nights B&B plus dinner & bottle of wine on first night. Dinner alone made the deal excellent value for money. We actually questioned the menu when we saw the meal price & thought we were in wrong restaurant. The food was excellent & the service from the young lady looking after the "leisure" guests at dinner in the evening was exemplary (sorry, we didn't get your name, dark hair, glasses only worked at hotel a couple of weeks). Joyce, who looked after us at breakfast, gave us a quick brief history of the hall & the surrounding area.
The hotel was very clean, its an old hall so dont book a break expecting modern decor & fixtures & fittings. Our room was comfortable, clean & we had no issues with it.
The staff were very polite & nothing was too much trouble for them, the receptionist who checked us in even showed us to our room which was on 3rd floor (never ever stayed in a hotel where I've been shown to my room).
We had a day out in Nottingham, lots of shopping & history to keep you busy for the day. If you drive in, use the Park & Ride service, beats hunting for a car park & getting lost in unknown city 1 way systems.
Melton Mowbray is a nice town, surprisingly lots of shops. We had a meal in the Kettleby Cross (Wetherspoons) which was a let down. Nice pub though.
Spent an afternoon at Rutland Water bird watching. Yes it rained, but that's the English summer for you. But it was peaceful & we enjoyed ourselves.
There are a few other reviews we read on Scalford Hall where the reviewer was niggled over "cheap beans", "pot holes in driveway" (drive around them) or "bird noise" disturbing them. Frankly, this hotel is a great find & we would highly recommend it to anyone, unless you are bothered by standard of beans, quality of tarmac or mother natures early morning chorus.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A beautiful setting in a large country retreat, if your looking for a relaxing atmosphere and fine food with excellent service then try scalford hall, I surprised my husband for his 50th birthday with a short stay and he loved it.
There was a music festival in a field not far away and this did annoy during the night has you could hear the music until 6.30am however the hotel staff did their utmost to get the disturbance stopped, the police didn't seem to take this as a priority, the staff were very considerate and apologised for this, which in all due respect was not in their control.
Service, food and rooms where a joy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Had an excellent KGB deal at Scalford Hall, and well worth via this offer.

Quiet location, not far outside Melton Mowbray. Scalford about 2 miles.

Experience generally very good, and would recommend, however to get the minor niggles out of the way :- driveway in need of pot holes filling, bar & TV lounge had no atmosphere - although we at least had sole use of TV - which was good as the one in our room constantly buffered/blacked. Bar prices seemed quite fair. Ordered newspapers upon our arrival, which only arrived on 1 of the 2 days. Room initially like a sauna (not an exaggeration). Seems radiator control knob not working so on full all the time, until we got duty manager to switch off boiler altogether. Luckily I think we were the only ones in the 6 roomed coach house. The above were all easily remedied and would make a far more positive impression.

Positives: First impression of house/grounds are of an old character building, with new add-ons to expand room availability. Staff work very hard and the same faces seemed to be around all the time. Particular note is Andre and Branca who work very hard and always appeared helpful, efficient and courteous. Our room in the coach house was very quiet (as requested) and beds very comfy, sufficient storage for short stay, and room had a safe. We had no problem with water pressure or temperature, as some previous guests have experienced. Food was excellent as was the wine which came as part of the deal - both the evening meal and breakfasts could not be faulted. Order your eggs from staff to be freshly prepared, although start your toast immediately as 4 slice toaster quite slow, and could be a problem if room busy. Standard rate for evening meal was apparently £29.95.

Further field: Melton Mowbray ok for a browse, but more interesting perhaps on Tuesdays when it is market day - be aware there are 2 parking fees in local car parks which we did not initially twig - double the cost on Tuesdays. Lady at Scalford suggested parking at the Cattle Market which she advised was £3.50 for all day - others are by the hour. Rutland Water has some lovely walks around its shores - sadly it poured down on us, but even so it was pleasant. Stamford just past Rutland was a nice town to spend an hour also. Try calling at the pubs in Waltham on the Wolds, not too far from Scalford Hall 4 miles ish. We had a lovely meal at the one with the thatch roof.

Room Tip: We were lucky and avoided one of the corporate events the hall facilitate. As such everywhere nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travisgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

First of all,a big Thank you for the brilliant duty manager andre,Who did everything to see us happy all the time.he's very professional and polite..he made my day.we Had a Great dinner in a kgb deal,staff was very friendly and quick...Nice service!the food was amazing.outside scalford hall is so beautiful..we really enjoy it and we will come back in the future...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have recently returned from a relaxing two night stay at Scalford Hall.The hotel is in a wonderfully scenic setting.Our room was comfortable,clean and spacious.We dined in the evening and enjoyed a three course meal at the hotel, superbly cooked and presented.The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice for all tastes.The staff are all so helpful and friendly and try hard to ensure that you have a perfect stay, under the guidance of their manager,Mr.Dixon,whose main priority is to ensure that his guests are happy and well catered for.I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful setting.We are already looking foward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoloNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our second stay and we found that service and quality had again improved. The hotel itself is charming and quaint without being twee. The location is stunning and the grounds and hotel itself lend themselves to an air of relaxation and tranquility. Our room was spacious and comfortable as well as being spotlessly clean. The bed was first class. The food is both well prepared and presented by courteous and attentive staff and my compliments to the chef!!. Overall what really makes the difference at Scalford Hall is the "can-do" attitude of all the staff under the expert guidance of the manager,Mr Bill Dixon. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and know that in the immortal words of the governor of California .. "I'll be back !!"

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalford Hall Hotel

Property: Scalford Hall Hotel
Address: Scalford Road, Melton Mowbray LE14 4UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scalford Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scalford Hall cater for weddings and have a range of set packages along with the option to create a tailor made package just for you. We also hold a civil ceremony and civil partnership licence, enabling you to hold both your ceremony and reception here at Scalford Hall Hotel. Here at Scalford Hall Hotel we also have our very own Gym and Games Room, which is free of charge exclusively for residents. Scalford Hall Hotel has 80 bedrooms, 9 meeting rooms, 10 syndicate rooms and large event room catering for up to 500 guests. In addition there are 2 private dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Scalford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalford Hall Hotel Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Scalford Hall Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing