We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable - good value for money. Free Wi-Fi”
Review of Harboro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harboro Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable - good value for money. Free Wi-Fi”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Melton has a limited amount of hotels and I was looking for somewhere where I could host a meeting for a couple of hours in the evening. When I phoned the staff were very helpful and arranged a free meeting area for me on the basis that we were going to stay there.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and efficient - the meeting area was sorted out for me without having to ask and me and a colleague were checked in quickly and easily.

You can park right outside the hotel for an hour but the hotel has it's own big carpark located at the rear.

My room was warm and comfortable - a little noise from the main road but not enough to bother me. The bed was comfortable, good TV and a clean, basic bathroom. Had a nice hot shower in the morning, so no problems there.

The breakfast in the morning was good - had a traditional fry-up with coffee and orange juice.

In the evening I spoke to the owners and they mentioned some of the poorer reviews they have got.

Basically, yes this is a bar/hotel but at £50-60 for a night I thought it was good value. It's not necessarily a romantic break place (and you'd probably expect that at the price) but we were well looked after and had a good laugh talking to the staff.

The main bar in the hotel had a good selection - it had some lovely real ales and we tried a couple - top marks. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked like it had a good home cooked selection.

I stayed over on a Thursday night and there is a farmers market in the old Cattle Market on a Friday morning. The market had a really good range of meats and vegetables and the chance to stock-up on the town's famous Pork Pies and Stilton.

I would stay at the hotel again, based on the price, welcome and generally comfortable room. The free Wi-Fi beats a lot of the chain hotels.

Thanks guys for making us so welcome!

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anglopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    76
    39
    30
    25
See reviews for
61
84
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Well, just call me "Mr Stupid", Why oh why didnt I checkout the Harboro Hotel on Tripadvisor before booking.
On checking their website it all looked and sounded fine. The first glaring misnomer is that is that it should be called The Harboro Pub... Hotel is certainly stretching a point..Cast your mind back to the 1950s and you are tempramentally set. We arrived after sorting out where to park and walked through the main back door entrance. All conversation in the pub stopped and eyes swivelled around. Nice. The gound floor was was a large pub with various areas for eating and with a room set aside for Tribute nights. Yes our luck was in for tonights tribute was Tom Jones. The reception desk was a cubby hole with a sliding glass partition that Im sure could be shut in an instant to protect staff from fists,spit and bullets. The "receptionist" / bar tender was a young smiley girl who checked us in and handed us the key to our room, number 102. "theres two keys, love, one for your room and the other for the back door (entrance through car park) 'cause if you come in after 11.00 pm the fronts locked and alarmed, (dont want to set that off)
Well we carried our luggage up to the first floor and after several minutes we were able to unlock the door with the shiny loose door handle. The room was a throwback to "Billy Liar"!... embossed wallpaper, dirty cream, dirty both in colour and in surface grime, wardrobes that no doubt conformed to the sales pitch that "they'll last 50 years" probably bought 60 years ago. But what really summed it all up for me was in the toilet. The toilet holder was broken so no toilet roll could be placed there. However... on the top of the toilet cistern were not one, but two toilet rolls each of which had between 5 and 10 sheets of toilet paper on them.
Well after a meal and some fresh air in the town we returned for some sleep. Yes youve guessed it our room was right above the Tom Jones Tribute performance. So for an hour or so the thumping beat of "Its Not Unusual" thumped through my head. Finally, finally there was quiet.... of a sort, we became aware of the traffic as our room faced the main road, but anything was better than the throbbing beat of the Tom Jones immitator.
Next morning.as we handed in our key, £70 the poorer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofolklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melton Mowbray hotels

Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The hotel was completely run down. It needs a complete refurbishment as it looks like it hasn't seen any paint in 30 years. The Reception Area was bad enough but the Dining Room was unbelievable. The Specials Board gave it away: Chicken Burger or Vegatarian Lasagne - wonderful!! I only had breakfast but when I saw it I was nearly sick. It was self-service. The hot plate was swimming in about half an inch of fat and the fried eggs just floated on top. It was absolutely filthy. It reminded me of Gordon Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares. If they allow the public to see that hot plate then what is the kitchen like?

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Already booked by other half before I saw the other reviews here.

We arrived at 7 ish in the evening. From the outside the hotel looks nice enough, but walking past the windows to a large dining room with only 2 people in was the first sign of how far past its best this hotel is.

The pub area that you first walk into is nice enough, but this impression goes downhill when you get to the hatch that serves as reception to the hotel. We waited for a little while the 2 staff members complained to eachother about the demands of the previous guest to check in. Having said that they were friendly enough.

The hotel upstairs and rooms are past their best, the old fashioned central radio/light control showing that it was probably quite smart in the 70s and the decor suggesting it had been refurbed on the cheap in the 80s.

Having said that, our room was clean enough although v basic and fairly worn.

We had to leave very early in the morning so were surprised when we woke up and none of the lights worked and had to get dressed in the dark.

Not really worth the money and a shame that more seems to have been spent on it as a pub than as a hotel - possibly a sign of the times and how popular Melton Mowbray is as a place to stay.

Shame as someone with the money to spend on updating it would be able to turn this into a very nice hotel.

  • Liked — the building & facade
  • Disliked — how very dated (decor & service) the whole place is
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 2and2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We selected this hotel for the convenient central location, but it was not worth it. The staff wasn't very accommodating at check-in nor during our stay. We reserved a quiet room away from the street, but when we arrived none was available. When I reported that all of the lights in the bathroom were burned out, they became annoyed with me. Our room was dirty, and the toilet would not flush. The whole place is run-down and tatty. We suffered through two nights, but never again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, poor maintenance.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxWilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

For £55 a night (double bed/breakfast) we weren't expecting the Ritz . But we were expecting somewhere clean & functional - and surely a friendly welcome doesn't cost much? How wrong could we be.

The 'hotel' is a pub with rooms - a dingy, dark, souless pub at that. The decor is horribly old, run down, tatty - and the whole place smelt fusty and dank. The room, while a decent size, was dark & we immediately decided we woudn't bother using the bathroom which was out of the dark ages.

After an immediate reaction of 'let's find another hotel' we decided to stick it out -begrudgingly - mainly because there was no availability anywhere else.

When we returned to the hotel in the evening to change for dinner, the grimness of the room was too much to bear and we asked to see other rooms. One alternative I was shown had no working lights, so that was clearly not viable. However we were finally shown a slightly cleaner room which we moved into without too much trouble.

We knew the Harboro wasn't going to be luxurious. But I do expect somewhere clean and friendly - whether I'm spending £55 a night or £155 a night. The service was surly, bordering on rude, and the whole place needs a facelift - or failing that a very good scrub.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Poodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melton Mowbray
0.8 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
2.7 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
11.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
869 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#19 of 40 in Leicester
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harboro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harboro Hotel

Property: Harboro Hotel
Address: 49 Burton Street, Melton Mowbray LE13 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melton Mowbray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harboro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Harboro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harboro Hotel Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing