We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful accommodation in lovely rural setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
The holiday cottage with its own private garden and parking area Living area with woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Living/dining area. Light and airy. Wood burner for extra cosy evenings
The holiday cottage with its own private garden and parking area
Living area with woodburning stove
Single beds or super king bed. You choose!
Stunning bathroom with roll top bath
King size bed with 3000 sprung pocket mattress
Walk in shower room with large shower tray and luxury toiletries
private outside patio area for the cottage
Our hens ready to lay fresh eggs for breakfast!
Walks straight from the cottage. View from the end of our track
welcome to the Vale of Belvoir
the village pub
Lovely Langar village
Roll-top claw-foot bath
Vintage laundry artwork
The cottage looking lovely in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YodaTrave...
highlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful accommodation in lovely rural setting”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is small but extremely well thought out and the amenities rival those of a five star hotel - robes and slippers and a generous welcome pack were delightful extras. Ruth, the owner, has gone to a great deal of trouble to ensure that the cottage includes everything you could possibly need - from hairdryer to dvds to garden chairs to luxury bathroom toiletries to dishwasher, washing machine, fresh flowers - the list is endless. She even offered to give us a lift to the pub in the evening! I am a very picky guest but could not fault anything in this rental and would recommend highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaG28
Long Bennington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect pre & post wedding stay!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ruth from Langar Near The Hall couldn't have done more to make our stay at the gorgeous little cottage perfect. My mum, Best Woman, Flower Girl & I stayed at the cottage the night before my wedding and from the lovely white ribbon on the door to the chocolate cake and wedding card addressed to us both, so much effort had been put into making the stay as special as possible. We got married at nearby Langar Hall and the property is perfectly situated. Ideal for a small wedding party to chill and relax the night / morning before, we couldn't have wished for a better place. Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and with everything you could need for a short stay, we all loved it.

My new husband and I returned to the cottage on the night of the wedding and Ruth had changed the sheets, tidied and left chocolates, love hearts and written 'Congratulations!' on the chalkboard. So thoughtful! We had a really lovely stay and I couldn't recommend it more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: When we first arrived, the cottage looked so lovely in the sunshine. The pictures don't do it justice!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maighread...
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Absolutely Faboulous !”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As a family we travel a lot and Langar Near The Hall was a great discovery; a hidden treasure.
On arrival, we had the most welcome surprise; a well thought out Welcome Pack, one of the best we've encountered in 20+ previous rentals and most importantly a clean, fresh and homely place.
'Langar near The Hall was close enough to several shops, days out, horse riding, local walks, eating out, entertaining our 6 yr old plus lots more; collecting eggs from the chickens was a memorable experience for my Mum & daughter :-) thank you Nicky !
The garden was a joy, sitting out in the sun and just relaxing with a glass was just perfect !
Thank you for caring about your guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden on a sunny day.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you SO much for your high praise. We are really glad all the family enjoyed their stay and impressed at how much you packed in to the week. We've also passed on your thanks to our lovely hen-sitter, Nicola, who was pleased to be of assistance during your week. If you are back in the area in your future visits to the UK please do look us up again as you would be very welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiran G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I met up with my uni friends here as it's a good middle point from all of us, and needless to say we've now dubbed this as our meet-up place from now on! It's beautifully decorated with a contemporary feel and just feels like 'home'. Ruth was a fabulous host and she'd thought of every little detail a group of girls could possibly need for a relaxing weekend away! It's a lovely little hideaway from our uni town of Nottingham where we can visit for nostalgic reasons, but then retreat back to the lovliness this cottage offers - we can't wait to book it again and the photos don't do this place any justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamk65
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top quality rental experience”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Langar Near The Hall has all the facilities you'll need for a very comfortable stay, including extra touches you'd expect to find in 4* and 5* hotels. It serves as a good base for touring Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire by car. We were a party of 2 adults and had more than enough room and think 4 adults would be equally comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, wet room and cake on arrival
Liked least: Slow wi-fi - unfortunately a generic problem with UK rural broadband
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drurob
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL GET AWAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This lovely cottage has so much to offer. A nice quiet spot that was still close to a town (approx. 5 miles to Bingham). We drove to Nottingham each day to visit a family member in the hospital, it was an easy drive from this location. The cottage is well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine and all the pots, pans and dished needed. The owners have thought of everything to make you feel comfortable and at home.

The beds are very comfortable, the baths are lovely and modern. There is central heating as well as a lovely wood burning stove that we used each day. The owner also included ample firewood.

I can honestly say that had we not had plans to turn the Southern Cornwall area, we would have been tempted to stay an extra week.
The lovely hospitality basket included milk, coffee, fresh eggs from their farm as well as other goodies. To top it off, the owner even baked us a delicious homemade cake that we enjoyed so much, in fact I may write her for the recipe.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place for a weekend, a week or a month. It will always be a wonderful memory of our trip to England from the States.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent condition of the property and the fact that it was all on one level.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Wow, we are so touched by your comments and really delighted that your time at the cottage worked well for you and provided the easy journey to and from the hospital that you hadn't originally intended to have to fit in. If you are back in this part of the UK again we'd love to welcome you here again. Many thanks too for the compliments on the Sicilian orange cake :-). Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The accomadation was excellent as were the facilities of the house. The children loved the place as did we. We had a very relaxing stay and would highly recommend it. The log burner was lovely in the evening and was very easy to get going. Our to young girls didn't want to leave!!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback and review here on Trip Advisor; we really do appreciate it. So pleased you found the accommodation standards to be excellent and that the children enjoyed their time too. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing