We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilworth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outdoor theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

On Sunday we went to Kilworth House Hotel for a meal before seeing South Pacific in the outdoor theatre. The whole experience was fantastic. Everything was exceptionally well organised from the serving of the meal in the fabulous Orangery , or picnicking in the park before moving on to the theatre. The show was superb only surpassed by the setting and acoustics. Definitely one for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    172
    71
    46
    25
See reviews for
150
370
3
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
east midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a Jewel in the Crown of Hotels in Leicestershire. Beautifully kept grounds, marvelous views, grade one service at reasonable prices, tea in the orangery is a must, on a par with the Savoy and the Ritz in London. Weddings are catered for at competitive rates and the staff are friendly, very efficient and make a visitor feel relaxed. Don't forget, this hotel has its own theatre in the hotel grounds, where there are a variety of different productions, musicals, opera, variety shows and comedy, originally built in the 19th century for an industrialist it has an interesting past. its a ten for me !

Room Tip: check on the net rooms with a southern view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Saw South Pacific Sunday night. Fantastic production, thoroughly enjoyable theatre in a most wonderful setting. Unique experience. Even supply you with blankets should you get cold. Theatre has a giant cover over it so rain doesn't stop play. As good a show and venue as you would find in London's west end. We stayed at the attached Hotel, Kilworth house, beautiful stunning decor, great staff and service, so clean, great food, stunning scenery and location. Faultless, A real get away from it all experience. Attention to the smallest detail make this hotel that little bit special. We stayed in the Bronte suite, was wonderful. Dinner and breakfast in the orangery is a must, beautiful and a wonderful ambiance. Tea on the terrace in the sunshine overlooking the beautiful Leicestershire countryside. Can't believe we hadn't heard of this hotel and theatre before. English theatres best kept secret! Will we return? Yup already planning our next trip. Oh and by the way, they even have a bed that Nelson once slept in.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
379 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Did not stay in hotel but had a meal in the Orangery as part of a visit to the outdoor theatre venue. The parts of the hotel which we saw were kept in very good order. All staff were helpful and efficient. The meal was based on a good and varied choice of set menu. Every dish that we saw was from quality ingredients and especially well presented. Drinks seemed unnecessarily pricey but that seems to be the norm in large hotels. However the whole experience was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delighted_Client2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here before seeing the outdoor theatre which is always wonderful. However they must really get their act together when it comes to service here. We ordered wine which came halfway through the main course. Really not good enough for such an establishment. They have the most spectacular setting but definitely need to improve.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent a wonderful night with dinner and then off to the theatre to see South Pacific. We were treated royally as we were with a large party to drinks from 16:30 to 17:30 and then invited in to the Stage Post for dinner. After dinner we moved to the theatre to watch the show. I can honestly say it was a very polished performance and kept us entertained for over 2 hours.The singing and dancing were so good I thought I was at a West End production. Even with the rain at times everyone enjoyed the show from the beginning till the end.
At the end of the evening we were whisked in a buggy back to the hotel which was delightful. The rooms were very spacious, very quiet, spotless and beautifully decorated. In the morning we had an excellent breakfast in the Orangery with plenty of choice on the menu. A great night was had by all and many thanks to the organisers.

Room Tip: King size, Estate room with view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a table for four for my wife's birthday to celebrate with some friends. Having not been here for a couple of years but enjoyed our previous visits I was looking forward to it.
The service has definitely deteriorated. The waitress hit me on the back of the head with the bread trya ehile serving an adjacent table. She did not even acknowldge she had done this. We ordered a bottle of water which we had ta ask for a second time after finishing our starters. My wife likes her food and she sais she had never seen a menu written as a list of ingredients which is what it appeared to be. Throughout the meal we were cold. I asked for the air consitioning to be turned off as although it had been a warm day the air con had clearly done its job but a sthe outside temperature cooled so did we. I was told that only the maintenance staff could change the air con as it was controlle dfrom a separate part of the building (we were in the orangery) and the maintenance staff were not working in the evening. When the main courses arrived they were small portions. The waiter had failed to ask when we ordered if we wanted side order as the mains do not all come with potatoes or vegebales The waiting staff were innattentive and when it came to paying the bill I had to go and find a member of staff. We couldn't wait to get out of there as it was so chilly and draughty. The ladies were very uncomfortable as they had dressed for the warm day that it was. (20deg C outside at 10.00pm when we left). The louging area in the orangery has been removed which suggests a fresh approach to turnover and profit not necssarily in the customer's favour.The food was, for the most part, well cooked and well presented. fours soft drinks (we all have to work today) Four starters four mains and 2 desserts and coffee came to £165. The £22.00 each for a rib eye steak and chips was for me a reasonable price until I saw the steak. I have had better steaks at much lesser restaurants. At east the chips were excellent, even if ther were only eight of them. A disappointing evening for the four of us and I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyre_tread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kilworth
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
10.3 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
16.7 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilworth House Hotel

Property: Kilworth House Hotel
Address: Lutterworth Road | North Kilworth, North Kilworth LE17 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > North Kilworth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilworth House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Four Red Star Country House Hotel set in 38 acres of rural Leicestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from J20 M1. A grade II listed house with two unique features- the stunning award winning Theatre set in a wooded glade beside the lake and the Hotel's ornate Victorian Orangery overlooking the parkland. Guests are invited to enjoy the opportunity to enjoy the delightful details of the fine period rooms together with the modern comforts and amenities. At the end of the tree lined approach you are welcomed by the graceful surroundings. It's natural timeless elegance draws in a broad range of business and leisure guests who come for the modern conference facilities, beauty treatment rooms, and fitness room:for the forty four charming bedrooms , private dining rooms and imaginative menus. Attentive staff, country walks and individuality make Kilworth House feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilworth Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing