We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Star Inn 1744
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Hunting Lodge(Loughborough)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester(Leicester)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rothley Court(Rothley)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Grange Hotel(Loughborough)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Country Hotel(Loughborough)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Lodge Hotel(Melton Mowbray)
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harboro Hotel(Melton Mowbray)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
94
59
18
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
59
18
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreen roomintimate settingleicestershire villagean enjoyable eveninglovely villageraspberry sorbetpork bellybacon sandwicholde worldefull englishcontinental breakfastquick drinkroom was lovely and cleansteak nightwork colleaguesrisotto
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed overnight at the beginning of September - well appointed room with comfortable bed and free toiletries. All the staff were very friendlly and efficient, and our evening meal was very tasty and well presented at a reasonable price. Wine was also good value for money. Despite sleeping in a room right over the bar/restaurant, there was no noise whatsoever. Continental breakfast was included in the price - excellent chocolate croissants! Would recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0des10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hi D0des10,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Star

So pleased you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and hospitality.

We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I visited this pub with my boyfriend and we had an enjoyable evening!!

This place is decorated nicely and is clean- it has a bit of class.

The food was good- not the best I have ever had in local pub/restaurants but still tasty and enjoyable.

If you like visiting different pubs to sample the drinks or enjoy a meal, I would recommend putting this one on to your list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkdunn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi Pinkdunn,

Thanks for taking the time to review us here at The Star and for the recommendation to others!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked all the rooms at the Star Inn for the weekend of my wedding during June 2013. We had viewed a number of options in the area - The Star had the perfect mix of modern, comfortable hotel accommodation, great restaurant and country pub hospitality. The Star became the 'The Groom's headquarters' and catered for the key members of the wedding party. If you are looking for a weekend away in Leicestershire, The Star is a great base and at least one night's dining in the restaurant is a must. Our particular thanks to Siobhan who went out of her way to make our stay at the Star (and my wedding!) truly memorable. Ben

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Ben,

Thank you so much for your great review!

We're so happy that we could help make your wedding weekend so special.
I have passed on your compliments to Siobhan

We hope to see you again in The Star very soon

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

An amazing place to stay if you're in the neighbourhood. Staff are wonderful and very accommodating and the local fare is delicious. Make sure you pop in around 5-6pm and have a quick drink before dinner. Wonderful and warm. Highly recommend an eat & stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your lovely review!
So pleased you enjoyed yourself

We hope to see you again if/when you're back in the UK!

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Star Inn over a wonderful June weekend whilst attending friend's wedding. We arrived late on the Friday where we enjoyed a very good dinner with other members of our party. We had a friendly welcome. The day of the wedding the staff at the Star were all very helpful and obliging to the wedding party's and our needs. The fact we could arrange the Star's own taxi to collect us after the wedding reception was very comforting. We would definitely stay at the Star again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStarInn_1744, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Pippa,

Thank you for taking time out to review your stay at The Star.
So pleased you and your party enjoyed the food and took advantage of the taxi!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards,
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews