We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions, warm welcome”
Review of Royal Horse Shoes

Royal Horse Shoes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waltham on the Wolds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Horse Shoes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I lunched there yesterday. Smily welcome from the landlady who made time to chat with all the diners in the bar area as she served - very warm personality. We ordered one starter - chicken liver pate - which came with two sets of plates and cutlery as I think the lady recognised that it would be too much for one person. It was delicious, pate, toast, sauce, all of it. The main courses followed after a decent interval (obviously all cooked fresh to order) and were equally huge, fish and chips for one and lasagne the other. Good quality, straightforward food served in a friendly, comfortable, unpretentious English country pub - just what we were seeking.

The bill was less than the food and service merited - my wife would have us eating here every night if it was closer to our home.

Main tip to customer - arrive hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed here on business this week and am kicking myself that I have not discovered it before now. Rooms are small but comfortabl, and very nicely done out. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and food excellent. Will definitely stay here in future over local hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangadoocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed here a few times as our Head Office is just down the road. Clean rooms, great showers, terrific hospitality and the food is absolutely brilliant. Top Notch. I have been made to feel very welcome here

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Dave2009b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Royal Horseshoes in Waltham On The Wolds is somewhat of a hidden gem. I stay here on a regular basis and could not fault it. The rooms in the annex bulding are always clean and warm, the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant area is relaxed and welcoming and the food is absolutely fantastic- well priced, big portions but most importantly top quality and delicious! Mick and co. are extremely hospitable. The best B+B in the area for sure!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Royal Horseshoes was amazing, quaint, great food and fantastic owners. Can't recommend it enough. The owners make you feel so welcome. Was there for a business trip, but would go back on vacation in a minute.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We rented a property in the locality for a family reunion and on the last night we were very fortunate to select this country pub for an evening meal. On entering the pub you were immediately welcomed by the landlord a practice sadly lacking in some establishments these days.
We had not booked but tables were set up to accommodate our needs and the children were given crayons and colouring sheets to keep them amused.
The menu was well thought out and provided a good varied choice of fare and the wine list was excellent both in the scope of wines listed and their price. The quality of the food was excellent and the use of locally sourced ingredients commended. You will not leave disappointed as the portion sizes were more than adequate and the service was prompt, friendly and efficient.Best of all the total cost very reasonable. We shall certainly visit again when in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a warm and welcoming country pub with very friendly staff and whole host of local characters to entertain you. Michael and Jackie are fastastic hosts they made our stay very enjoyable indeed. The breakfast was top notch - the jumbo sandwich was the highlight for my friend. The rooms are well furnished with some nice modern touches; they are not huge but fine for one or two people. All in all, I would whole heartedly recommend RHS to anyone - a real gem!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal Horse Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horse Shoes

Address: Melton Road, Waltham on the Wolds, Melton Mowbray LE14 4AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray > Waltham on the Wolds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waltham on the Wolds
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Royal Horse Shoes Hotel Waltham On The Wolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing