We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windmill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange & Links(Sutton-on-Sea)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Skegness)
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarendon Lodge(Skegness)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Skegness)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
22
10
9
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
10
9
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian foodfriendly gentlemanwould definitely stay here againany sortlast minute bookingstayed one nighttea and coffeecouldn't do enough11pmdog
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 61 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My friend and I stayed for one Saturday night to be close to the race track at Caldwell. We payed £70 inc cooked breakfast for a twin room, whilst his brother and his wife and their three year old and teenager stayed in a family room.
Perhaps a hotel suited to the older crowd,since it's certainly not modern and there;s not much to do for the young ones, however we were pleased with the room size and have never seen so much tea, coffee and MILK in our lives!! Excellent! Nothing more frustrating than having a revoltingly strong coffee first thing in the a.m.
Best bits: welcoming receptionist, extra milk, pretty location, good breakfast, being able to book a really early breakfast.
Not so good: Weak shower pressure, no extra pillows, pictures on website make it look awful!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownSj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Having stayed at the Windmill Previously we decided to go again, BIG MISTAKE!

Upon arrival we found the staff rude and unhelpful. The room was dirty and shabby and looked like it hadnt been cleaned for a month. There was no coffee or teaspoons, and they bed was unkempt.

Breakfast was even worse with horrible bread sausages and salty Bacon.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Angel-star-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfordChelseaBob, Owner at The Windmill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2008

Read the review and was a bit disappointed about the comments...then got to the part about the SAUSAGES! We have a bit of a phobia about the way sausages are made and as a consequence do not have them!! Are you sure you have the right hotel???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We have just returned from spending one night at The Windmill and will probably never book a room here again. Previously we have stayed here twice before and never had any complaints but the owners have changed about six months ago and although I take my hat off to them for their ingenuity for making more money from the establishment I do feel they are compromising on their overnight guests comfort and appreciation.

We arrived only to find that they couldn’t find our booking. Eventually they managed to find it. We noticed a flyer on the reception desk for a live band which was due to play at the hotel that night. It was understood that the band wouldn’t be playing very late so would not disturb the guests. On arrival in the room on the second floor we were slightly taken aback by the overall condition of it. The window frames were in a very dirty condition. There were flies squashed on the walls in the bedroom (5) and the bathroom (7). The bathroom had a very fusty smell to it and wasn’t very clean either. One bedside table and one side light, centrally positioned over the bed. We didn’t complain at the time because we had got the impression on checking in that the hotel was full.

We returned later to the hotel at 11.50pm. The place was jumping with the band playing in the bar and a private party in the restaurant with a DJ. The band stopped playing at midnight but the DJ didn’t stop til 1am. The vibrations from the base made something rattle in our room. We eventually dropped off at about 1.15am. We understand from other guests whose room faced onto the front of the hotel that they were then kept awake by the leaving teenagers arguing for about an hour outside the hotel.

Breakfast was reasonable. Not sure what happened to the sausage though on the ‘Full English’? Our waitress was lovely.

When we came to pay the £70 for the double room I raised the points about the room cleanliness and suggested that it maybe an idea to warn guests in future when they had events booked. I was met with indifference. I was told that the room had been cleaned on the morning of our arrival and therefore made to feel it couldn’t have got that dirty in the few hours before our check in. I was also told with some indignation that they had patrolled the corridor on the 2nd floor and that there was no noise from the events in the hotel. No hint of any apology.

Good luck to the new owners but maybe they should review their customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als je ooit in alford bent in engeland kan je beter na de The Half Moon hotel toe gaan beter eten goede douchen
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews