We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night while viewing properties in the area. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed, bathroom was a good size and modern. Staff in the hotel were friendly and very helpful, we ate in the bar in the evening and had haddock and chips, and steak and kidney pudding, which was excellent. Breakfast was fabulous, freshly cooked, hot and locally sourced. No complaints and we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petenpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    32
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Smashing grub and very friendly - very rainy outside but sunny inside!
Came in for something to eat with 4 adults and 5 under 5's and made a right mess but loved food and service. Decor is exactly how an old pub should be!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennylongroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The whole place needs a complete make-over. Both the bedroom and shower room were very tired. The same goes for the restaurant. Food and service are both adequate at best. Sorry, but not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alford hotels

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

hotel located in a market town that has seen better days, lots of properties to rent and this hotel was also for sale which may have explained the slightly tired decor, limited menu options available and not many staff around. Room was large and clean so no complaints there, also as requested we were moved to the rear of the hotel to a quiet room. The issue was with the breakfast! We were asked what time we waned to eat and were told that 9am was the latest due to the need to clear tables in time for the lunch-time crowd, but worse than that we were told that the cook stopped cooking at 9am so we needed to be down ready to order at 8.45! This did not stop two sets of diners arriving at 9.15 and 9.20 who were serevd breaksfats with no complaints-perhaps they were known to the hotel or perhaps they weren't given the same message that we were-not funny when hoping for a lie-in. The other issue was with the menu whcih described prunes, garpefruit, continental breakfast plus full english etc. One of out friends asked for the continental breakfaat and was told "tell us what you want and we will tell you if we have it". The item offered was croissants and luckily this was acceptable but i dread to think what would have happend if she had pressed for other items promised on the menu! The toast reference is made becasue we weren't offered it and when we asked we didn't get it until we had fnished our breakfast and those that asked for white were given brown and vice versa! Customer service was brusque perhaps because there were only two staff members in the kitchen-one cooking (most things in a deep fat frier) and the other was running around trying to serve diners.

All in all not the best value for money andt I'm sorry that this review isn't giving the praise that others have so perhaps the fact that they are selling means that they have lost interest and customer focus in which case they need to be more realistic with the price.

As for the town it isnt quaint and there is one thatched cottage and a windmill so lets not raise future visitor expectations too highly!

Room Tip: sleep at the back-only 4 rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julieplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Alford is a delightful little town with thatched cottages (and the largest thatched house in England), a working windmill open to the public, some very good little shops and pubs selling Bateman's Ales from nearby Wainfleet. It's a bit off the beaten track and ideal for exploring the coat around Mablethorpe and Skeggie and some very pleasant inland villages. Third or fourth time I've stayed here: good sized, spotlessly clean room and huge bathroom; excellent breakfast; enterprising menu (enjoyed some venison steaks); reasonable wine and superb pint or two of Bateman's. Car park is off the main road, there's a nice garden and staff are pleasant and helpful. Good to see such an enterprising, independent hotel - looking forward to my next stay when back in rural LIncolnshsire.

Room Tip: Worth checking whether or not your room is over that part of the Half Moon used for music etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OXENHO0PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

me and my partner had a long weekend in this hotel and what a experience ..it is a small hotel and family run .Nothing is too much trouble .for the staff who are all pleasant./The breakfast offers aexcellent choice and presented well ,
The restaurant is top class ,and the menu is appealing to every taste cooked to perfection....The room and beds very comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the ensuite.we cant wait to return we know we wont be dissapointed.!

Room Tip: room over looking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppapig1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Visited the Half Moon on a couple of occasions for an evening meal, must say that even though they are not busy (due to the time of year), the kitchen was happy to receive late orders and the food produced was good value for money and extremely appetising. Would definitely visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
50 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
362 reviews
12.0 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
63 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
233 reviews
10.1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 25-28 West Street, Alford LN13 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel And Restaurant Alford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing